Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Daisy's dog is dead

by alvarop - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Enter Daisy's world as she faces the death of her beloved dog. Guide her through her imagination and make sure she doesn't have to face this tragic event. She's just a little girl, you know?

Reveal what is beneath the post-it's surface to help her... stay on the surface of things.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness98%
#87Mood3.80
#139Graphics3.91
#151Innovation3.71
#157Overall3.67
#176Fun3.54
#199Humor3.12
#342Audio3.10
#921Theme2.77

Comments

Taugeshtu says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:19am

This is great :) I'd suggest that you show what post-its actually do before level is started.

BruceDoh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:21am

Great art style. Puzzle mechanics are simple, yet fun and effective. Good take on the theme, but would have liked to see the theme a bit more fleshed out in the mechanics.

evilseanbot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:40am

I really love the tone, and the mechanics are neat. Lemmings like makers unnnnittttteeeee

I thought that stopping the first tack in the second level is rather difficult in a twitchy way which doesn't fit the curve of the rest of the game.

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:44am

made me giggle. HA, very fun

hanoth says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:51am

Fun game with a neat look. I agree with Taugeshtu about the post-its, though.

superzac says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:56am

Art style is super solid and polished for what it's supposed to be. Overall the puzzle mechanics are great, a bit sketchy (pun not intended but not bad anyway) in a few places but they work well regardless.

Khopa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:35am

Really nice game !
Graphics and transitions effects are really cool !

I don't think post-its needs introduction or text to explain what they do. The level design is enough to understand.
And it's very clever to make the user drag a post-it before the beginning of the game too.

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:55am

Lol, nice graphics and music!

ky533541 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:58am

This is a fantastic game, the art style is great, the gameplay is unique and fun, I honestly am having a hard time finding any criticism of this game. Really cute, great work!

furriKira says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:01am

I'm not sure if it works for me... Do I really have to scrub on those tacks? I find that more irritating if you ask me.

alvarop says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:04am

@furriKira, you have to drag and drop the post-its to get the character to the goal.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:25am

Ok this game is nicely put together.
Graphics and a bit like those DS games I can't remember what they're called now.

But it's way too hard, the timing must be perfect.

Best yet!

Nanolotl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:25am

Cool. well executed concept.
I think the level design could have been a little more varied, but it was still good overall.

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:27am

Some good Lemmings-esque careful guidance. Woe betide those who let Daisy learn the truth. (cue A Few Good Men)

Kyatric says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:48am

Good job, interesting concept.
It's a bit frustrating to have to rush at the start of levels to see what the post-it are.
It's also frustrating at times how the drag/drop operates (you need to drop a post-it for it to really "take effect" in the world.

Otherwise, great work on the graphics and general mood.

And congrats on making a LD game.

Alucard J says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:10am

Fantastic idea and art style. I agree the post-its should show their abilities at the start, but having them blank does add memory and reflex functionality. Would like to see this developed further. Well done =]

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:36am

The style and gameplay works very well. Perfect game to relax with after 48 hour coding binge :D

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:13am

I liked the graphics and sound. The mechanics are clever love the postits, but couldn't work out how to get past 3rd screen. Not sure whether timing/detailed-placement issue on my part or misunderstanding the drawings.

lekochen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:12am

I like everything specially the sketch animation, well done.

xgeovanni says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Sometimes you can fall through the floor post-it. Otherwise, great game, new mechanics were introduced at a good pace which kept it fresh and fun.

(Also, try my game again. It's fixed now).

anvoz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Nice game. I played it to the end. The art is amazing combined with cute sound that made it such a pleasure game to play. Interesting idea for the theme too.

I don't think you should hide item under the yellow page so player has to click on it to reveal.

Tifu says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Oh good, I thought with the theme and all this was going to be about burying the dog :S this is much better!
Nice gameplay, like others have said, would be nice to see what the notes are before clicking, as it is, you are pretty much guaranteed to die once in every level as you figure out what is what, which doesn't really seem necessary. Love the graphical style and fitting music :)

CharlieLove says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:42pm

First of all, the art was fantastic.

Use of sticky notes for items is nice, although leads to more trial and error due to the fact that they are blank before you grabbed them.

Nice little game!

mutuware says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Clever game, nice art style.

SenorDiablo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Awesome Game! Great fun! Also you were totally right our animation styles were very simular! loved the game keep up the good work

VDZ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:45pm

The art is great. I'm a bit on the fence regarding the gameplay. As others have said, having to click a post-it to find out what it does doesn't really add anything to the game, and in fact only frustrates you when you want the arrow but instead accidentally grab the wall post-it because you can't see what they are. It's also trying to combine puzzling with quick placement, but I feel the latter drags the former down. If you'd given the player a pause button, you could create much more interesting puzzles without them feeling unfair. The fact that the physics were a bit wonky didn't really help with this - frequently Daisy gets stuck because she's unable to climb one pixel up onto the floor beyond the gap, stuff like that. (Not that I have any right to complain about wonky physics, as my game also clearly sucks in this aspect.)

