Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Drillship

by Algerus - Jam Entry

Drill through the earth and avoid rocks at high speeds to set a high score in Drillship!

Controls:
Move up: w
Move down: s
Drill: space (hold)
Hyper: e

There are three basic block types to drill through
Dirt: 10 points, Gold: 50 points, Diamond = 100 points

as well as a variety of powerup blocks such as one that increases how long you can drill, and one that slows the stage down. In addition you can find extra lives, and extra uses of the Hyper drill.

The level is randomly generated, so every run is different! I hope you enjoy it!

Programs used
Unity 4.3
Paint.net
FL Studio 11

Special thanks to Kale, Wavelength, and Blade for testing it out!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2134Coolness10%

Comments

dwfries says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:21pm

This game is pretty fun. Fairly simple, but it feels complete and enjoyable. Visually, I love the way the rocket smooths into going straight again after moving upwards or downwards.

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:02am

I like it! The ship should maybe move a little quicker a little faster, but otherwise great! :D

Mr. Jif says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:27am

That was pretty fun! The music was great also. The ship definitely need to speed up sooner though.

eriksundqvist says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:54pm

A bit awkward controls. Nice background music and a nice concept.

May 3, 2014 @ 7:12pm

Very fun game and nice music.

Benjamin says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:36pm

- If you have no interest in drilling emptyness or not drilling while you go in blocks, why adding a control on it... I think the game would be more fun in auto-drill mode. The basic action would be hyper ( with maybe more of them but less poser )
- The turning animation of the ship is a bit clunky when you go up and down. Maybe you should mix your actual angle and your target angle to get a smoother move.
- The hyper speed up animation is super cool. I like the slow before and the red drill which continue alone in the end.

I had a lot of fun playing this. My best is 5483. I which I had some hints for powerup effects.

Benjamin says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:43pm

- If you have no interest in drilling emptyness or not drilling while you go in blocks, why adding a control on it... I think the game would be more fun in auto-drill mode. The basic action would be hyper ( with maybe more of them but less poser )
- The turning animation of the ship is a bit clunky when you go up and down. Maybe you should mix your actual angle and your target angle to get a smoother move.
- The most contrasted blocks are diamonds one. It makes me want to avoid them, the deadly rocks should be the one with the more contrast. The fact that gold is like dirt ( with gold inside ) is a better way to analyze them as "diggable" maybe yo should do the same for diamonds.
- a Power bar instead of numbers would make you power management more visible.
- The music is good but the game need more sfx. drilling and diging sfx are ok, but I really wish I could hear those block explode/pop when I destroy them. I would bet perfect if those explosion sfx fit to the background music bpm.

The hyper animation is super cool. I like the slow before and the red drill which continue alone in the end.

I had a lot of fun playing this. My best is 5483. I whish I had some hints for powerup effects.

kunzbe says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Solid job, fun to play

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]