Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

800bar

by rnlf - 48 Hour Compo Entry

UPDATE NOTE: I fixed the keyboard layout. In addition to WASD, cursor keys are supported now as well and I added the spacebar as a second fire key. I honestly hope this doesn't violate any rules, someone suggested that this could be considered as "porting" the game to non-qwerty keyboards.
-----------------------------------------------------


One of the most obvious takes on the theme.

The highscore doesn't work on Windows for some reason. Works fine on Linux though.
The Windows version can be run under wine if you don't have love 0.9.0 installed on your Linux box.

Since some didn't seem to notice: This game has an actual ending after three levels. Every level has a dedicated exit that takes you to the next ;-)

-----------------------------------------------------
Controls:
WASD or Cursor Keys to move the ship
TAB to turn it around
Left Alt or spacebar to fire torpedo.

-----------------------------------------------------

Known problems (thanks for reporting):
* The camera goes crazy when hitting things
* Bouncing off of things changes the direction in a stupid way
* The tilemap flickers from time to time
* Highscore is not saved on Windows (this could actually be a love2d bug, need to investigate)
* THE TITLE IS MISSPELLED (omg)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#215Mood3.47
#217Graphics3.75
#235Theme3.63
#323Overall3.43
#376Fun3.24
#613Audio2.66
#810Innovation2.71
#820Humor2.06

Comments

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:09am

Blub blub. It's a real cold world down there. Good setting/atmosphere, most of all.

Crefossus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:18am

I'm loving the particle effects and lighting. When you collide with something it feels buggy though. I also recommend posting the controls here in case your player doesn't memorize them (cough).

jorgemoag says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:29am

I like a lot, but the camera does strange things when you collide. Moreover, it is very good entry.

rnlf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:52am

Ah yes, the camera ;-) One of those things that are on the To Do list for more than a day and get delayed because of more important stuff until the deadline is reached :-(

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:06am

Pretty cool! (Okay, pun unintended.) I don't like the weird key bindings, they're... weird.

BigRat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:09am

The Only thing that i really Love it's graphic .So 1 Notice.Controlls are not well done.And when i am colliding the boxes it actually starts to shake the screen .

lief says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:15am

pros: hot damn! those bubbles.. they are magic... the spiral from the sub props...the way the bubbles hang in the water like filaments of silk...

cons: key layout is crap

rnlf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:42am

Keyboard layout fixed. See update in the description.

Dominator_101 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Nice! The bubbles are awesome! Well done!

Yeah, as others have said, the camera can be a little jerky when you hit something. I'm guessing it's location is based on the speed of the sub, which is set to 0 when you collide? Maybe make it more based on input, or at least a combination? Either that, or have like a "maxCameraSpeed" to say the furthest the camera can move in one frame? I don't know, I'm just throwing out ideas for some reason. Don't mind me.

Seriously, though. Those bubbles.

rnlf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Haha, Dominator_101, that's exactly right. It was meant as be quick hack but then it stayed because of time :-(

Dominator_101 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Yeah, I totally get it. I think there's probably a large portion of people that that's true of some part of their game, myself included.

That's just one of the joys of doing the ludum dare :P

mortus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Those bubbles is probably the most beautiful thing I've seen in my life. How did you do that?

Sound and visuals are nice and simplistic, but bubbles are almost photorealistic (with low res of course).

Afal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:47pm

This looks really nice!

WetDesertRock says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:20pm

I liked it, though the engine noise did get on my nerves after awhile.

I enjoyed the lighting you had, the visuals of the game were perfect for the game, really enjoyed the sub turning around.

As other people said, the camera was kinda of jerky when you ran into things, and was detracting away from the game.

Your control scheme was also kind of wonky? On QWERTY keyboards (I realize this might not be your keyboard scheme), WASD and tab are kind of odd. I got used to it after awhile though.

I loved hearing the sub sound when my depth changed, that was a nice touch.

Good entry :)

WetDesertRock says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:24pm

Oh, also your title screen says 900 bar rather than 800 I think.

rnlf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:44am

WetDesertRock: Oopsie. I think I can reconstruct the genesis of this bug ;-) I wanted to call the game 800bar in the beginning but when I made the title screen, I figured that it looked to much like Boo Bar in the font I used, so I changed it to 900 and forgot to change it everywhere else, including my own mind.

This may be on of the most embarrassing bugs in video game history. Interesting how nobody noticed it before you :D


mortus: <3

FrameMatt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:39am

I really enjoy it!
The graphics were awesome, it would be nice if you add more to the level tiles, so that everything match.
:D

frankbsad says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:33am

Nice game, I really enjoyed the bubbles.

mortus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:58am

Embarrassing, you say? Ha! My game actually has words "Game Title" on its main screen!

