Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hopelessness

by lantto - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Corpses from people giving up... Darkness... I don't know how much more I can take. What's hiding beneath the surface?

---

HTML5/JS.

Multiplayer.

Move with arrow keys.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#74Innovation3.98
#137Theme3.79
#270Overall3.48
#352Mood3.22
#405Humor2.66
#454Audio2.92
#772Fun2.77
#868Graphics2.67

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:06am

Very cool!!

vilya says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:08am

Interesting idea. I don't think anyone else was online at the same time as me? I'd like to see it when other people were active. Nice graphical style too.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Interesting mechanic and liked the way the theme was used.

Got stuck on one of the levels though when it appeared that someone was standing on the stairs and I couldn't go any further. Also really like the corpses left behind, think that is a great touch to see.

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:13pm

This might be my current favorite! Really cool idea. Took me a few minutes to figure out what was happening, but then I saw another player, and I even found a new stairway!!!

I think if you added just one way to.. fail, or die, this could be a really amazing game. Maybe there are trap tiles that cause a bunch to fill back up, and players could mark tiles that are traps?

Really cool, interested to see how far people can go.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Felt a lot like a racing game. Very fun.

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Really cool concept!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:09pm

I like how the players make a strange face when next to a death tile! Also the fact that it's multiplayer is absolutely awesome :)

maxhaesslein says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:12pm

I played it with 5 other people. This was fun and even if I don't know who those others where and we could not communicate we had the same goal and worked together. Also I found boots and a hat.

mat1er says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Interesting but the music is to much repetitive.

leddkire says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:48pm

I liked the concept. It would be interesting to see what else you could add to this. Well done!

lonewookie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:39pm

I found the staircase. It was kind of tedious because I was the only one online, but I LOVE the concept. I wish other people would have been online at the same time!

Infinerd says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:20am

I loved this little game to death, awesome work!!

Tanner says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Cool!

jsmars says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Really nice game! Was almost about to give up as I didn't see the point until I realized what it was. Genious! I got my girlfriend to join up and we found a staircase together, then we made a smiley face on the next level and found another staircase, hopefully nobody will ruin it too much :) Great job overall! One of the best entries so far, definitely top on theme! :)

ninjacharlie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:31pm

I really liked the idea for this one! I did get stuck on a level where another player was blocking it though :\

Nice job. This is one of the most interesting games I've seen :)

gigitrix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Cool idea. No-one was online but I left my poorly pixelled mark on the world ;)

BadgerPriest says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:34am

Took a bit to figure out what's going on, but the multiplayer aspect of this is absolutely brilliant. Wow.

sam101 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:25am

Pretty cool game ! I really liked your take on the theme, and the music is pretty nice.

zaratustra says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:35am

so what does this -- ooh, I see it.

Sheepolution says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:37am

This is awesome. I'm going to comeback to see how deep we got. Very innovative, and fits very well with the theme.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Wow, it goes really deep...

EpiphanyG says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:54am

This is a great concept! I spent more time playing this game than I did a lot of the other entries, but in the end, I too gave up hope. :)

mechabit says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:29pm

Dark souls style traps and messages would have made this game

Ragzouken says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:25pm

too bad i played so late, took a long while to get anywhere interesting - pretty cool idea though!

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:31pm

It feels like a nightmare, it's really depressing, I like it :D

TeamEagle says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:14pm

very well done, had to figure out it were other people but still. very cool :)

kind of odd to see corpses moving around though, not sure if that was a bug. I assumed other people would look like you.

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Hi, got to about 30x30 board I think. Interesting idea as you descend. Shame about no baddies/things to collect - needs another challenge beyond the exit.

VanMerwan says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Obviously, this happened: http://i.imgur.com/epXQ9y4.png

(It's a sign that your game is awesome.)

Crowbeak says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:51am

I didn't get it until I got to a floor where I couldn't see a way down. Before that, I had been wondering how you're supposed to react to/interact with other players if they are around.

I like the music, but I'm not sure if it fits the idea of hopelessness or not. I also like the fact that you can play until you are tired of it. That fits really well with the title, and subverts the expectation that you'll run out of stamina or something and die if you dig long enough.

May 4, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Interesting idea, the multiplayer aspect is very innovative!

BadgerPriest says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 5:49pm

The coolest level: http://imgur.com/pbanPJI
The current lowest level: http://imgur.com/ZwXXruM

I also didn't notice until restarting from the top and looking at the screenshots that the unexplored dirt zones started at yellow and gradually are approaching black. So good.

Sheepolution says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Hey I just wanted to say that, even though you're placed #455, I thought the tune was awesome! :D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]