Also, the music got rather repetitive, and the game is a bit on the short side. I was ready for more complicated puzzles, but then it ended already.

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Really nice, a little frustrating but I got over that pretty fast. Really nice puzzle game, I like the art looks very childy since you were going for that. Nice job

snoozbuster says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:33am

The art is great! And the puzzle mechanics are really cool. I would have liked to see a little more interesting ending but it was a cool take on the theme and a solid game!

matt_j says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:39am

Good idea, instant impact!

Managore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:54am

Great graphics, story and gameplay. A really nice experience!

edibletoaster says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:37am

Really love the art. Really cool game mechanics. Little buggy but what game isn't that was made in 24 hours eh?

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:41am

I love the mood of the game. The mix of the graphics, the music, and the gameplay works really well together. I wish I knew what were on the post its before I used them so that I'm not wasting time trying to quickly drag-drop the post its to see what was in them. The music got a little repetitive too. But the rest of it was so well developed, and the story was really neat!

Boodog says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Awesome game! I like it!

pancakecity says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Incredible, I love your take on the theme. The ending is hilarious.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Great job! Kept me entertained all the way through :D

TheLastBanana says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:07am

Cute graphics and interesting mechanics.

I found the post-it notes a little awkward -- they would always move slightly after being placed, and their collision boxes seemed unclear to me. I also wish I could have seen what they were before clicking on them.

fluidvolt says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:35am

Loved it :). Cute, funny, a little dark. The art is charming as hell. I loved the gameplay itself. And I liked the ambiguous ending.

P.S. I took your suggestion and put a link to my game soundtrack on my entry page. Thanks for stopping by.

BenW says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:46am

Daisy's father is a horrible person. His daughter can't cope with reality because he ran over her dog.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:43pm

Just completed this and enjoyed it, the basic gameplay idea is very good, and the presentation of it all fits together nicely. I definitely wanted to see what was on the post-its first, maybe Daisy starts walking when you move the first one? Otherwise the first turn on every level you just have to accept you'll fail while you figure out what tools you have to work with. Overall great job though

Impmaster says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:18am

Thought the atmosphere worked really well. However, the controls were really annoying, because it took forever to drag the post-its.

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Nice idea and style. I like the music too.

SoupWithBits says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Lemmings with a twist,
I enjoyed it! Wanted more levels!

BuKaneerz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Good game !
Nice your on level design !
keep it up (:

gigitrix says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Cool concept, I love indirect control games!

Thorig says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Great game, I really liked this. BruceDoh already said what I want to say about it. Thank you for stream our game.

JavadocMD says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:17am

This is an excellent game. Dark, but in a real and caring way. Every element of presentation is spot-on and thought-out, from the squiggly graphics to the simple music to lined paper background. Bravo.

Catman says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:38pm

Very nice! The graphics give a good idea of a children's drawing (nice how the level gets cancelled at the end!), and the story really fits with the theme in an original way. Good job!

voxel says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:34pm

I'll be honest: my first impressions were pretty negative, but about 30 seconds later I was laughing out loud. I appreciate that it's a sad topic but the story telling is so well done I could almost believe Daisy had written it herself. Nice work

miwuc says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Great game! Fun to play, and the number of levels and different mechanics is impressive. Great atmosphere too. The only thing I don't like is that the premise makes me depressed :(

Crefossus says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:22am

Great audio and there is a lot of feedback for the different actions. The collision was a little sketchy and frustrating at times but for 48h it's fine. Also the design reminds me of snail bob.

mrjohnson22 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:22pm

I love these kinds of games. My only complaint (as others have mentioned) is towards having to click on a sticky note to reveal what item it is; since they can just be memorized after a few botched attempts (and how their positions aren't randomized), keeping the items hidden doesn't really add anything to the game.

Other than that, the levels were well-designed, the items were fun, and even if collision was a bit wonky at times, everything worked the way I expected it to for the most part. Nice job!

mrhill says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 12:34pm

I won? Who knows, so deep

Erkberg says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Great idea and really interesting gameplay. I like it!

TobiasW says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 10:31pm

I... won, I guess? :D

Sweet game, although *coping* might've been a less dubious goal, haha. I love the hand-drawn minimal animations. My favourite part are the restart/level won transitions though - they fit so well and are a really nice touch of polish!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]