Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Delve

by conormn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

An artsy exploration game.

Created with:
- Adobe Flash CC
- Figure by Propellerheads
- Sound Studio 4 by Felt Tip Software
- as3sfxr by Super Flash Bros

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
Graphics4.73
#35Audio3.94
#129Mood3.68
#286Theme3.58
#289Overall3.46
#354Innovation3.37
#617Humor2.35
#680Fun2.88

Comments

dbro says ...
Apr 26, 2014 @ 4:31am

I can't play the game for some reason, it just stays on the title screen.

jcsirron says ...
Apr 26, 2014 @ 4:38am

Is this made only for touch screens?

dbro says ...
Apr 26, 2014 @ 4:44am

It seems like it.

tinfoilboy says ...
Apr 26, 2014 @ 4:45am

It doesn't work on any platform.

tinfoilboy says ...
Apr 26, 2014 @ 4:45am

Touch screens wouldn't even play due to flash being booted.

conormn says ...
Apr 26, 2014 @ 4:45am

Ha, sorry, this is just a placeholder page. I still need to make the game over the next two days :) Stay tuned!

alexfedosov says ...
Apr 26, 2014 @ 4:51am

Placeholder? It's bad idea ever (

PineappleLime says ...
Apr 26, 2014 @ 5:07am

Looks awesome! I like the art style :D

Apr 26, 2014 @ 7:01am

Really... I place holder... That's low.

dbro says ...
Apr 26, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Why did you submit a placeholder as a submission? You're supposed to submit *after* you've finished the game.

Andrew Adams says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:44am

Amazing graphics. I got it to work fine. Click the button behind the L!

saiato says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:46am

Great game!! Once you understand it, it's quite easy though. For everyone who is confused, you start by clicking the circle (it's a hole) behind the L in the title. Then keep hunting for the holes :)

Kino333 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:19am

For everyone who can't get it to work, the title screen is part of the game. The button is hiding behind the L in Delve! Just gotta look. Its a point and click with the mouse!

Kino333 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:20am

I love it and want to see more of it!
This was really great. :D

SFBTom says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:21am

Really lovely work! Definite sense of exploration. Glad someone's still using my as3sfxr now that bfxr is out there!

adnzzzzZ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:22am

I never saw it that way... My mind is trapped inside a skeleton...

andrewkennedy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:24am

Well, that's the most beautiful thing I've seen yet. Your intro logo was better than my entire game.

Joseph Miller says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:25am

I really enjoy how this takes pixel hunting, commonly an annoyance, and turns it into a really engaging game mechanic through highly responsive environments and strong graphical work. Would definitely play a version of this that was 2 or 3 times longer, don't know if just that mechanic by itself would hold up much longer than that without some frills.

Woftles says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:39am

Crazy good artwork. Loved every bit about it. Wish it could be longer.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:32am

It was short but wow, super beautiful! Was that an Andross cameo?

Elforama says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:43am

Very nice graphics and feel. A bit short, but I enjoyed this. Awesome job!

Lars Faust says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:23am

Great design, really fantastic, altough it does lack real gameplay.

lekochen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:38am

Elegant design.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:40am

Wow I thought I was on Vimeo there for awhile, in a good way that is! The animation is just fantastic and not only are the art great the sound is also great. May have given a bit too high score for this ;)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:03am

Wow, nice :)

Awesome art here!

Mclogenog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Lovely graphics and neat idea. Even using a mouse, the "touch" mechanics feel very good. I wish it was more complicated though, or I had more reason to stay and play on each screen. Just wiggling the mouse around tended to "solve" each screen for me, so maybe if I had to actually click to push I would have to be more conscious of things? I'm not sure, but it could go in interesting directions if you keep working on it!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Really nice graphics and song

StrykerKKD says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:08pm

The graphics are incredible.

xgeovanni says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:17pm

Well it's really pretty but that's pretty much it.

Lucio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:01pm

you have great talent for graphics! But like @Mclogenog, I wish it was more complicated (hard)

Harsay says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Eyegasm.

