Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

pixel bat attack

by enderosc - 48 Hour Compo Entry

hi, I'm 9 this is my 2nd ludum dare.I built this using Scratch and i hope you like it.

This is a story about a pixel wizard who needs to find and kill 2 pixel bats to heal his son's sickness and so he ventures beneath the surface.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#115Humor3.41
#419Audio2.97
#558Fun3.00
#632Mood2.91
#690Innovation2.88
#826Graphics2.74
#837Overall2.89
#844Theme2.91
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

aldian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:08pm

For something so simple its very good. Especially for someone your age. Advice:

Try and make he gameplay a bit longer(Add more enemies and a few more levels or something.

8/10

eugman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:50am

Very challenging

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:54am

On the money ^ I might also add that the sound bit was a good choice for the mood. :)

mcapraro says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:10am

good job son, very proud that you finished this in the 48 hours!

SzRaPnEL says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:08am

Project designed and finished in 48h is impressive for a 9yo!
If you like doing that - keep doing it and progress :)

alvarop says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:08am

I really liked the style of your game. Good work with the story and the enemies. Keep it going, I think you'll get better and better!

kristof says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:29am

Cool little game. I would have liked to be able to reset the game when I lose. I had to reload the game a few times until I made it through. Keep up the good work!

eastes says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:32am

Sound effect of the bat was impressive.

Chinchilla says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:15am

Awesome work! I won!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:19am

good work ! (- : keep on it, i am really looking forward to your next game. You should blog about your experience , that way you have something to look back with a smile in a few years : D

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:29am

Nice work! Looks like you're on the path to making some great games.

MSaul says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:30am

I won 8), i love his sunglasses.

Gins says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:32am

It's really cool to see young people get into programming this early :D Good luck on your way!

hissssssssss says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:30am

Great job! Maybe I would suggest making kick a different key from K, since it's a little awkward to reach K from Space.

Keep on programming! You're learning something incredible at your age.

EpiphanyG says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:10pm

I find this game incredibly charming!

Jed T. says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:58am

I won, I killed the bats! woohoo! Victory!!!

local minimum says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:14am

Fantastic audio and really nice kicks. I totally failed though, but it was a nice flesh-pealing animation in doing that!

Great little scratch game. Either I never managed to kick the bats or there could have been a nice little ouch-thing on the bats when hitting them. Either as sound effect or as animation on the bat (just as with the player).

Fun to play a kicking wiz, they so often just stay in the background and wave their wands and never get into fights for real.

Geckoo1337 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:41am

Oscar, you are amazing. How a teen like you can do it in 48 hours? I am very happy because today I have seen the next generation in work. Well done boy ++

Sparrow says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:28pm

You are a Hero, become a coding legend! I wish my dad was as awesome as yours. :(

Larzan says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Well done, the controls were a bit difficult, but nice idea. Love the bat sounds, it really gives you a feeling of ultrasonic sounds :)

May 3, 2014 @ 7:45am

I won!

I want to commend you for being 9 and participating and finishing your game! That's amazing. Your game was well thought out, had a goal and obstacles. That's what any game fundamentally is, under the surface. Keep making games and always be improving. I know many videogame superstars today that started coding when they were 9 :)

rfgpfeiffer says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:23am

There is no source link, but at http://scratch.mit.edu/projects/20649427/#editor, you can look at the source, so this complies with the compo rules.

illugion says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 3:12am

Great job !! I wish i started making games when i was your age haha

Moosefly says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 12:34am

Hey, what do you know, it's actually a game with gameplay, graphics, sounds and everything you would expect! I would've loved to be able to cast fist in addition to kick though ;).

Keep up the good work!

Anssi@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]