Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Must Thrive

by ErikU - Jam Entry

Hi, and thanks for looking at my entry! This is my second Ludum Dare.

My game is called Must Thrive - it's a 2.5D survival / evolution game where you play as a geometric creature that gains complexity by eating other complex objects. You can then level up and gain new abilities such as sonar and teleportation. But beware - there are creatures out there to eat you as well!

The game is fairly unfinished - it was meant to be played in three levels. Those levels can be visited, but only with some difficulty (by spamming teleport to traverse the land sections). If you press 0, you can get automatic levels for debugging or playing around.

I also apologize for the amount of empty space - it was meant to be filled more! I think I bit off a bit too much this time, hah.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#109Innovation(Jam)3.65
#209Graphics(Jam)3.80
#228Theme(Jam)3.45
#232Overall(Jam)3.42
#282Fun(Jam)3.15
#509Audio(Jam)2.68
#1669Coolness41%

Comments

Jeff0029 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:34am

Very nice concept! I was able to roam around but was not able to find that giant monster on your last image.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:26am

The upgrade choice is very slick. I love the world design, too. I like this a lot.

The sonar effect is neat, but it's range is too small to be useful. And of course, music would finish the ambiance.

mrbungle says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 1:38pm

This very cool - I like the graphic and the upgrade path is neat. Occasionally I struggled to read the words especially once I could see a wider area and I seemed to stop growing bigger once I had been eaten a bit by the small black evil thing.

Wertle says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 8:11pm

I had fun with this though at first the movement wasn't working for me so I had to refresh a few times. I love how you change over time as you evolve and the upgrades are pretty fun. I thought the sonar was a bit unusual because usually anything it could detect was already on screen anyway. Nice work, seems like this could definitely be expanded!

wschorn says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 10:19pm

very neat concept and visuals. lots of nice effects (like Sonar, wow!) I wanted more flow of 'what do i do now' though, and in that way it does feel unfinished.

wilbefast says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 10:28pm

Nice! I especially like the sonar, it's a really cool effect :) I'm surprised you polished so much considering you say the game is unfinished. I'd like to see more frankly, it's really nice - reminds me of Fl0w though not so much that it doesn't have it's own novelty. The only trouble is when you reach a certain size it become really hard to eat as your eat range doesn't expand with you :S

Crefossus says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 10:49pm

I like the color scheme and fonts. The rays shooting out to collect the fish felt nice. I can see where the camera work is going with giving leading space but because it controls where you're moving, it feels odd.

Audio is really high pitch, could use music.

Teejay5 says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:01pm

I like the upgrade system, this is a neat little game!

PixelFeet says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:07pm

This is a really cool game; it's very relaxing, too. I love the art style in particular.

drilltail says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:26pm

Cool concept. The idea of leveling up how far the camera sits is pretty sweet!

mark.goetz says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 12:01am

Love the upgrade system, and the graphics and AI seem pretty good too! I'll echo the complaint that once I upgraded my sight, the text was impossible to read, which I felt detracted from the experience, though. Nice job getting all this in!

Moosefly says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 12:36am

Not much of a game at the moment, but still an interesting experience. Those pitch black depths were kinda spooky too. Interesting control scheme, why not use a mousebutton or something instead of W?

Anssi@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]