Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Buy your own Freedom

by psychonull - Jam Entry

up/down or W/S for movement
spacebar (or click on gold) to collect your gold

Tools used:
Framework: Phaser
Art: Photoshop
Text Editor: Sublime Text 2
Sounds: bfxr.
Music: synth music by the big Diego Belay (korg ms-20 + Cubase)

Known bugs:
When returning with the gold, some tiles could not render properly.
It might slow down as game progresses

We only tested in chrome.

Post-jam version [workers' day edition]:
(fixes the problem with tiles not rendering correctly; better performance).

Downloads and Links




pancakecity says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:54am

It takes a while to buy freedom! This is a neat game, I like the varied style of play!

diego_belay says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:53am

I love it!

davidc02 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Nice game.

eerongal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:51pm

Neat game! However, i noticed a couple of times it set up spots on the track where it was literally impossible to dodge successfully, and I just had to take the hit.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:51pm

Really good pixel art, and awesome 8-bit music. Its a lot of fun going back and forth to collect gold, but very hard to get it all back to the mine. Nice job though!

wicht says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Nice one. I had fun :)

littleball says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:53pm


Nkracer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Pretty fun, yet very hard!

mihaivdev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Nice one. Innovative and fun. And I can't complain that freedom is so hard to buy, that's how real life is too :)
But honestly, you should make it somewhat easier.
Keep it up!

Vytheros says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Takes a while for freedom, but the concept is fun and very enjoyable. the hit detection is slight off your some objects like the rocks and the broken track as I get past by quite a bit but still lose money.

elefantopia says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:34am

This game was a lot of fun! Fast-paced and energetic (especially clicking for gold). Great work!

Xeke_Death says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:47am

The tile rendering bug is a game killer, I just gave up and let the cart run as I didn't know what was safe and what wasn't...

Without that, though, it was pretty fun...

ThingoStudios says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:02am

This is the "12 Years a Slave" of video games.

God bless you.

Rabbits... says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:07am

There were some missing tiles that made things confusing, but the graphics were wonderful

kasarun says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:49am

Nice game, loved the old retro synthe audio :)

DanEEStar says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:02pm

Great graphics! I like the game.
There were some strange graphic errors when I was going back the longer the game run.

end3r says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:44pm

Really enjoyed playing it, cool gfx and overall feeling.

Cash says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Cool game but the perfomance on my PC(always around 15 fps) made it a little worse for me

May 3, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Gameplay a bit repetitive, but I liked the message. Grats on the game!

Rikkter Games says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Pretty fun for what it is! Though the generation of the levels need some tweaking considering there are points where I would have to hit something because all four tracks are blocked by something on the same spot.

Gap says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Sweet <3

Nezzhil says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Nice and fun game, with good music, maybe too much money to end it, may become repetitive.

copain says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:07am

nice nervous game.
but so hard! Is it a verification that make there is always a way possible?

lowcade says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:13am

Simple and nice.
Easy to play and really fun.
Maybe some upgrades made this game better.

psychonull says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:29am

@copain there is no validation on the level generation to make always a perfect path. We finally decided to not include that feature since we were running out of time.
However I ended finding somewhat nice to have no alternatives to taking the hit / trying to collide as little as possible.

Thanks everybody for the feedback, for now the post-compo version only includes performance fixes, but we're hoping to include gameplay fixes soon.

jujule says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Good concept. I really liked it. I felt that the difficulty mostly comes from the obstacles hitbox being to big. I'd like to see that corrected in a post-compo version.

matt_j says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 9:18pm

I was having trouble dodging, haha, so it was pretty difficult.

jacklehamster says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Nice fast paced game with simple controls. It'd be interesting as a multiplayer game.

gwa says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:39am

Nice Hard Game I would have needet houers to get our :)

alwaysinbeta says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Really good game. I thought the gfx and audio were very nice. Couldn't beat it on the first attempt but I'll be back :)

local minimum says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 8:34am

Quite fun and challenging little game. The pace started out quite high and difficult and I was no where near escaping into freedom. So maybe have difficulty scale a little more forgivingly in the beginning?

I quite often had black tile glitches going back leaving me to just guessing. I don't know if that was a FF-thing.

As other pointed out, it sometimes got very hard / impossible to pass by some parts. One way to help with that and make the game more capturing could be to have obstacles fit the music. Like Bit Trip Runner or an inverted Guitar Hero. I'm not sure if that's possible with Phaser though.

Alucard J says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:38am

Fun game, intense and exciting, nice retro graphics and sound, good job.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]