Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Aviation Disaster Recovery Simulator

by Flux - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Click - Select ship and move them
SPACE - Pause
ENTER - Perform SEARCH with selected ship

Find the black box
Search takes money
DON'T RUN OUT OF PUBLIC SUPPORT!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#68Innovation4.00
#154Theme3.76
#354Graphics3.47
#564Overall3.18
#611Mood2.93
#960Fun2.53
#1959Coolness24%

Comments

Spierek says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:47am

First playthrough was kinda frustrating, but after losing (and seeing the trajectory of the plane), I could easily finish the second game. Because clicking-holding pans the camera, very often choosing the ship you want is hard (and sometimes the colliders are completely off).

The concept is interesting, but IMO it's a bit undermined by the controls.

Yaru says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:08am

While the idea is good, the controls are sort of confusing and (at least in my case) laggy.

DMinsky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:08am

Good idea! But I'm also have trouble with ships selection.

jomacel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:09am

Moving the ships was hard but overall I think its a good idea and I liked the interface and how the map was presented. gj!

devince says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:13am

It's really hard to select boats

BarkingCat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:16am

I really like this. Controls are clunky at the times, but the concept is really interesting. It would make for a really interesting complete game in my opinion.

aisenhein says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:20pm

A little bit confusion.

Zerkruemler says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Good idea, but it seems to be quite random if you find something useful. I happily found the blackbox in the second attempt, but I don't know if by skill or by luck...

mrexcessive says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:57am

Hi. Interesting concept. More f/b from ship searches would have been good, it felt a bit like looking for last sub in a giant game of battleships. Sound would have added also.

Danvil says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Good idea! Could use a bit more polish and better controls.

Jeff0029 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 12:01am

I enjoyed the use of the random island generator to give it variation.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]