Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

TheCube

by MaesK - 48 Hour Compo Entry

There goes my first Ludum Dare game, it has been created with Unity, a little bit of BFXR, and some Bosca Coeil.

Control buttons:

SPACE - Talk
Z - Jump from water
X - Shoot
R - Reload scene (in case you die, bugs, etc)
Left & Right - Moves the boat

Enjoy! And be careful with the sea!

Protip: If Web version ignores input, change browser tab and return. It might help.

Thanks to TenByTwenty for Munro font, and everyone who has the courage to play!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#185Humor3.18
#540Fun3.03
#665Mood2.88
#669Audio2.55
#717Overall3.00
#734Innovation2.82
#817Graphics2.76
#1009Theme2.58

Comments

Jhelle says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:05pm

Great job on your first LD game. Love your wacky sea adventure :)

MaesK says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Thanks! I hope you liked it as much as I enjoyed (and laughed) creating it.

Lizzip says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Haha interesting indeed. That's some very pretty water too

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Hahaha, funny game! :)

thinkster says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:24pm

i thought it was fun. a little hard to begin with would have liked to have been able to shoot and destroy the yellow pellets. but good game!

MaesK says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Oh, thinkster, at first, the yellow pellets clashed with your cannon balls. But then the game was too easy, and spamming bullets guaranteed victory... I'm afraid I had to change it!

Thanks everyone for your comments!

blockbot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Totally strange, in a good way.

jomacel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Good game, I liked the 3D perspective, music and graphics are good too. Maybe you could improve it by adding some animations to the 2D sprites. Good job!

geounknown says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Interresting...really

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Hey congrats on your first LD! The controls feel good and the audio is nice (for once a game that use sound effects that don't hurt your ears)

Good job

orangepascal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:50pm

the water alone was worth it :) that's an awesome depth effect!

MaesK says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Thanks for commenting!

@jomacel, I really wish I had more time to include animations, because I wanted enemies and the player to express fury, pain or surprise, depending on the surroundings. I missed them a lot. But you know, life gets in the way, and somehow due time arrives unexpectedly!

@PapyGaragos Thanks, I tried to create nice sounds, but I couldnt use more time with the music. Bosca coeil needs some learning before creating gold with it.

You know, getting continuous and nice explosions everywhere costs time, but they are worth it :D

HybridMind says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:00am

I love how the boat can jump and also how it can go under the water and spring back up. I also love how none of the fish are actually under the water. Seems they stopped spawning pretty soon though and I was just left to cruise around an empty ocean.

DavidErosa says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:16pm

Nice little game. I liked how the boat reacted to firing bullets by going back (recoil).

0Creds says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Interesting game, I like the art and sound, along with the premise, but the game is a tad too difficult. Good Job.

ninjascript says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:39pm

I like the trampoline style jumping and the water looks really good. Extremely hard game!

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:10am

Congrats on your first LD game! I couldn't for the life of me get past the really big red bird thing but it was pretty fun! Not sure if it was a glitch, but it was really fun getting launched up by the spinning green fish towards the beginning haha. Keep it up!

BrothersT says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Nice and sweet, lots of fun. Some more sprites for health states (on the boat and enemies too) might help, and the jumping felt a little loose.

Kevlanche says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Everyone seems to think it's hard, but I beat it on the first try. My secret; I cheated! I jumped over two of the bosses. The spinning fish gave be quite the boost which made me fly for a while.

Funny ending, as the spinning fish came just as the text said it might come :D. Good first entry.

soy_yuma says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:44pm

Congratulations on your first LD game! I found that the big fish is quite difficult to destroy because of the invincible yellow pellets.

Adrian says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Weird and cool ! Reminded me of ridiculous fishing :)
Cool sound fx and a music that makes you want to kill yourself after a few seconds rather that killing whales haha.
Good job for a LD, keep going :)

Benjamin says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 2:39am

well epic battle despite the basic control layout. I was stuck far east by a monster throwing HUGE bullets at me

MaesK says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 7:45pm

"Everyone seems to think it's hard, but I beat it on the first try. My secret; I cheated! I jumped over two of the bosses."

Someone give this man a medal! :D

I'm sorry guys, when you create a game, and you test it so much, it is easy to get used to it and underestimate difficulty.

I admit jumping over enemies too, to avoid losing more time dodging bullets and retreating now and then. But I got used to it, the angles, the jumping heights (try to jump twice under the water) and ended the game multiple times, thinking it was hard but accurate.

@Adrian Ridiculous fishing? Naming a Vlambeer game as comparison is an honor! Thanks! (Although I still have to play it... :P )

@BrothersT With a little more time, health bars would be present. I need to learn how to implement them best and fast, I'll definitely make it next time!

@HybridMind I know, I faced two options, randomly spawn enemies of different sizes and types, or try to set an increasing difficulty with less design time. I took the second, but bigger explosions come with a price in difficulty :D

@DavidErosa As you know, magic's on the details, as in Vlambeer's talk "The art of screenshake". I started with shooting and explosions, then I ran out of time for animations :( See you at Betabeers!

Thanks everyone!

romandtom says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:10pm

It is a fun and cool game :)
but I felt like it lack of
a goal. You just shoot monsters and then new one comes :S
I didn't have scores or something...

JoshOS says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Nice and hard game.

I think a shadow for the ship would have been really good because sometimes I jumped so hight I didn't know where I was.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]