Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

NOT THE ELEPHANT

by snapman_GT - 48 Hour Compo Entry

NOT THE ELEPHANT 1.0 by @Snapman_I_Am for Ludum Dare 29 (2014)

Michelangelo was once asked how he would sculpt an elephant.
He replied "I would take a large piece of stone and take away everything that was not the elephant."



Elephants modeled with ShapeShop (shapeshop3d.com)
Frente H1 font from 1001freefonts.com [Share Alike 3.0 Unported]
Skybox made with Spacescape (sourceforge.net/projects/spacescape)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#15Theme4.15
#16Humor4.08
#26Overall4.08
#37Fun3.95
#40Innovation4.09
#153Mood3.60
#198Graphics3.79
#206Audio3.37
#1409Coolness47%

Comments

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 11:42pm

I love this.

bushmango says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 11:55pm

for some reason the web version won't start for me, i tried clicking, hitting enter, mashing keys... im on windows in chrome

Jhelle says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Lovely polished elephant carving simulator. Good job :)

Dramentiaras says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:11pm

This is great! I really enjoyed it. The web version didn't work for me either, I'm on Windows with Chrome. The Windows version worked great though!

Doubstract says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Very interesting game. I feel like a sculptor :)

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:50pm

This is great.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:04pm

LOL I win an my elephant travels in space.
Nice concept with cool physics ++

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:23am

Was caught off guard by the ending. Good job.

jcvsmc says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:10pm

I love that quote, it's never even occurred to me it could be the set up for a game, awesome idea!
The ending is also completely bananas, good job xD

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:14pm

One of my fave Ludum Dare games so far (and I've played over 50). Really enjoyed the game mechanics, and the unexpected dialogue. Great fun. Could have been a bit longer though, but that's LD for you :D

Neonlare says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:22am

This is great. This is simply great. Amazing concept and hilarious when you screw up.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:23am

Very nice entry! Enjoyed it a lot, awesome concept, super original.

Great game!

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:23am

Really really good! One of my favs!

Mase says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:25am

Very amusing... nice progression and ending.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:26am

AHhaha amazing :P The ending is so funny haha great work !

Pitzik4 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:40am

This is a very fun little thing! It could have used a bit more challenge, though.

ElStevo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:27am

Good variation on the theme. I love this.

rylgh says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:22am

thoroughly enjoyed it. good choice on the sound effect.

runvs says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:39am

This is great. I got surprised by the ending. :)

Beavl says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Wow, amazing take on the entry. Love the Smash hit-like destruction (if just making a sculpture were like dropping balls!) and the game progression. Clever stuff. Cheers and congrats on this!

blahoink says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:36am

very funny and fun but simplistic

jsspiegel says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:25am

Fantastic game, and super funny!

May 2, 2014 @ 6:07am

I think this might be my favorite I've tried so far. Very satisfying and "your mom said she thought you did a good job" made me laugh out loud. Good ramp up of challenge and the game feels complete.

Fox_in_sox says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:50am

That's a really fun game you have there. Pretty polished too. I hope there will be more levels in the future, as it is really addicting to destroy stuff.:)
I am also very fond of the gui style.

eastes says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:42am

From one unity 3d brother to another from another mother, I rated this.

Oh, by the way. My uncle Charlie is an amazing whistler. You whistle better than him.

MintArcade says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:55am

Very deep and innovating use of theme. Enjoyed every moment of it.

May 2, 2014 @ 12:23pm

HAhaha... brilliant use of the theme!

zeal says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:13pm

It's fantastic. The idea, the execution and I also liked the whistling sound. Does anything happen after the "lift off"? I wasn't sure if I should wait or not. Great entry!

May 2, 2014 @ 1:38pm

Very fun to play but maybe a bit easy. I like it when you make the elephant wothout head as if you could decide and the unexpected end!

Nizar89 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:57pm

A bit too easy, but this was great!
I was a bit disappointed by the ending.

Mnemusyne says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Really funny game. Interesting interpretation.

May 2, 2014 @ 4:29pm

This is easily the most realistic elephant sculpting simulators around. This game made me laugh. Fantastic work!

May 2, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Super nice entry! Love the idea and execution. Not much to complain about really, this is easily one of my favorite entries.

May 2, 2014 @ 11:36pm

THAT ending.
GOTY 2014

Chris Mondok says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:22pm

What a neat idea! And the game has such charm.

Zerkruemler says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:20am

This is really cool. Such a great idea and very cool implementation. The sound effect are fitting very good. Also challenging, but doable with some patience.

ThingoStudios says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Unique interpretation of the theme. Sort of bizarre (to say the least)

May 5, 2014 @ 12:54am

Hahahahahah the ending
Awesome game!! I feel like I could play it forever
make it bigger!

mrexcessive says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Hi. Great toy! Love the Space finish.

GFM says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Erm.... What? '-' What happened by the end? @_@

This was awesome! =D
It's really fun. :)

mcapraro says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 5:33am

great job on a funny take on the theme! it was challenging and fun at the same time and i loved the snarky attitude

mortus says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:50am

Very nice and humorous game! I would like to see more levels. Also liked the interpretation of the theme.

goerp says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 10:41am

This is so good, it makes me jealous!
Funny, good looking, sounds good and best take on the theme I've seen (and I don't think I'll see a better take).

Maybe I'll take a peek at your code too.

May 9, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Got here from your post-mortem, I loved how quickly you got this brilliant idea :D Best use of the theme I've seen in this jam.

Also, a fantastic ending.

The menu music was awesome!

Tuism says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Awesome! Super original, great use of the theme, idea, fun, brough a smile to my face. So good! :D

snooze82 says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 3:35pm

great game! neat idea! :)

SK16Games says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Very original game :) I like the menu music, and the elephant sculptures :D Dat ending doe! xP

zkenshin says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 2:07am

Quite an interesting idea. Well done. :)

st33d says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 10:43am

Well worth the ending.

Simon says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 3:28pm

Ahah I had so much fun! :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]