Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Kamikaze Snail: They see me sliding, they hatin'!

by kalth.streil - Jam Entry

Game objective:
---------------
Just have fun! :)

Explore the planet calmly, make your own path, fight the beetles, face the spikeys, read the messages, have some tea with some fellow snails, or dare to confront THE BEAST AT THE CORE! Pick your poison!

*Please note that some paths may be way harder than others. Several clues are scattered to help you pick, but if you think that it's unfair and that we should be punished for such map zone, just know that we've been there and done that, but still, we like challenges!*

Controls:
---------
WASD for movement
Mouse for aiming
LMB to use your trusty bazooka!
M to change the main theme (soft or crazy, your call!)
Q to toggle your immunity to your own rocket explosions! (Consider it easy-mode!)


Lore:
-----
You are Kamikaze, king of the Snail heroes, master of every possible martial art, Snails everywhere go all slimy (eww) just picturing your shell! However, you're too awesome for all that, so you decided to scram and visit other galaxies... in a box. Not the kind of police-officer-time-traveling-box, nope, just a mere crate. But hey, if you die, you come back to life in your glorious crate! How cool is that? Anyways, tired from waging war with every living entity outside, you return home in your trusty 'spaceship', only to find no reception and a barren planet.

Other lesser heroes would've been disappointed, but you're better than that. You know that whatever the circumstances, you've got a excuse to make use of your bazooka. Hell is going to break loose, you think as you smirk and start firing missiles everywhere! :D

Don't let anything or anyone stand in your way!

Tools used:
-----------
Unity 4.3.4
Inkscape
Audacity

Credits:
--------

Nope team
=========
David Camara Iglesias
Jose Manuel Camara Iglesias

General License Materials
=========================

Music
-----

-Intro

1-The field of dreams, by Paulius Jurgelevicius (OpenGameArt)

-Main themes

1-Main theme, by anonymous (OpenGameArt)
2-Action Track by 3uhox (OpenGameArt)

-Boss theme

1-Covert Operations, by artisticdude (OpenGameArt)

Sound
-----
Various sounds by qubodup (OpenGameArt)
Buzz grid sounds, by claudeb (OpenGameArt)
Action sounds by Paulius Jurgelevicius (OpenGameArt)
Fire sound by AntumDeluge (OpenGameArt)
Steam sounds by Bart (OpenGameArt)
Blade sounds by remaxim (OpenGameArt)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2196Coolness0%

Comments

shadow64 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:02am

I was unable to connect to your site. :(

soulrot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:20am

Quite fun, but I really disliked the movement controls. Easy to get stuck behind level 'geometry' and hard to quickly dodge incoming.. pain.

kalth.streil says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:52pm

shadow64, it should be working now! Well, at least for me it is hehe

soulrot, where did you get stuck? Only the orange part and the core have real collisions that can't be avoided; rocks on the outer levels can be destroyed with your bazooka!

Plus, so can the shurikens, so if you shoot them you won't need to dodge! You can also press 'q' to deactivate self-damage and use the recoil to push you out of harm's way! Our poor snail can only be so fast by himself, even with a jetpack!

soulrot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:22pm

I got 'stuck' in the labyrinth-part. Not stuck in a game-breaking way, but I hugged the wall while I needed to get away quickly (which I couldn't due to the physics-delay), so it felt like being stuck. I personally just didn't like the feel of it :P
I didn't notice I could destroy shurikens! Should make things easier.

kalth.streil says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:47pm

Haha yeah well... the thing is that time-wise we couldn't implement the rotation, but you're a snail, so part of the thing is that you stick to the walls and go slower (very helpful for the whole spikey part, specially the extra hard segment!). So the slowing down on touching a wall is a feature, even if it's a frustrating one! The scale needs tweaking in order for it to work properly though, so sorry for that! :(

Also, make sure you pick up the half-delay pots, I had fun getting to the edge of a room full of beetles and firing away like mad, stopping shurikens mid-air! haha

jujule says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:03pm

It was so hard getting to the center I was surprised I beat the boss the first encounter! Yeah! I liked the texts, too...
Pretty neat but I would have liked the controls a little bit more polished.

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:14pm

Pretty fun!

soy_yuma says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:09pm

I also think the controls are a bit nasty sometimes. Specially when dealing with the big-mouth spikes. Also, the music starts to get annoying after 30+ deaths.

What are you supposed to do when you kill the central monster? I went for a space stroll but nothing happened. I also found the lady snail and Merlin.

I love the graphics and the pieces of text! Good job!

DonovanWu says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:35pm

The map is big and makes player have quite some exploration to do. Surprised that this is made within 72 hours.

May 7, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Ahh this is incredible :D

Melondonut says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 2:43am

I don't know why but whenever I try to play, all of windows slow down. ;(

May 19, 2014 @ 9:13am

Pretty fun game! A bit confusing at first, but easy to figure out.
~funkeh

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]