Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sopora

by Crabman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I thought I'd make something a little less depressing this time. Also, this is based on real advise, so if you ever find yourself in a situation like this, you'll know what to do!

Note: May contain procedural shenanigans.

KNOWN ISSUES:
* There's some weirdness happening with the sound in Firefox. Sometimes it glitches when they're played for the first time. No idea why. Chrome works smoothly though, so when in doubt, go with that.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#17Theme4.14
#26Mood4.14
#132Audio3.55
#135Overall3.72
#204Innovation3.60
#261Fun3.40
#629Humor2.33
#1117Graphics2.23

Comments

trueyomic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:07am

Pretty interesting game. I was able to get out of the flimsy box, but no idea how to get out of the metal one.

icereci says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:47am

I like this one.

b222ster says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:52am

I really enjoyed this!

dusho says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:52am

Interesting. Nice music.
Not sure about flashlight 'sucking' the 'bar' (avoiding spoilers), lighter OK, but flashlight didn't make sense to me.
Also couldn't get out of metal one, only the wooden one.

Crabman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Oh oops, the flashlight thing was a copy/paste bug. Fixed!

flrn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:29pm

man this got my heart pumping, I really liked this!

hexagore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:29pm

I managed to escape from a metal box. Genuinely nervewracking. Very nice!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:55pm

This was really great!
Once I understood what was going on, I was hooked.
Great work.

nonentheless says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:56pm

Great Mood and sounds!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:01pm

How refreshing to see/read/play something different! Really atmospheric without any real visuals. Simple and very effective. I felt my real self start to panic at points....

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Interesting, I like the timer idea. :)

headchant says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Very good game! I couldn't stop playing until I made it.

Snoother says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Really tense; the minimalism was frightening. A fantastic game.

SunShiranui says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Very nice game.

jotson says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Excellent! Made me feel claustrophobic.

TowelKing says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:37pm

I didn't make it out, perhaps i shouldn't have panicked so much, even thought, at the time it seemed like a good move.

Akihidas says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Loved every second of it, really tense and I loved how the music built up tension as you ran out of air. Played through a few times and the different scenarios were interesting, well done!

VictorDoval says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Thanks for the advise! :D

Cosine says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Really interesting game. I feel like the panic option was just a no-brainer, don't do. Perhaps if it were automatic when you repeated an option a lot, or it had some upside.

terraco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:30am

Yes! Box related gameplay!

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=36973

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:46am

Nice job! I really like how everything is generated. I did manage to escape. Great music as well! Truly scarey!

Crabman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:33pm

@Cosine: The panic has a small advantage when you're running out of air and pushing through the soil becomes too hard. Then panicking can make you stronger so you can get out, but it's a very narrow window where it's useful, so yeah, mostly just don't do it. ;)

TheExGenesis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Nice job creating the tension, but I feel the game is jsut too easy and obvious. Some depth extra would help it a lot.

JimmyBoh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:52pm

How dare you metal box!!!

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:58pm

It's a really cool concept perfectly executed, it just needs to be a bit harder, as long as you don't panic is pretty easy.

Almax27 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Fantastic mood and awesome too see a text adventure game :D

anbreizh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Very creepy, very interesting use of the theme. However I think some scenarios are unbeatable, nothing in pocket inside a metal coffin.... gasp

runvs says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Whoaw, what a great experience! The Music is really creepy and the mood conveyed by it and just the text (which is absolutely not annoying to read) is really depressing.
Well performed!

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:59pm

This managed to get me really engaged in the story, and made me feel like I was truly struggling to kick the box open, really nice job! :)

Crabman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:36pm

@anbreizh: If you're really, REALLY lucky, you can actually kick your way out of the metal box. They're able to take a lot of damage, but the lowest possible values should be beatable in the time you have. ;)

Ithildin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Brilliant!

mcapraro says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:29am

very interesting and kinda creepy. well done! :)

ehtd says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:47am

Good! is very different from the rest of the games, I liked it.

Kalabasa says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:14pm

I like this game. I really don't like text games much, but this is great! I kept playing until it got repetitive.

b_bertoldo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Great job man!!! Awesome work!!!

Solifuge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

Quick note--it says that the flashlight bug is fixed, but I'm still having trouble with it in the web version.

This was interesting! I managed to escape up until the flimsy wooden box, when I ended up getting a bit too excited about playing with all my toys, stabbed myself in the neck with a pen, and died.

I think it was a bit too easy to figure out what to do most of the time--after a bit there was kind of a rhythm to finding the right object. However, the first couple of playthroughs were very moody and tense, thanks in particular to the excellently chosen backing audio.

I kind of liked that attempting to calm down had no effect. I was hoping it would do something to calm *my* nerves, but instead--nothing, LOL.

Crabman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:38pm

A

Crabman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Oops. That was supposed to say "Argh, forgot the case when you bang the flashlight against the lid first." Anyway, thanks, NOW it's fixed (I hope.)

And I guess it getting easier to figure out how to escape means you learned what to do and are now well-prepared for when they accidentally bury you alive! You're welcome. :D Oh, and calming down has a small effect even when you didn't panic first, it slows the timer to 90%, but not more. ;)

7heSAMA says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:39am

Nice. Really intense music.
Some variation in the opening lines, before you have any choices, would be nice.
It also seems way too easy, especially if you get a phone (which I usually do).

Empyrealhell says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:42am

It was good, but there were a few problems that held it back. Namely, the fact that often times there is no possibility of escape based on the spawn criteria, and other times you have items that make things so easy that it's not interesting. Very interesting, and a refreshing take on the theme, and the audio was awesome the first few times, it just didn't hold up past a couple minutes.

flavio says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Great use of the player's imagination ! Very simple and efficient "visuals". I would love to play an improved version of that game with maybe a little bit more time and some sound design.

Crowbeak says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:12am

Less depressing, but still dark. *rimshot*

I like how the audio ramps up as time goes on.

May 4, 2014 @ 11:40pm

F#&k man! This is awesome. Really.

Agecaf says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:22am

Nice game! The change of scenario made me unable to "cheat" on the second go, giving it a certain replayability.

May 8, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Very cool game, pretty much what I wanted to make, but it succeeds where I failed. Great stuff! :)

May 18, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Great idea for this theme !

iambored2006 says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 4:56am

Hey! I mentioned your game in this post- http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/05/18/10-games-that-resonated-with-me/ , along with some feedback. I'd love to hear what you have to say!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]