Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bitmite Blitz

by Coin Flip Games - Jam Entry

You are a termite! Chomp the wood, avoid the sap, spiders, and birds. Climb to the top of this hollow tree for glory. Yeah, right, glory.

Use the mouse to move around. Esc/p to pause.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#74Fun(Jam)3.62
#117Humor(Jam)3.35
#237Overall(Jam)3.41
#253Theme(Jam)3.40
#264Mood(Jam)3.29
#304Audio(Jam)3.20
#393Graphics(Jam)3.34
#494Innovation(Jam)2.72

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:02am

Very fun! I went for 2 round ( I'm Mallot1 on the achievements ) I also like the different things keeping the game fun and enjoyable. Great! :D GameGrape Corporation: www.codingrevolution.blogspot.com

Cosrnos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:07am

Pretty fun! Definitely a unique idea for the theme!!

tehryanx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:18am

Super fun game. I have highscore! for now :P

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:20am

This is a lot of fun! The best part is your termite dancing to the music. (I assume it is dancing to the music.)

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:25am

Haha, I love the concept of being inside the tree with other bugs and birds trying to peck their way in. Very fun!

My only critique would be that the tutorial messages got really annoying after a while and interrupted my gameplay experience. I can guess that birds will be evil and I could have easily learned to not step in the sticky goo by stepping in it while no enemies were around.

At the very least an option to disable to disable the messages or "[ ] check this box to disable future messages".

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:36am

I got this error on Ubuntu 12.04:

Set current directory to /home/eric/dl
Found path: /home/eric/dl/BitmiteBlitz.x86
There is no data folder

greysphere says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:58am

I love games that put me in a perspective I never would have thought to explore. Great game!

tehryanx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:49pm

I keep coming back to this game to try to beat my score. I don't think I'll be able to :P

Hempuli says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:53pm

A very solid and fun game! The menus are rather confusing but the game itself is well done.

mat1er says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Really cool, great!

hanoth says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Very nice, but your game has some bugs in it. ;)

kmakai says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Fantastic job, lots of polish all around. Fun game!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:41pm

Nice game ! Funny, challenging and the score sharing at the end is a very nice touch !

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:06am

Awesome! :D Love the music!

Kuchalu says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:09am

Really addictive.

robcozzens says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:10am

Nice! Very addictive.

My only complaint is that the mouse sensitivity seemed too high.

StencylTuo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:26am

This is definitely one of the most polished games I've seen in the LD. Having an achievement system is an impressive addition, given the time constraint. Also, the mechanics work rather well (got 8th first try (TUO)). For the most part, this is a game that played it safe with the basic game and then went beyond it later on, making it definitely one of the better entries.

ninjascript says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:19am

Really good stuff! Amazing polish for the allotted time.

petey123567 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:21am

This was a lot of fun!

Artless says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:52am

Your tutorial is amazing and well thought out! I really appreciate you taking the time to teach the player about all of your mechanics and making it clear what things do.

Graphics are fun and detailed. I hate bugs though!

Sparrow says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Good game, it gives me the same feeling as Flappy bird which is a good thing.

bentog says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:08pm

Cool! I gave you +1 star on graphics just for the bird. Really fun game!

ZQMony says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:19am

Very fun and addicting game.

ElStevo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:25am

Very fun ! I made 10k ! the energy drink, I'm not sure if it's a bonus or a burden...

May 1, 2014 @ 2:46am

This termite is ninja D:
Quite fun! But one hit death is pretty tough.

Garris says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:50am

This is a really nicely made arcade game. When the audio of me playing "CRAP! *restart*" more than 3 times in a row, I call it an addicting success. Lots of fun, and it's impressive to see achievements implemented in a game with such a short development time. Well done!

no.One says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:58am

Quite fun ! :) I made it over 10000 _o/

terraco says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:17am

nice, unique!

jujule says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:36pm

A solid entry on a technical level but everything feels a bit generic to me. I expect something a bit whackier from a jam game.

mcapraro says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:41am

cool and simple. and thanks for posting about the leaderboard!

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Nicely done! Neat graphics and the idea!

May 3, 2014 @ 8:33am

Haha, this was surprisingly addicting! I'm only shy of two achievements! Any hints as to what the secret achievement is?

May 3, 2014 @ 4:32pm

@FilthandMoney Really impressive score! So I hate to say it, but the last secret achievement is impossible to get unless you cheated some how. We plan on taking it out of future versions. Sorry about that.

May 3, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Well made game! I included it in part 11 of my Ludum Dare compilation video if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/-vf2U372Ego

RowdyGhosts says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:10am

@ Coin: haha ok, thx for letting me know

May 4, 2014 @ 5:14am

Oooops, wrong account. That was actually me.

May 4, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Simple game but really fun and I like how everything is consistent (except maybe the energy drink but who cares?). Great work!

Noah Ratcliff says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Well done! Rare to see a leaderboard in an LD game, and I think it's definitely a nice touch.

gre says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Simple gameplay but nice concept and fun to play.

Rzial says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 6:18pm

THe game is pretty viral,nice runner. Just i think it could be a little bit more faster at earlier lvls

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]