Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

I'm not who I am

by Tik - 48 Hour Compo Entry

(Comment added 04/05/14) *IF YOU CANNOT RUN THE GAME FROM THE WINDOW LINK USE THE SOURCE LINK, IF THAT DOESN'T WORK SAY SO IN THE COMMENTS*

"My memory fades as do the last embers of my life, but will I learn if I am who people say I am?"

Make the choices that define a character as you explore a bedroom interacting with various objects to decide: Are you what people saw the character as or are you something else? They see you as one thing but are you something else Beneath the surface?

This was created for Ludum Dare 29 under the theme "Beneath the surface" I decided to make it in a personality/mental sense as opposed to just "Under the ground/Sea" Though due to timezones and my inability to withstand all nighters the game lacks a few things I wanted, This was made in around 15 hours. because of this the game is incredibly short, completable in around 3 minuets.

There are 5 endings in the game, depending on your choices depends on the answer, but if you don't pick enough in one category you'll get the "bad ending" 'I am unsure' which from what people have told me is very common, so getting the other "true" endings is a fitting reward

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#523Humor2.47
#534Audio2.81
#707Mood2.83
#835Theme2.92
#862Innovation2.65
#932Graphics2.58
#1036Overall2.67
#1181Fun2.09
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Missing some RPG thingy?

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:18pm

RTV=RPGVXAce that is...

Too bad as I like your idea and really wan't to play the game.

TheGreenTie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Couldn't load it, sorry :/

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:31pm

RPG Maker games in general require a runtime package (RTP) to run properly. It can be found here:
http://www.rpgmakerweb.com/download/additional/run-time-packages

A fairly simple (and depressing) game. Audiovisuals do their job nicely, and the writing is good. Good work!

Marcellus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Game is quite hard to install, as lemming said you need the RTP. This aside, I can see there is some work on the text part, which got you a good rating for the mood part.
The lack of music is disturbing and would increase the ambient quite a lot.
This is a nice use of the theme, at least it doesn't include submarines or moles, which is good.

Also the end is quite brutal.

Cirrial says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:04pm

Game errored out on startup, you're probably missing some external resources or something in your download link.

VictoryGarden says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:22am

"Do I contradict myself? Very well, then I contradict myself, I am large, I contain multitudes." - Walt Whitman

The surface being different from the interior doesn't make the surface somehow false.

Tik says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:58am

If you game isn't loading or is missing try using the Source, it SHOULD contain the RTP

May 4, 2014 @ 11:27pm

I donwload the no rtp version, and when the character are going to reveal who he is beneath the surface, the game went all black. Is this normal?

BoneDaddy says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:29pm

I played through it twice, got ending 1 and 5. Was a nice idea, done fairly well. A lot of spelling mistakes though.

Tik says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:50am

To Blazingfanfish, no that's not normal it should of taken you to a choice

Boodog says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:19am

Nice job.

Ragzouken says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:34am

love seeing rpgmaker games with home made sprites! this was a really interesting game, a nice kind of introspective experience :) i didn't really know a lot of the books/songs so my choices were quite inconsistent

abayb says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Wow, that was intense! I got ending 5.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:07pm

Nice!

Zed says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Thank you for making a game where your decisions actually matter, for once. Refreshing and well-executed.

Idkfawin32 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:41pm

I love this type of game

dook says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:13pm

I really like what you tried to do here. It didn't really draw me in like I hoped something like it would. But really good effort :)

rvmook says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:39pm

I like what you were going for, but I would've liked some more visual feedback on the choices I made. Maybe change the rooms, furniture or clothing a bit based on what you're becoming. After trying 3 times I ended up with the unsure ending every time.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]