Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Danger Beneath Us

by seantheartist - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In this game toxic landfills from the age of yore have released pollution monsters. Kill them and their bubbly source to save the cave folk!

I will be compiling for MAC soon!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#530Mood3.00
#536Graphics3.19
#659Theme3.15
#659Humor2.29
#850Overall2.88
#873Fun2.65
#1015Innovation2.42
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:06pm

The style is reminiscent of something I played a looooooong time ago but i'm not quite sure what. Like it though!

Probably want to rename your 'Web' link to 'Windows' to get people to review this.

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:09pm

I enjoyed this game however those gas creatures seemed to
damage me when i was close enough to hit them. But all in all
Really good game =D

gmaker says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:27pm

great job! interesting concept.

Jason Lay says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Was this Game Maker? It was fun to play, controls were nice. I wish the difficulty would gradually increase, to get the player into the game more.

adcrusher says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Dang it I was so close to beating it!I can't seem to finish off the red monsters! This game is challenging and really addicting. Good work!

seantheartist says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:03pm

@Jason Lay, Yes this was game maker (source coming soon). If I work on it in the future I'll definitely add more levels and variation. Good idea!

ren says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:27am

Solid platforming mechanics. You may want to throttle the attack, once I found that I could mash space on the bubbles it was over.

I loved the graphical style and the presentation. Great job!

Huder says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:34pm

You have a bug in platforming movement, you can stuck in floor using attack while moving left here: http://i.imgur.com/QtjGJKg.png

seantheartist says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:45pm

@Huder, thanks for sharing this!

lajos says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Great job!

Cirrial says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Really difficult. I like the animation. Not sure what the hitbox on my attack is.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]