Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Let's go to the Mole !

by kikaz - Jam Entry

For my first LD contest, we would like to present you a card game between moles !

The story is in the game, so, I don't want to spoil you ^^

Everything is playable with the mouse, except controlling sound, use keys : - or +.
(if music don't work, I'm new in this kind of integration, you can play it manually, it is in lib subdirectory)

You need to install the last JRE (Java Runtime Environment, http://java.com) to work properly, unzip and double-click on the LGTTM.jar

Rules :

3 types of card :
- green : movement
- blue : stuff
- red : trap

red cards give at your opponent a malus and the others, some bonus.

numbers on the cards : x/y
x : bonus/malus
y : number of turns of effect

Go to the top and win !

The game are not very balanced, time miss me ! But we worked on it !

Special thanks to :
- my wife : Sabi, for ideas, advises, motivation, ...
- my friends :
EvilPNMI (graphic artist), just subscribe to his Facebook page now ! (https://www.facebook.com/Evilpnmi)
ManZ (music artist), just subscribe to his Facebook page now ! (https://www.facebook.com/man.fischer)
Sepeii (brain), just impossible to subscribe to his FB page, he doesn't have any account !

more informations on our site : http://kikaz.hol.es

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#69Audio(Jam)3.86
#86Graphics(Jam)4.23
#179Theme(Jam)3.54
#181Innovation(Jam)3.42
#210Humor(Jam)3.00
#272Mood(Jam)3.26
#310Overall(Jam)3.31
#530Fun(Jam)2.69
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

edibletoaster says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:47am

Interesting concept. Couldn't click the rightmost card, and after a while couldn't select any cards. But I like the concept

kikaz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:05pm

The rightmost card is not a card, it's the common deck, I should make it thicker... And there is a bug, it's when the deck is empty (85 cards -> 17 turns), I'll fix it soon. Thx !

uprightpath says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:21am

I played it but I didn't quite understand what was going on!

As in I didn't get what the bonus/malus was. Was it towards the opponent? And if the number of turns was a negative what did that mean?

uprightpath says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:24am

Secondary comment: I think that the executable's glitched. When I closed it the sound continued to run and the JVM that it was running in continued!

kikaz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:53am

You're totally right ! It's not very easy to understand.
I would like to make it more intuitive but time missed me...
So, when you get a trap card (red card), it gives a malus (negative value) to the opponent, for the other cards, it gives you a bonus (positive value).
These values are added to give a number. This number is added to you're actual depth. Starting depth is -100 (100 feet under), goal is 0. It's why you go up or down after a turn, when the number is positive or negative.
For the music, you're right too, it's a little buggy. It's the last time I use JMF for sound ! Impossible to stop its Player !!
Sorry for convenience and thank you for comments.

Dreii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:58am

Great graphics and amazing music! liked the card game idea but I couldnt finish the game :( also the music keeps playing after the games closed?

SoupWithBits says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Looked and felt awesome!
As for the gameplay, all I seemed to do was click on random cards without really knowing what was going on, and was not sure of the scoring either

wicht says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Nice game. The thing i don't like is that it's only based on luck. You don't have any choices to make that influence the outcome of the game (also the order of cards if you get two doesn't seem to have any influence, at least none i've seen). Solid result. Thanks!

kikaz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:18pm

You're right, we were sure of the rules only the monday afternoon, and that is why the interest is limited but I've got some ideas to add to make it less aleatory...

Ithildin says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:43pm

I had some problems clicking to select the cards (and understanding what they did, but that was only at first), but then it doesn't take long to trap you, and then it becomes a very fun game. The level of polish is top notch, too.

Great job!

soy_yuma says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:51pm

Oh! I enjoyed it! Although I didn't like that there's nothing you can do to get better cards. The opponent got me rotors in a turn and left me behind by half way. All that is compensated by my eternal love for card games! Congrats!

May 1, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Very nice graphics and animations, although the GUI didn't respond to all clicks. Also the rules of the game were very unclear and seems to be based on luck only. But I appreciate the level of ambition.

hbocao says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:10am

It was a interesting experience. I had no clue what I was doing but at the same time I was enjoying. You guys really should take your time now to fix somethings and release as full game. Keep rocking!

kikaz says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:04am

Thank you guys for advises and comments !

Zyrconium says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Not the most responsive to clicks. Good art though.

kikaz says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Weird, I should check that for the future

VictoryGarden says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Neato game, with nice graphics (especially the backs of those cards! Hot damn) and a novel interpretation of the theme. I like the feeling of the world you've developed--sort of Pokemon or Yu-Gi-Oh-ish, where complex problems can be resolved by a card game. And man, the ending was kind of scary! I was worried I was going to be wiped out by something horrible.

There's a couple of things that you might like to change in the future. First of all, having me choose 3/5 cards and keeping no duplicates at random got really frustrating quickly, because it seemed like I was playing a role that the computer should have been taking care of. Mathematically, what I was doing was pretty much equivalent to drawing three cards and then discarding the next two in the deck--it makes much better sense to draw three cards and then discard down to a unique hand.

Then, being unable to see the opponents' cards meant that the portion of the game when I was choosing which card would be played first was yet another randomization exercise. I didn't really have much in the way of agency as a player, especially because I never understood what the blue cards really did. I got some kind of bonus reflected on the RHS of the screen, but I couldn't see what impact that had, or lacked, on the game at all.

Finally, I really liked your gauge on the LHS of the screen to show how close my opponent and I had gotten to the top, but it seemed like there needed to be some way to distinguish the two bars--I couldn't tell which indicator was mine for quite a while, and hence how well I was doing.

It's an ambitious idea, and the only TCG I've played so far this Dare. You've done a pretty good job in general with the user interface, and it plays smoothly--with an opening vignette that got me fired up to see the game through to the end.

Thanks for the game!

kikaz says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Thanks to you VictoryGarden, I would hope to have much time adding few rules to equilibrate the game and make it less based on luck, sorry for that. My team and me will work on that to show you something more interesting. But I enjoyed developping it, first time for that kind of game for me.

kirbytails7 says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:40am

Fun but a bit hard to understand at first for how simple the rules are. Also, the collision on the cards is very bad, considering that they're just rectangles. Nice style, though!

Ace says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 10:58pm

A bit hard to understand what the cards actually do, and it seemed to have a hard time registering clicks on the cards. So that got a bit frustrating after a while.

But a really nice game though.

vigrid says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 1:06am

Well polished game. I couldn't really understand the mechanics at first - it could use a simple explanation or a tutorial at the start.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]