Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Under a bush of roses

by AmmoreChicks - Jam Entry

You suddenly hear a loud scream in the street:
"The Black Shadows! They're everywhere!".
You instantly reach your backyard to raise an hidden door under a bush of roses. A secret passage appears. It leads to your secret bunker. You reach it and close carefully the door behind. Nobody can discover you, now.
The room is well furnished and organized. You can live here for years.
But you think (you don't know why) that 7 days will suffice.

USE CTRL+MOUSEWHEEL TO SET THE FONT SIZE

A game made with Twine.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#68Humor(Jam)3.61
#128Mood(Jam)3.64
#170Graphics(Jam)3.90
#181Overall(Jam)3.50
#183Theme(Jam)3.53
#193Fun(Jam)3.30
#198Innovation(Jam)3.38

Comments

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:19am

Super fine graphics.
Maybe a bit hard to understand what to do.
Felt a bit like a only clicked around.

But the irony and satire was oozing.

Good going...

dsoft20 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:41am

Nice graphics & great storytelling :d

superfrog says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:45am

Nice game. Congrats.

Zeta says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:06pm

I like the graphics and the play style, great work

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:08pm

Awesome! I really enjoyed this one...yet again I am a sucker for text based games.

Jeasonfire says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Got bad end 2. Very good story telling, occassionally funny options and great graphics. A very solid entry.

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:15pm

Really enjoyed that! The writing was great, the message when you read Miley Cyrus book in particular. And I was shocked IRL the one time I saw a shadow through the telescope!

quill18 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:30pm

I think this is a good format for a storytelling game. Reminds me of a choose-your-own-adventure book.

AmmoreChicks says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Thanks everyone.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:09pm

Overall good game, feel as though the times I played it it made you want to play more and find all the other endings.

I believe this was insync with the theme and was a good interpretation

Snoother says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Great use of theme. Had the kind of "Horse Master" feel, which is invariably a good thing. And I too enjoyed the irony and cultural satire.

Some easily rectified stuff:
Noticed a bug: on the "Search for a radio station" node, the picture wasn't appearing.
A misspelling: "somobody (or something) is hidden behind a tree"

AmmoreChicks says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:17pm

@Orangejuice724: Thanks!


@Snoother: Thank you very much!!! I've just fixed. I didn't know "Horse Master", at the moment I've only searched google and bookmarked it.

Catman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Nice graphics and interesting story! Good job!

dmcfarline says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Nice atmosphere and pixel art, good job!

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Liked the pixel art, good story made me feel like I was the player, and not just playing the game, good job :)

SunShiranui says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:17am

Nice! I wonder why my character was compelled to go out... is it because of too much shock?

SunShiranui says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:23am

Now I got END 2!

AmmoreChicks says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:07am

Thanks again for the comments!
@shunshiranui: if the shock level (the only variable you can see) becomes too high, you must go out. END 2? You're lucky!!

rujo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:17am

i'm more into action games but i loved the visuals and the extreme big pixel art! i adore these kind of things :)

May 1, 2014 @ 3:04am

Pretty nice story! I included it in part 5 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) youtu.be/HquvNllyc50

AmmoreChicks says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:59am

Thanks Rujo! You're great, Jupiter!

lukepilgrim says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:20pm

sweet graphics and a nice story. i liked that the texts were not longer than needed.

AmmoreChicks says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:29pm

@lukepilgrim ;)

RobotParking says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:07pm

This is super cool!

AmmoreChicks says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:54am

Thank you, RobotParking.

kikaz says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Nice graphics, nice ambient, dark shadows make me fear ! ^^

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]