Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Rolly-Polly-29

by benmcnelly - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In middle of tornado right now, so going to have to bail a bit short of what I wanted to. Will post github link to website later but zip of source is linked up! If I live, more details will be posted @ http://benmcnelly.wordpress.com/2014/04/28/ludum-dare-29/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#153Graphics3.89
#382Humor2.71
#707Mood2.83
#741Innovation2.81
#807Fun2.74
#837Overall2.89
#900Theme2.82

Comments

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Source: http://benmcnelly.com/ludum29/ludem.zip

Suese says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:16am

Great graphics. Am I on drugs? Oh.. I am..

malmazuke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:22am

I like the graphics. Some of the physics and collision stuff seems a bit off, but overall quite fun

Mincemeat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:24am

Made me realllly nauseous haha.

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:27am

Trippy camera, very difficult for platforming xD

ShivanHunter says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:55am

leave it to someone doing LD to upload a game in the middle of a tornado. I'm imagining you as some sort of ninja coder, fixing bugs and catching exceptions as a deadly whirl of debris flies around right outside your window, threatening to destroy you at any moment...

Spotline says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Haha memorable visuals and quite fun ! I love the nasty artstyle :D The balancing is a bit too punishing for me though

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:30pm

So nobody has got to the cookie yet???

mutuware says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Groovy!

blockbot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:01am

Felt like an acid trip, pretty cool platformer.

quantumpotato says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:03am

A platformer with air control puzzles? Great! I've been rating other graphics a little too highly.. after seeing this. Nice effect - how did you do it?

quantumpotato says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:03am

Update your main image to the pretty one.. probably grab more atetntion

otato says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:07am

Thats a pretty sweet MS Paint cookie. Also thanks for messing up my vision for a few minutes with that effect.

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:24am

Your welcome, and you aren't a bad looking potato yourself ;-)

Snowflower says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:02am

i like the trippy colors and warped camera,
the controls are smooth and responsive, the collision with the stuff you need to avoid is really hard though.

Vinyl Pixels says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:35pm

Quite hard, but fun :) Awaseome graphics!

voxel says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:49pm

What a weirdly beautiful game. The most unique looking game in the compo.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:01pm

I hope you survived the tornado! :O

As others have said, strangely beautiful. Amazing what camera effects can do to change everything.

ezombort says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Nice game. Loved the gfx and the effects :) First time I started the game the controls did not work but after a reload it worked perfectly.

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:16pm

GOT THE COOKIE!!! This is really difficult, but that shouldn't be a bad thing if it wasn't just so unforgiving: Most of the time you don't see what will comes next when you leap of a ledge and if you land on it you spawn all the way back at square 1... The visuals were really interesting! I wonder if cockroaches see the world like that.

camlang says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:18pm

This is great! Good game. Need to develop further.

lokijki says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Whooo! I got the MS Paint cookie! Hope you survived the tornado!

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Pretty!

cageinabird says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Wow, those are some psychedelic visuals. Is that what happens if I eat the cookie... nom! O.o

Dreii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:32am

Little hard to play but I love the effect you got going with the graphics! hope you dont blow away!

benmcnelly says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:17am

Thanks! I am safe and sound, and can't wait for next Ludum Dare (although the bad weather I can do without). In case anyone wants to try it with some sound, I went ahead and posted a link to the "Post Compo Tweaks (web game)" that just adds in some music and a finished second level.

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:45pm

That's pretty trippy

delfino says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Loved the visual effect, the controls felt good but the level was a bit crowded, I died a bunch

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]