GarethIW says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:05am

Keys are a bit strange, but I enjoyed the mood. Nice particle effects, I'm always a sucker for those. I liked ramming into the enemy subs too.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:27pm

Ah, the game did not start for me, for some reason! I'm using Love 0.9.1 (Linux).

monsterkillu says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Liked the impressive underwater effects .. The Bubbles are just awesome. Would be better with Arrow-key/Space/Tab control scheme i guess ... (And there was this camera resetting bug when i hit something. Its not a big problem , just letting you know )...

rnlf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:25pm

pancakecity, yes, I noticed the same, on Windows and Linux. I have no idea as to why this happens :-(

GarethIW, monsterkillu, I changed the keyboard layout yesterday. Does Dropbox give you the version with WASD only?

rxi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Bloop


Bloop


Bloop


A really excellent effort, the sound worked really well with the game, and the movement had a sort of weight to it which really brought home the feeling "submarine" without being annoying. The gameplay was challenging and fun -- I made several failed attempted at beating the game before I unfortunately gave up.

The bubble particles looked fantastic, the lighting added to the underwater atmosphere and I quite liked the turning animations of the submarines -- the whole turning mechanic, as opposed to always facing the direction you were headed, seemed to work really well with the setting. It also allowed me the ability to flip my vessel around as I tried to fly through the level backwards, yelling profanities towards the submarines who's failed attempts at shooting me and lack of ability to chase me left them stranded and impotent.

Nice work!

josefnpat says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:50am

I love how the pixel art is so dynamic. Even the ship turns nicely! Great job!

xensky says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:14pm

a bit glitchy, my ship was hopping, but very cool.

okkolobr says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:14pm

There's a good start here. But two things prevented me to have a real fun on this one :
- Having to use a special key to turn the submarin is pretty annoying. I kept on using the cursor key of the opposite direction, which seems more "natural".
- It feels like my submarine is invincible : i can't see what being hit by ennemi shoots, ennemies or the floor does to me. So, I don't really feel like challenged :(
You have done some good work on arts and animation, though.

rnlf says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Okkolabr, being able to turn and move independently was part of the design. And every hit hurts your shit (there is a health bar at the top of the screen). Your ship can pack a punch, otherwise the game would be unbeatable (balancing needed ;-)).

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Rocking pixel art and lighting!
Some of the sounds got a little annoying...
But all in all one of the better submarine games on here!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Some lags but all the rest is quite good ! (nice design & sound)

dook says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Pretty good little game! And the animations, lighting and bubbles and such made it look a lot better than the screenshots implies.

rnlf says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:37pm

Yeah, a bit hard to get that into a still image. The action GIF shows it better ;-)

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:35pm

Lovely particles! The overall mood was great too, the lighting system added a lot to it I guess. I found the game a bit easy to beat, but that might be because I like hardcore games. ^^
Good job for this entry! :)
(And cool timelapse btw)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:36pm

I thought this played pretty well. The controls/physics felt pretty spot-on for a 2D submarine game. I liked the wobble on the spotlight which, along with the bubble particles, enhanced the overall atmosphere. It is a simple game, but a pretty good one. The only major thing I caught was with collisions as previous users already mentioned, which became more noticeable on Stage 2's narrow passages.

drnick says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:26pm

Quite nice!

As previously mentioned by many other commentators, the bubble particles give a nice touch and complement the atmosphere, as well as the lighting effects.

The turning mechanic tends well to this type of gameplay.

I'd like to give you two suggestions:
1)Between levels, change the ground/scenery's colour
2)Make the ground/scenery destructible by your torpedoes

I don't know anything about Love2d, but I may actually try to implement the above myself if I have the time.

iSamurai says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:42am

wow, i love the particle effects! it's so real!

Spaceoff says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:45am

Loved the lighting and water effects, movement felt smooth other than collisions.

javierecf says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:02am

The particles effects are very well done, the movement of the ship also feels natural, but the collisions have problems as pointed by many others. The enviroment gives you that mood of underwater, really hard to achieve but some of the sounds are a bit noisy.

JoshOS says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:36pm

The atmosphere generated by the deep, darkness, the bubbles and the lighting emphasizing the darkness really set the mood on this one. Unfortunately the sound was lacking, and when I was on low health, it annoyed me to the point I muted my speakers.

The gameplay feels a bit off, but I think that's due to the way you jitter off of the surfaces. The levels were tricky but I beat them without much stress.

All in all, a very impressive entry

rvmook says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:57am

Besides the things you already pointed out yourself this game is pretty solid. I couldn't get passed the second level though. I didn't have enough patience to wait for the correct moment. It would've been cool to be able to shoot the incoming torpedo's. I'll try to beat the game later this week, nice job!

May 3, 2014 @ 12:46am

i felt immersed underwater in a submarine. It was like i was there, bobbing under the water fleeing for my life to get to the other side. Then i discovered many more submarines and decided to get frisky and blow them up! I discovered that better enemies had scarier torpedoes than i did. much to my chagrin, i died. Nice work. The lighting was bit weird a times and the camera bounce was really wild. a bit to jarring. you caught the bugs at least. :-)

VictorDoval says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:47pm

I had a nice time playing, the mechanics felt like a real submarine. Thanks!

mcapraro says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:05am

i couldnt see the game at all on a windows machine just a white blob shape :(

GFM says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:57am

The particle effect was really cool! :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]