Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Zombie 3000

by sensenmann666 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Requires Java 1.7 to run.

The Humans have put concrete almost everywhere. Underground Zombies have found a way to pop up at unobstructed locations.
Buy upgrades for your Zombies as the dumb mass plows through the puny defences.

Hints: press C to deactivate all active tiles (especially useful in later levels)
to upgrade your Zombies just click on the information about the ability (turns green if there is enough money)

Gameplay: The defenses shoot at your zombies. When a zombie dies the underlying floor tiles are damaged. when floortiles have no energy left they become spawnpoints for your zombies. You can toggle those spawnpointsby clicking on themto control the flow of the zombies.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#42Fun3.92
#221Overall3.56
#338Humor2.79
#384Innovation3.32
#525Audio2.83
#579Mood2.96
#592Graphics3.12
#803Theme2.96
#1409Coolness47%

Comments

Doccrazy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:59am

Nice strategic game, but the start is really slow, until you have some upgrades

alvarop says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:42am

Had quite a bit of fun with this one. Very well made. Maybe with a better presentation, it could make a really good game?

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:33am

Clicking tiles won't work. Can't get it to run :/

sensenmann666 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:05am

You have to click the tile that is leftmost in the middle height to begin. at the beginning of the level it is the only possible tile

sensenmann666 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:34pm

v1.0.1 with bugfixes and some balancing is now up :)

WhiteWolf93 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:53pm

I dont understand how it works :/ seems like I can't turn red tiles into green tiles.

sensenmann666 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:56pm

you have to click on them

neosam says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:23pm

Great Idea! I always wanted to play a zombie strategy game :)

Jason Lay says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:44pm

More zombies! Seems slow to really get going, had some difficulties with the controls. Maybe with some better balancing, this game will be awesome!

Sergraz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Very interesting and addictive mechanics. It was really fun, couldn't stop playing. Would be awesome to see this game developing further.

seantheartist says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Thought this game was great, played all the way up to level 10. Fun mix of strategy and theme

rincewind_cz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:51pm

The repeating sound in later levels is more than irritating :-)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:15pm

I had a 0.0 spawantime. Very cool game! :)

Skipi says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:08am

I can see myself paying to play this. This was quite good.

I wish you could click/drag to select/unselect groups of tiles at once. Also, when you get to the higher levels (past 10) you start suffering slowdowns due to the sheer number of bullets. You should perhaps try to implement spacial partitioning for your collision detection. That'd take care of slowdowns when there's a lot of bullets.

stenol says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Good little game :)

GreatBigJerk says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Couldn't run on OSX

Empyrealhell says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:45pm

That was incredibly fun. A bit of click and wait towards the end, but still fun nonetheless.

Muciojad says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:27am

Quite good small game, but I think it can be better when it will be a little faster ;) Anyway, nice work.

kunzbe says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 8:39pm

WOW, so excellent fun after a day of hard work :D thx ! still playing, 40 min or so, spawntime lvl 86 '^^

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]