Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Me & My Metal Detector

by WeaselZone - 48 Hour Compo Entry

(Webplayer ~3MB; Standalone ~11-14MB; Should run on a potato!)

The sun is shining and you are on the beach with your best friend, the metal detector, to hunt for treasures beneath the surface!

Try not to be caught by the super deadly whirlwind and try to find all the loot within the time limit. Finding a treasure will give you additional time. Make sure to listen to the beeps and check your Metal Detector!

Used tools:
- Adobe Audition
- Adobe Photoshop
- Unity 3D (with Playmaker & Pro Builder)

Used tools for sounds:
- Napkins
- Bottle of water
- Guitar

Thanks to everyone who joined me on the stream and kept me going! You guys are absolutely fantastic!

Looking forward to the next Ludum Dare!

Link to the source: http://bit.ly/1rvEaiS (ZIP)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#23Audio4.10
#24Humor4.00
#134Fun3.63
#157Overall3.67
#172Graphics3.84
#178Theme3.71
#208Mood3.48
#248Innovation3.52
#1314Coolness49%

Comments

JoeProgram says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:23am

Very cool! Congrats on your first game! I really liked the guitar strumming - along with the voice sound effects gave the game a very chill feeling. Best I've done is 7/15 treasures - would have loved an easier intro level.

atombrot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:48am

Nice idea. Had a good laugh because of the sound effects. I just managed to find 4 treasures after multiple tries ;) Either the "swuuush" tornado gets me or time runs up. It's a bit too hard for me ;)

Shire says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:50am

I loved the sound effects, they were hilarious. I'm so mad at that tornado following me everywhere.

Shivur says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:58am

Very funny sound effects!

zanenga says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:10am

Great sound effects and nice art (especially the water on the background). But I guess I'm a lame treasure hunter. Didn't find any :/

Gap says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:12am

Haha this is great! Good job!

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:53pm

I've always wanted a metal detector! Really nice concept and take on theme. I didn't get too far, that tornado moves a bit too fast to my taste. :) Loved the sound effects!

Spit Tex says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Fun game I really enjoyed it. Audio and visuals were fantastic

derLPMaxe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:43pm

This game is cool, you should keep up your work. :)
The sounds are pretty funny, the soundtrack is kind of cool. Well done!

sharpcoder says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Great game! Fun and addicting! :)

otato says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Adorable visuals/audio. They gave the game a really relaxed aesthetic.

bakpakin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:06pm

Your sound effects are hilarious.

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:14pm

The graphics are cool, I really like the comic-like style! The best are the detector and the waves.
I really like the guitar playing. The other sounds are not perfect but fit the mood of the game quite well.
I was motivated to play the game a few times until I got 4 treasures, but not to find all of them. Maybe some encouraging message instead of "Oh noes"?
The take on the theme is rather obvious.

All in all a funny game with a light mood, which could need some polish in terms of gameplay.

Linkigi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:21pm

Very charming. I love your use of audio and the art style was awesome. The footprints and tornado add a lot to the game. I'm really looking forward to seeing what you produce next time.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:52pm

This is an awesome concept! Really like the sound effects too! Apart from maybe the "oh no" - graphics are pretty adorable too, particularly the sea :D

ruerob says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:45pm

The sounds are epic!!! Very nice game.

thinkster says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Awww I loved this... The mood is nice and light and fun. Sounds effects were class! The tornado kept getting me though, when I just wanted to dig!

May 4, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Neat idea!

At first I thought the radio would give out a signal too, but then I saw there was money underneath ;P

May 11, 2014 @ 8:31pm

I could not get a treasure! But I loved the look of it. I included it in part 24 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/a1xd0I3_xtY

Rock48 says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 11:10pm

I kept walking towards the tornado.

It was so friendly :)

zebi24 says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 8:57am

It's a really cool game, very well made! I also like the music a lot, sound effects a bit less... Really enjoyed the game!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]