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Those colors are just so nice. I played it 3time in a row, just to look at it again :)

SunShiranui says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Remarkable graphic and sound design! Really enjoyed it. :)

GFM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:47pm

WOW! The songs were great! The art was also really good!
I found interesting the each stage/scene were "beneath" each other, making a loop. It was a nice use of the theme. :)

GresponApps says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Beautiful!

terraco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:01am

It's very pretty, but that's about it. Barely a game. More like a picture book, except you click on it.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:48am

The game looks great! The art looks fantastic and the animations are very smooth.

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:28am

Fun and colourful

ENDESGA says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:54am

Beautiful design. I loved it!
A little too easy though, it finished too quick :'(

Very very nice :)

Photon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:15am

How tantalizing! Shame its so short though, but not surprising given the art quality and timeframe. Graphics are really great, although I feel like I would have liked to see more "out-there" combinations like on the title screen.

What's there though is pretty cool. I like it.

rylgh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:27am

incredibly nice and polished... so polished! only suggestion would be that the camera zooms into the portals instead of them expanding, to better give the impression that the viewer is moving deeper.

LukeZaz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:35am

I keep playing over and over again because the art and graphics are too good to not see any less than four times. Especially the logo.

ahmeni says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:01am

Nicely done!

eufrik says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:03am

The art is awesome but the game is pretty boring though. Hope you update this.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:21am

Soooo artsy but reaaaal good!
Freaky but funny.

Nothing wrong with art.

Lissar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:44am

Beautiful game with an interesting concept! Would like to see it expanded on.

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:27am

Very short but I loved the art!

nonentheless says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:58am

I think you should first explain what to do. But I love the graphics and animations. Sound is pretty good also :)

Doubstract says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Interesting concept! Graphics soooo clear!

pereubu says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:28pm

holy crap this is great !
The art is just friggin awesome, too bad it's so short :O
There's a great design for a neat concept here, I hope we'll see more in the future !

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:23pm

loved the art style and music.. i had no idea what i was doing tho haha :)

kristof says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:24pm

This looks awesome! I also like the sound. More "Levels" would have been great.

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:47pm

Visually it's beautiful. And the music goes along well with it. It's just unfortunate that there's not a lot of gameplay to do inside this well-presented world! I think it could definitely fit into being one of those relaxing casual puzzle games if it were fleshed out a bit more. But nice work overall.

DMinsky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Visually stunning.

Filecreation says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Now this looks good!
Its the kind of game that leaves you hungry for more, its just too bad that the "solutions" are so easy to find because of the huge cursor.

I especially enjoyed the facial graphics at the end!

MrShortee says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:14pm

The gameplay is shallow but the art is amazing and the beat catchy. Nice.

xdegtyarev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Wow! Great game or some kind of interactive movie, it reminds me Zoomqiult. Like it!

Roman Kornev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:47pm

It's not exactly a game. It's an interactive piece of art. I very like the stunning visuals and sound. Not much of a gameplay though.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:35pm

Interesting. More of an art piece than an actual game, but the art is incredible. I literally refreshed 5 times just to see that cool opening title transition.

stigmawall says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:52am

the only problem with this game is: too short. It's a great experience and a incredible motion design. I wish I have this art on my LD29 game. Congrats.

HybridMind says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:12am

Wow, such style! The graphics, music, and feel are really cool. Love it. It definitely feels a bit more like an interactive toy than a game, but that's OK. I enjoyed the short but sweet experience of it.

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:11am

Simple gameplay but a cool experience. Trippy and organized at the same time.

pragmascript says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:41am

very nice trip :)

Warboys says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:06am

Gorgeous game. Super beautiful to gaze and listen to :)

javierecf says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:19am

I thought is was gonna be more interesting, it is a little interesting in some aspects i guess, but there is no much gameplay to be had. The visuals are colorful, clean and elegant, sometimes the FPS goes down on my machine, and the animation suffers. Overall a pretty entry. Not really sure what else to say.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:30am

Impressive design! A bit too short for my taste.

Pierrec says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:01am

I thing we've got our gold in graphics!

hampa says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:26am

Beautiful game.

WetDesertRock says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:51am

The game is interesting, but it doesn't seem to do much besides reveal a dot when you mouse over it. I guess I was expecting a little bit more gameplay out of it.

However, overall the game was just beautiful.

SaintHeiser says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:25am

Awesome visual design and nothing more...

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:34am

I found your game beautiful, I wish there was more. Do you have a website with other stuff ? I went to supersogood.com and there was only a page full of gif :D

jsspiegel says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:40pm

Love the art and music! The game also feels super fast paced and fun despite it being a point-and-click!

