Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mr. Fisk

by carlmartus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Can you navigate your way below the surface and fish your way through the 6 challenges?

Let's find out if you have what it takes to finish the game :)

The game requires a new browser with support for asm.js and WebGL. Tested on Firefox and Chrome.

Keys:
UP/DOWN/LEFT/DOWN

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#332Theme3.52
#523Humor2.47
#773Innovation2.76
#941Graphics2.56
#953Overall2.76
#968Fun2.52
#1073Mood2.33
#1651Coolness42%

Comments

trueyomic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:03am

The gameplay was slow, but well done.

sstrandberg says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Ended up being a bit tedious after a while, but overall solid and functional.

capnramses says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:05pm

i really liked it - `fina fiskar'! definitely it has the cute factor going. i just realised i stopped right before finishing the last challenge - d'oh! anyway i think it would be improved by extremely silly hook-lowering sounds and some funny music - not sure how emscripten copes with audio though

jhrrsn says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:21am

It was a little slow but you managed to achieve a fair amount in the timeframe. Well done!

01F0 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:40am

Fun. It feels like a complete game due to the fact that you have put in multiple missions. I think some audio would have been nice though. I like the challenge that the waves provides when trying to get fish on the hook.

GamerTaters says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:46am

Simple idea. Well executed. Good work.

edibletoaster says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:50am

Good work. I'll agree it's a bit slow but got through it all. Audio would've been wonderful in this.

pkenney says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:22pm

I finished the whole game. Nice work, especially for what looks like your first Ludum Dare game.

What I liked: My favorite thing was that you made the surface of the sea active, that you made it get rougher through the game, and that you made it impact my movement. I also liked that you had a complete package that had progressive missions that ran to completion, I stuck around and finished the whole game because you told me there were six challenges and I knew I could complete them. The "big thing" at the end was a nice humorous mystery.

What I personally would have changed: The pace - I would have made everything a bit faster, including the boat, the rope, and the impact of waves on the boat. BUT that is personal preference! I like more arcade-type games, but it's totally fine if the slower pace was a deliberate taste, after all it's a fishing game.

I struggled badly to move on the final mission. There was a flying fish just left of me when I started, but I could not get there. I held down the left button but the ship was stuck in the waves. I'm afraid I never QUITE understood how the waves affected my ship. The final mission for me, I had to find a flying fish to finish, and I spent like 7-10 minutes just holding down the right button, inching along extreeeeeemely slowly.

Still, it was worth it to have the sea get rough, cuz that was my favorite part!

Lastly, a technical note. I ran it in firefox and it kinda worked, but the surface of the sea was not rendered. I wouldn't have known this if I didn't see your screenshot, but I did so I switched over to chrome and it worked fine.

Anyway, a lot of rambling there, but good job making a complete game with some nice touches!

carlmartus says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 8:35am

Thank you pkenney I will take this in account for the next Ludum dare :)

The general reflection seams to be the speed of the game being a bit slow and adding some audio. Thank you everyone for your comments they are all very constructive and I will think of this for the next ludum dare!

JoshOS says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 11:27am

Nice and relaxing game. It would have been nice to add music and sound effects. I liked the way waves move the ship, good job.

Btw, I didn't expect to fish a submarine.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]