Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Neath: Surf Ace

by ViKing Games - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Now even you can be Neath: the Surf Ace! Dodge sharks, aliens, and fellow surfers as you attempt to beat high scores and stay totally radical!

(Neath: Surf Ace runs from an exe file. If you're using Mac or Linux, try running the game with Wine.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#97Humor3.50
#251Graphics3.67
#572Audio2.75
#693Overall3.05
#700Theme3.10
#780Fun2.76
#789Mood2.73
#1058Innovation2.35
#1746Coolness37%

Comments

Idkfawin32 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:47am

I was eagerly awaiting this due to the hilarious title. Good job. I especially appreciate the opening splash title resembling something gameboyish.

goerp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:46am

Ooh, that's a nice color scheme!
We had the same idea (five star for theme!:)), but you have done more on gameplay.
It looks nice and plays well.

The music instruments sound a bit like those of autotracker. Is it that? If so, I also commend you for using the non-standard settings!

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:21am

Five stars for gameboy art style!

goerp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:27pm

oh, and great lettering too!

Dominator_101 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:22pm

I like the Game Boy art style.

It seems that you can sometimes double-jump off what I think is the containing wall (to keep you from moving too far forward). Not a big deal, but thought I'd let you know.

Bonus points for having a Less Milk setting :P

ViKing Games says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:33pm

@goerp The music file is a .midi, so the music instruments are slightly different on each computer. As far as I know, they could be the same instruments that are in autotracker.

alvarop says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:25pm

nice game. I like the options... heh.

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Really liked it. Nice gameboy style graphics. And some nice gameplay too. Maybe someday I'll get some ridiculous score to fill up all those zeroes... :(

bentog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Nice little game, very cool style. The UFO was very unexpected!

valid4life says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:01am

That art was gorgeous!

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:52am

Great art, otherwise too hard to play, have no idea how to avoid obstacles and the right key didn't make me go forward at all and seemed useless. Otherwise i'd like to see more games with this art style.

rnlf says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:41am

Nice idea. Looked great too. Just the wave might need a few more details. All in all cool entry :-)

ViKing Games says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:15pm

@tomvert When you start up the game you're right up against an invisible wall, so you have to move left before you can move right. Next time, I'll pay more attention to character placement.

May 3, 2014 @ 12:17pm

Nice colour palette and art style. Found it hard though, sometimes I did really well and sometimes I died straight away and wasn't sure why.

Snoother says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:30pm

That art had a wonderful gameboy-esque charm. Not so sure about the music, but I think it may have been that it wasn't intended for my midi sounds. Gameplay-wise it was fun and challenging, but more could have been done with the wave to develop more than a mere jump mechanic.

May 15, 2014 @ 7:15pm

I was confused by the "Day One" and "Day two" names, at first I thought that day 2 was maybe a post-compo version, but I guess they're from Saturday and Sunday of the jam?

Very nice graphics, and an awesome interpretation of the theme. The game itself was uninteresting though, and the music seemed a bit messy? Having music at all is a nice feat in LD however.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]