May 1, 2014 @ 5:26pm

A short experience but stunningly beautiful and fantastic audio. Simple premise but just works so well. 5/5

01010111 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:37pm

looks like you didn't make it in time for the compo, but I really love the artwork and animations! Great job!

InfectionTeam says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:10pm

SOOOO BEAUTIFUL! I want to see more of that art!

frickajr says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:01pm

beautiful and interesting but short .. I liked!

May 1, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Pretty well done game. The graphics are beautiful.

mechabit says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:37pm

Amazing graphics and animations. Love the sounds too.

bentog says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:12am

Your art is impeccable, both on graphics and music. I like the idea and would like to see it expanded on more gameplay. Awesome use of the theme.

praporomsk says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:27am

It is really very beautiful entry, but it lacks gameplay so much

Danman9914 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:53am

Awesome

May 2, 2014 @ 3:44am

The artwork was extremely impressive, and I liked the music too. I found the actual gameplay a little weak. I guess in the end I wished there was more elaboration on the idea of clicking on a hole to make it more challenging. As it is, it seems more like an animation than something actually interactive. But it's still a very impressive entry!

mcapraro says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:34am

as a fellow flasher all i can say is WOW! Absolutely amazing animations and i love the feel. well done and i cant wait to see more of this and your other work!

May 2, 2014 @ 7:54am

absolutely beautiful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! wish I had more stars to give for graphics and mood

Sparrow says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:06am

Very cool graphics love it. Make it longer! :D

May 2, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Very artsy entry, but at least its really good art! Enjoyed the interactions while they lasted. Final screen is really nice. Overall top visuals and music, but you know - gameplay is a bit flat.

lowcade says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:33pm

Amazing and simple!
Very Different. A beautiful use of the theme.

petey123567 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:06pm

MIND BLOWN!

Dreii says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Wow awesome graphics really love that style! Nice take on the theme too!

recursor says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:42am

This has lovely graphics and some excellent sound. It didn't feel a whole lot like a game to me, but so what. This is high-quality stuff.

dalbinblue says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:27am

Super cool idea. I was a bit sad that it was over so quickly (unfortunately I found that it was easy to see the item to interact with as it was usually the one thing not moving). Would have like to have seen additional layers to remove on each scene so that the transitions weren't so fast, but despite that I am super impressed with the entry. It's really cool as an interactive art, and certainly one of the more unique entries I've seen period.

Keehan12 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:59am

Was rather short but I thought this game was incredible! the graphics were amazing to say the least.

markusfisch says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Very extraordinary. Cool concept and music. I like it!

Make A Game says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:26pm

So short! I finished it in a minute and was left wanting more. Pretty cool.

But one thing that I don't understand. I followed your development and saw that you made an empty compo submission, but then you finished the game after the first 48 hours? Shouldn't this be a Jam submission?

DrMelon says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Grabbed that brain-crystal! :D

TeamFlare says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:50am

Cool, good example of how to make somthing simple very enjoyable through the choise of graphics and music :) Cool.

May 4, 2014 @ 6:25pm

GORGEOUS. Not really a game but a great artistical achievement for 48 hours.
Out of context, it would look like it took weeks for you to make it. Kudos!

FREEZX says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:03pm

A very nice concept. Too short unfortunately :(

lasergans says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Such a beautiful abstract exploration! <3

dector says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Awesome beauty.

porglezomp says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:48pm

This is absolutely beautiful!
It needs to be longer.

May 5, 2014 @ 12:45am

Hey! Delve is featured on my "favorites" post

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/05/04/my-favorite-ld29-games/

glbs says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:36am

ERR GUYS??? I thought LD was to be done in 48H and nobody seems to notice?

conormn says ...
Apr 26, 2014 @ 4:45am

Ha, sorry, this is just a placeholder page. I still need to make the game over the next two days :) Stay tuned!

glbs says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:38am

Ok sorry my mistake, I didnt see the date and hour

glbs says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:40am

I love those moments...

glbs says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:42am

cool game

Rick Hoppmann says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Aaand my Flash Player is too old to play this + Adobe dropped Linux support :/

ZYXer says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 1:46am

I'm not sure if this technically qualifies as a game, but that art is just awesome! Well done!

