Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dr. Pepsi Marriage Consultant

by ThingoStudios - Jam Entry

In Dr. Pepsi, Marriage Consultant, you help the Dwarders family sort out the issues in their marriage by navigating their collective mindspace and rooting out the source of their dysfunction.

It's one of those games.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#77Humor(Jam)3.57
#395Innovation(Jam)2.96
#487Mood(Jam)2.86
#524Theme(Jam)2.83
#551Audio(Jam)2.52
#649Fun(Jam)2.34
#651Overall(Jam)2.65
#675Graphics(Jam)2.44

Comments

ThingoStudios says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:32am

Uploaded the wrong file by accident, embarrassingly enough. Fixed.

Keehan12 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:00am

Art was very poor, but the game had a concept!

TomBoogaart says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:27pm

i think the drawings were flippin dope, and reading the dialogue in a txt file is actually pretty hip haha

Joseph Miller says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Dr. Pepsi's fourth line in the good ending dialogue made me laugh out loud, as did the game over screen.

I enjoyed this game quite a bit. I liked the retro feel of going back and forth between the text documents and the game and the graphics and gameplay felt pieced together in a good way.

I was hoping for some visual feedback for the word I needed to type during the boss fight, and then realized the boss was fading as I did so, so good job on that.

ActionRemix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Open GOOD%20END.txt

Story was incomprehensible, but I have never seen anything like that before. You get a 5/5 for innovation. Hideo Kojima, is that you?

ashdnazg says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:18pm

You're basically bonkers!
It's cool that you haven't let anything stop you from making a game about what you want. No intro? I'll put a text file. No art? I'll draw on paper! That's a good state of mind for anything.

Basically everything except the wackiness could use improvement :P I'm eager to see what you do next LD!

burgerdare says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Very much a "so bad it's good" kind of game. Fun times to be had here, man. Fun times.

Chaoseed says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:26pm

Wait, if it's a "Web" game, why am I downloading it?

VictoryGarden says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:32pm

This is hilarious.

Unfortunately, I can't offer any critique that you don't know about already, but I enjoyed it a lot and appreciate how much you went with your theme and subject.

Chronoberry says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:39pm

You've got heart. Keep doing what your doing

ThingoStudios says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:08am

A good point, Chaoseed. I didn't realize you could edit the description fields. Fixed now.

Gazok says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:14am

"Web" isn't "Download", and .exe means I can't play it.

ThingoStudios says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:34am

That better?

ReactorScram says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:46am

Amazing. The graphics are kind of weak and the boss could use some feedback. It took me a few tries before I realized the boss sprite was slowly changing. I thought I had to stand right next to the boss.

Funny as hell, though.

May 1, 2014 @ 12:48am

The dialog made me laugh my ass off! "Oh Harold, stop licking my armpit." lol

jtpup0 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:55am

The txt document kind of added to the immersion in some way, I like the game very cool nice story

Neonlare says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:56am

Dadaism as a game. Well, this certainly was a thing.

Jezzamon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:03am

This game was pretty fun! I liked having to open text files myself :)

I feel like this game would do well with being a little longer though.

I'll be interested in seeing how this game rates.

Secret_Tunnel says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:53am

Bahaha, oh Pepsi Consultant. Very funny game. Cool idea with the text document.

fueelin says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:30am

I enjoyed that thoroughly. Loved the music loops.

lyla says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:56am

Hah. I feel like this is exactly the kind of thing I would make on very little sleep and after drinking a lot of Pepsi. It's pretty bootleg, but in a charming way. With a little more polish (some sort of physics hit detection for enemies, the word intimacy appearing on the screen, the dialogue in scenes instead of text files) it'd be a funny/insane little story game.

kirbytails7 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:03am

Heh, I like the kind of pieced-together feel. Nice job getting it together.

Ragzouken says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:40pm

beautiful graphics!! enjoyed the prompts to open files, strangely

XenosNS says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Wow, that was weird, but I love weird :-) Enjoyed that

dalbinblue says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Wha... what did I just play? I give you props for taking the joke theme a-b-s-o-l-u-t-e-l-y s-e-r-i-o-u-s. The artwork is funny, and very much disturbing. I'm just happy i can type really fast.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:09am

lol, txt files. yay.

Acuity says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:59am

Bahahahah.

minibutmany says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:01pm

This is the work of a master.

ccglp says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Really cool idea, appreciate the job!

robodylan says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:00pm

I don't see why this would need any knowledge of anything other then English and how to work a mouse. But, this competition is open to any language and way of making a game so I will rate accordingly.

cardboard says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Very unique. The music reminds me of something I might hear from a Gameboy game, which is awesome. The graphics during the gameplay weren't good, but the hand-drawn graphics were ace.

NightShadow0 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Took me longer than i care to admit to realize you can multi-jump. Better boss damage feedback would've been useful, too.
The game is pretty funny though, i rather enjoyed it. You'd think the external text files would be annoying but i didn't mind them much, clever solution to save time.

cheesepencil says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:53pm

hehehe i couldn't beat it but it did make me chuckle. good stuff

Benjamin says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:55pm

Well that was weird but totally playable. I finished it ( I mean without cheating :D ). I think I would not have succeeded if I didnt read the comment about multi jump.

Waterman7 says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:47pm

ok.

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Very strange, but it definitely interpreted the theme in a novel and innovative way.

May 10, 2014 @ 6:05pm

you really got something going on there, thumbs up!!!

Moosefly says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Looks like I'm not the only one who didn't realize you could multi-jump at first. I guess it was my preconception that surely a can of Pepsi wouldn't be able to multijump.

Loved the graphics and the text files. Ludum Dare games always manage to amaze me with their clever trickery :P.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

shadow64 says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Suuuper abstract, but I thought a lot of it worked. I don't know if it was out of necessity or artistic intent that you put the game in text files, but it made the game feel really disjointed and out of sync. I think I liked that. I'm curious about what else you'd come up with after this. :)

Nicely done. Thanks for sharing and thank you again for rating/playing my entry!

May 11, 2014 @ 12:16pm

I wish the words were in the game, and the game explained what to do, but the story is pretty funny! I included it in part 22 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series! :) http://youtu.be/7oB_8pUypJo

May 11, 2014 @ 3:45pm

It took me a while to figure out Dr. Pepsi can fly. But once I did, I was doing the dew all over their faces.

RobotParking says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 8:11pm

ART LIKE WHOA

PaperBlurt says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 9:07am

This reminds me of 12 oz mouse!
Which is awesome, just like this!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]