Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Splash Europa

by pkenney - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Splash Europa is a challenging game about exploring the water beneath the surface of Jupiter's frozen moon, collecting alien life forms.

It's also about exploring the physics-based mechanics. The controls are simple and straightforward, but piloting your ship is quite difficult to master.


! ANDROID MOBILE VERSION ADDED !

As of 5/4 I've uploaded a compo-legal android port of the game, nothing's changed but the platform and controls/instructions.

I think it plays well on mobile, but I have not been able to test on anything but my own phone. To install I believe you have to turn on unknown sources in android settings (Settings -> More -> Security). I have put the .apk in a dropbox folder linked below. On my phone I just opened it in dropbox and installed by clicking on the apk, but you should be able to do it with another file manager as well.

Please let me know how it turns out if you try the mobile version.


! POST-COMP ANDROID VERSION ON PLAY STORE !

I have added a few features and stripped the game down to a simple, challenging core for an addictive little mobile experience. You can find it on the play store in the post-comp android link. This version is not eligible for voting, just for your enjoyment!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#64Fun3.83
#197Overall3.60
#235Theme3.63
#309Innovation3.43
#420Mood3.14
#551Graphics3.17
#563Humor2.43
#570Audio2.76

Comments

mclewis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Nice game! The graphics were really well done(except Jupiter) and the gameplay was fun and addicting.

hyr4 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Fun and kind of addictive game. Loved to play it! Well done :)

rylgh says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:14am

nice mechanics, simple and challenging, makes you want to try again after dying. (personally i could have done with neither the story nor the practice run)

ninjascript says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:45am

I like the simple controls. Combined with a nice sense of speed make a great experience.

Warboys says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:45am

Really freakin fun! Took a while to get the hang of the physics but it feels real good when you get the flow right. Love the 2 surfaces changing how the physics work, really genius use of the theme.

Very impressive, although it's soooo hard. It's like Flappy Bird but failing means you can't get to a new level!

ix says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:46am

This brings back good memories of Moon Patrol, for some reason. It's got a classic feel.

Warboys says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:46am

Really freakin fun! Took a while to get the hang of the physics but it feels real good when you get the flow right. Love the 2 surfaces changing how the physics work, really genius use of the theme.

Very impressive, although it's soooo hard. It's like Flappy Bird but failing means you can't get to a new level!

savethejets1 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:46am

The back and forth of the ship is a really interesting mechanic. I dig it.

Empyrealhell says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:53am

A little too hard for my tastes. It was too easy to get into an unrecoverable situation based on information you didn't have when you made the jump. That led to playing levels by rote, memorizing small bits at a time. The mechanic was fun though, but I couldn't make it past more than a few levels before getting annoyed with it.

Good take on the theme, tight controls, good graphics, overall it wasn't bad, it just had a steep learning curve.

lekochen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:14am

Wow it's really challenging. I reached Mission 9.

hampa says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:11am

Good one. The mechanic plays really well.

Intoxicatious says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Thanks for playing my Europa game. I love yours. I really wanted to add geysers that manipulated the ships up/down movement in my game, but your game does this with buoyancy and gravity. Great job, man.

Dominator_101 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Pretty nice overall!

I think one things I didn't like was the fact that the icebergs had giant pixels compared to everything else. It made them feel kinda weird.

Other than that, great game! It's actually pretty fun!

CaiusTSM says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Great graphics and gameplay!

jacklehamster says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Interesting gameplay, and pretty addictive game. I also like that it's not just an infinite runner, but it has some level progression to it.

BrothersT says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Quite a fun little game. the float in water fall in the air mechanic works quite well.

ElStevo says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Good game, I love the physics and the inertia on the ship, it made the game harder and funnier ! Good art style too.

GreatBigJerk says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Pressing space to continue didn't work for me :(

jujule says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Nice. I love the classic feel. Tight controls too. Good job.

danialhyatt says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Dude! Addictive, and could be greeeaat if fleshed out correctly :)

GreatBigJerk says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Thanks for playing my game! You were right, Chrome just doesn't play nice with the game. Firefox is fine.

The game was really good! I got stuck on level 3, but I sure did try!

My main suggestion would be to give the thrusters a little more power, there were times that I was mid air and couldn't move out of the way despite hammering on the thrust. Once you have momentum, you can't really do anything to stop it.

eckcz says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Best game eva :D i'm currently on Mission 23. And i will continue to playing.

eckcz says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:43pm

i quit on level 38. It's been a while really. I wrecked 94ships. And i want this game to be on my Android. Are you planning to do that?

pkenney says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:06pm

You got to Level 38 but only wrecked 94 ships?!? I'm impressed, you must have gotten good at controlling it.

Funny you ask about Android - I've been wanting to play it on the go, too, so I am planning to port it tonight. I will add the link here as soon as it's ready, check back soon! It's my first Android port though, so I'm not sure how smoothly it will go... Hopefully not too hard with Unity.

Very glad to hear you enjoyed it that much.

blahoink says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:32am

sweet game. controls were jenky at first but they are fun to master. this would be perfect for mobile!

pkenney says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:50am

Folks, the mobile version with touch controls is up and I think it feels good! Please test it and let me know if you have any trouble, and how it looks/feels on your device.

Hope you enjoy your Splash on the go.

Thanks!

eckcz says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:02am

AWW YEAH. it's sweet on android too. It can be laggy with some not-high-end devices. I have a galaxy s3 mini and its like barely playable. smth like 20fps maybe. but its playable.

Hippolyta says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:29pm

A nice game - remembered my on my Atari ST :-)
Very well done!

lorniebear says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:30pm

VERY FUN!!! I like it a lot, although it is a bit hard

May 4, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Very nice concept, i enjoyed it a lot !

mrhill says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Was thinking about the continent at first, now I get it

SnoringFrog says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Very nice! And I especially appreciate the notification that there would be no new content, as well as the sudden increase in difficulty at that point. Game looked great and was interesting to play. I was pretty terrible at collecting aliens though.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]