Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath the Rain

by CruelMotivator - Jam Entry

[Daring?] office worker simulator.

Just follow the arrows and do your job.

/*
Code by CruelMotivator & uchiro
Art by Stanislav Zagniy
Music by Sergey Ikonnikov
*/

uchiro's timelapse: https://youtu.be/_XumaFjNsS0

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#14Mood(Jam)4.31
#19Audio(Jam)4.19
#65Graphics(Jam)4.32
#124Overall(Jam)3.62
#162Innovation(Jam)3.49
#337Theme(Jam)3.23
#355Humor(Jam)2.61
#536Fun(Jam)2.68

Comments

soulrot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:00am

When almost leaving the first area after the area with Big Company Inc. my browser (thus the game) keeps slowing down until it is non-responsive.

kivifreak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:09am

Very polished game. It set me quite in a mood. Definetly one of the better games i came across.
I came across this bug several times though, might want to fix it: NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object. (You seem to have linked the Development Build?)

Kuchalu says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Interesting.. Nice graphics and soothing music.

Lyje says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Mood and atmosphere is great, and love the graphics. Thought-provoking.

Raiyumi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:39pm

It has real nice mood and sound. Very polished too.

dsoft20 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Great graphics & music.
The art style is one the best of this LD

Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:03am

Thank you all :)

kamend says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:35am

Great use of Unity! :) The mood is really nice

eufrik says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:05am

Nice game!

angelk says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:40am

The music and atmosphere of the sfx are great, and I love the camera perspective. It's very interesting. The cuts to still images when something in the scene is being highlighted (the guy playing music, going to work, getting hit by a car, etc.) are very well placed. There is some really nice attention to detail too, like when the cars stop at the crosswalks.

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:45am

Very atmospheric! One time after work the game completely froze, but other than that everything worked fine.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:01am

Bad bug. How did this happen?

TeamFlare says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:07pm

The mood of the game is sooo great. Unfortunatly it seems to crash everytime I try to interact with something. But I was so hooked I tried it several times. I would love to know what happens in the end. Cool work!

seantheartist says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Interesting an beautiful environment (I like dark rainy city nights) But the game froze for me after the musician every time.

Rad Star says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:09pm

The game froze after "this music is stunning, why didn't I hear it before ?". Too bad, the game looked good and the mood was cool.

Jacksendary says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:12pm

Wow maybe one of the most beautiful games I've seen so far

thebmxeur says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:15pm

The game freezes after pressing space in the events ( guy playing music, big corp ).

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Thanks for the feedback, folks. Uchiro has fixed the cutscene freezing bug, do check back!

ISG says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Hello people! Thanks a lot for the feedback! Especially about soundtrack - I was thinking about it - till the end of our team's jam. Thank you all! I'm almost crying :)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Nicely made. One thing that bothered me through out the game is that some characters stopped animating their legs and the animation doesn't seem to take knee bending in account (which makes them look like they are skating on ice). Overal best points goto mood and innovation!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:28pm

@GiveMeAllYourCats they're too empty to be marching vigorously, y'know. Thanks for watching us ;)

TheOZone says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:09am

Like the hand-drawn textures, very relaxing music that fits the mood of the game

May 4, 2014 @ 8:54am

Love the music! :)

May 4, 2014 @ 9:05am

Thank you. It's nice to hear :)

elefantopia says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 4:17am

Really awesome graphics and rain sound effects; they work well together.

pjchardt says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 4:20am

Love the mood and atmosphere. I hope to play this some more as I am curious about a couple of things I encountered while wandering about. :)

loxo says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Interesting game concept with great audio and graphics.

May 17, 2014 @ 9:00am

This game is very polished and complete! One of the best games I played on this LD!

Very atmospheric, and I really liked the message of this game. =)

frogcheese says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Nice mood with good graphics and audio. I rarely went to work, preferring to go gallivanting about and looking at stuff. :)

uchiro says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 3:06am

Thank you guys :)

ISG says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 4:47am

audio 21st place, really?

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]