Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath The Surface: A detective story of video game conspiracies.

by taocayo - Jam Entry

Hi there!

This is our second LD. We had so much fun on our first, that we just had to come back!

The theme was hard on us, truth be told, but we managed to have fun with it. We tried to do something very different to what we have done before, and it shows in the super-late submission. We almost did not make it! It is still very rough, so excuse the dust.

There were so many levels we had planned but could not make it due to time constraints. This is the first time we work on a story-based game, and it is the first time we make pixel art (or something that resembles it!).

Tools: Unity, Photoshop and Illustrator

How to play: Mouse to select questions during interrogations and arrow keys to move around.

Team: CAVILA (@aviladotandres)
JSAAD (@mandelcat)

All art, code and writing by us. The epic DF Bronzemurder story we included in the game is not ours, but found on one of the many awesome illustrations by Tim Denee.

Hope you like the game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#68Humor(Jam)3.61
#198Innovation(Jam)3.38
#309Theme(Jam)3.28
#332Mood(Jam)3.12
#352Graphics(Jam)3.44
#441Fun(Jam)2.88
#446Overall(Jam)3.09
#672Audio(Jam)1.47

Comments

danbo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:03am

I couldn't get past the third case. Nice concept though.

Pitzik4 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:04am

This looks very interesting, if you make a Linux build I'll definitely try it. Unfortunately, the Unity Web Player doesn't work on Linux.

Shigor says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:06am

Suggestion: when you're using slowly typed texts in dialogues, use first click to show the entire text for us speed readers, don't skip it completely.

taocayo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:09am

Thanks Shigor for the suggestion and sorry about that! We did find a way of doing it, but we ran out of time. We will keep it in mind for the future.

xensky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:13am

what the heck. the kittens did it. *grumbles*

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:53am

Very cute newspaper and nice pixelart. The cases were kinda easy but liked the theme and all.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Crimes investigator in the world of games. A new idea

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:02pm

I like the idea of investigating to get 'beneath the surface' and the look of the game is good.

taocayo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:27am

@xensky I know right?! You can tell that cats have a plan for silent domination in Dwarf Fortress. 1. Grow your numbers. 2. Make dwarfs grow attached. 3. Catsplosion.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:23am

Hahaha nice game ! The graphics are perfect, very cool atmosphere. I wont spoil anything just in case, but wow that was nice, especially since I'm a big fan of all those games. Great work ! The ending was very well done ;)

jacklehamster says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:57pm

I like the homage to the various games. (mario, digger, zelda...)

Penguincat says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:11am

I really liked the concept, and the graphics were well done too. It could have used some sound/music though. The only real problem I have with it is that it's very short on gameplay; it mostly consists of reading some dialogue, not really getting to make any choices in that dialogue, and then the single mechanic is to pick a suspect, which is all too easy. But besides that, I enjoyed it, good work!

taocayo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:18am

@Penguincat @jacklehamster Yeah, we had initially planned to make like 8 levels, including Castlevania, Mega Man and others and wanted to have much more complex dialog and 'investigation' mechanics. But we fell for the trap of doing things we've never done before (dialogue system for one) and time went by really fast.

Thanks for playing and commenting!

lowcade says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:42pm

Funny
But would be better indicate how the gameplay inside the game.
And some songs.. maybe a little more difficult...
I like the character and the news :)

taocayo says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:44pm

@lowcade

Definitively would have liked to put some music and sounds when the character walks. Specially on the Dig Dug level! (: Thanks for the comment.

GrooveMan says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:58am

Meta ideas like this are a bit love-hate. While I enjoy the idea of meta detectives in video games (After all, the Thursday Next novels are meta detectives in written works, and that's cool), the knock-off versions of existing franchises felt... cheap. Meta humour about classic games is well-trodden territory, y'know?

xdegtyarev says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:26am

Comgrats! Humor, art and story all are perfectly done, could be even better with music to achieve noir movies atmosphere.

taocayo says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 7:07am

@GrooveMan I agree that it has become a cliche of sorts but we wanted to indulge a bit on this submission and laugh at the nonsense that permeated the classics. Good point though.

@xdegtyarev thanks! I was precisely looking for noir soundtracks that fit the theme. Then bugs came out of their dark holes and ate all the time we had :)

cageinabird says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 3:44pm

I enjoyed the presentation and humour, particularly in the Dwarf Fortress one.

On the one hand, the game is a little easy, but if it was hard it might be tedious to restart because of all the dialogue to click through. I think the idea is appealing though, and it could work if you can solve those issues.

Agreon says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 3:54pm

A very nice idea! I loved it :)

taocayo says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 7:42am

Thanks so much to everyone who voted. We had a lot of fun this time and we got our first award too! We'll be sure to come back. Thanks!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]