Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mole escape

by davidc. - Jam Entry

A simple little game, where worms come from behind you and beneath the surface, to eat a poor little mole, can you help keep the mole alive

game created by

Coders:
Liam Charlwood
Ducan Tyer
David Cowley
and others

Artist:
Philipe bintner
Fabio goncalves
Jon child

Sound engineer:
Tom Daly

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2054Coolness17%

Comments

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Couldn't get beyond the first jump, kept getting stuck on the pipe!

tschery says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Either this game is really hard or I dont quite get it how to play, so I couldnt get past the first obstacle. The graphics are really nice though =)

darkflamejam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:14am

This is the dark souls of mole games! :P

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:26pm

This is a hard game, the first jump is impossible. That is a shame for a game with so many people working on it. Love to see more of the game.

MrShoestore says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:18am

Getting stuck on the pipe too and the controls were a bit confusing. Cute idea.

torcado194 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:23am

wow that was pretty bad. kinda surprising so many people worked on it. the instructions never say to double jump, running is awkward, there's lack of feedback, and there's only 2 'levels' if you'd call them that. 1 obstacle each. nice try though.

ZYXer says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:06am

This game is really hard. I only rarely made it past the first jump and never made it over the second. It would be nice to have some kind of indication where the worms are going come out of the ground.

I like the double jump ability, which needs the right amount of practice to get a hang of.

The collision detection is a bit glitchy, I was able to get past the first jump several times without actually jumping.

The 3D models and especially the music are really good.

osthekake says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:01pm

I pressed shift so much, I triggered sticky keys. :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]