Cake&Code says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:45am

"Hmm, it's just a white html page... where's th-OH MY GOD IT'S BEAUTIFUL."

The game is, needless to say, absolutely gorgeous. I loved soaking in the visuals while pushing things out of the way in my quest to find the hidden tunnel to the next colorgasm. I was a bit saddened when I reached and subsequently conquered the pre-simian Andross and revealed the crystal inside. I didn't want to click it for fear that it would end the game, when it did I was glad that the intro screen came up again and allowed me to start the game over.

The searching was fun, the animations and juiciness were spot on, but the length was just too short! Please make more :)

May 6, 2014 @ 7:18am

What a great game and really fun to play. It had a great charm about it.

Lyje says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Really fun to delve! But for me it needs a game mechanic but I guess I'm just a traditionalist. Can't argue with those amazing graphics though!

TijmenTio says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Absolutely stunning interactive application. You should work at google :p It was ,however , a bit short though. And gameplaywise there wasn't much to do.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 1:45am

Woah. This is the prettiest thing I've ever seen in my life. And that head at the end! Woah.

Zerkruemler says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 8:39am

Nice graphics and animnations, good music, but the gameplay is a little too simple for me. Good work anyway.

zanenga says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 5:18am

I can't stress enough how awesome those graphics were. Very fluid. Love it.

Helopol says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 12:19pm

Love love love the music <3

goerp says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 6:26pm

I've played your previous games as well. You guys make some great looking stuff!
For me, this one scores better on mood than the previous two. It's not really a game, but at least it's not trying to pretend to be one (like my 'game' ;))

ActionRemix says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 3:15am

It has a good look! I'm glad this turned into a real game - I too was confused by the premature submission.

May 9, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Game's so nice I played it twice. Ok I just played it again. Anyway, there is no reason to replay it except to look at it again. And people are doing that. This is almost art. Keep up the good work.

Larzan says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Wow, nice, has a nice and trippy feeling to it! There seems to be sth wrong with your collision routine though, as soon as i move the curser the whole thing sux CPU like crazy.

tchem says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 5:44pm

beatufifull idea. unique . great graphics and atmosphere. i loved it.

stvr says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Easily the best graphics of the jam, a really wonderful aesthetic, though the gameplay is a bit simple.

May 11, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Super nice, artistic game! I included it in part 22 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series! :) http://youtu.be/7oB_8pUypJo

Anoarith says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Aweomse graphics waow :0 !

May 12, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Hey! You have been featured in today's episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HrGIZzJZ1DQ

gre says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Not so much challenge as a "game", but definitely incredible awesome art and atmosphere.

mortus says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 10:28am

I can hardly call it a game in a common sense of a word, but that's definitely a very interesting experience. And probably most polished and stylish I've yet seen this jam. I'm very impressed, great work!

v3games says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Utterly fantastic graphics, but very short, simple and easy. You have a great talent for visual design. I'd love to see what you could accomplish if you teamed up with an equally great coder.

udo says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Wow, that was surreal, but fun. I'm still not quite certain whether I played it right or not though...

jsmars says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Really nice graphics but a bit short, and not so much game in it really, could have added a bit more challange, maybe a timer or something on each screen :)

Simon says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Great graphics and audio. Too bad the game is really too simple!

May 14, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Really nice graphics but I was disappointed the game itself is not interesting..

Pitoum says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Art & music are like.... GORGEOUS!
And it's enough for me.
I want MORE :)

Raiyumi says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 5:20am

Super slick and lovely graphics! It didn't feel like a game, but it was a neat experience. :)

May 18, 2014 @ 12:27pm

Beautiful looking game, really impressed at all the amazing visuals you were able to make in the short time. Title screen was also well done.

mrhill says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Beautiful

IamAcoconut says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 10:17pm

This is so awesome.

Mase says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Very attractive animation; the finale was lovely.
It would feel more game-like if there were multiple paths.

Oye Beto says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Amazing art. Great entry.

GamerTaters says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 10:44pm

Very nice game. Beautiful artwork. Well done. :)

pansapiens says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 12:10am

Those are some stunning visuals right there ! As a hidden object game, I feel like you could have done a little more, but I understand most of the time probably went into visuals and audio (the story of my own entry really, too).

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]