Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Minecart Tycoon

by NikinCZ - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a son of a bussinessman. While your father is on vacation, you have to run his new mine.

Controls: Left Mouse Button and Right Mouse Button

Press Left Mouse Button on rails to send minecart to wished mine and Right Mouse Button to get it back.

Sell by $ icon, if you hold right mouse button it will sell faster.

Buy minecarts and speed upgrades.

Earn $500.000 to buy New Technology!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#588Theme3.23
#691Fun2.87
#702Overall3.04
#782Humor2.13
#823Innovation2.70
#990Mood2.47
#1048Graphics2.39
#1746Coolness37%

Comments

Infraviolet says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:29pm

enjoyed concept but clearer tutorial would be appreciated

aldian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:32pm

A fun little game.
Tips:
Leave us some instructions! i was trying to figure out for the first 10 minutes on what i had to do.

Clearly indicate which way the cart will go if i place it at a certain area.

I really liked the whole "click as fast as you can" to sell your stuff when its at its highest price. However it got annoying later in the game when i had vast amounts of tin and copper.

7 / 10

Wukkopi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:51pm

I really liked this game. I had little difficulties in understanding the mechanics first, after trying and clicking I got it.

Neonian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Instructions would be nice, but still pretty good.

NikinCZ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Sorry for lack of instructions, I have added them here.

igwb says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:30pm

I like the idea, but I am a little confused by the fact that you don't have to get the cart's back from the mine in order to sell what they "harvested". Also I don't understand what the lightning(?)-symbol next to the sell icon does.

Tipyx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:39pm

A little bit to understand at the beginning but it's a good Tycoon :). During I type this, I continue to play : I want the Technology ! Nice work :)

Jacksendary says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Really hard to get into and very confusing at first but it's okay after a while, even pretty easy, but I'd like to see a more varied gameplay as the game pretty much is in the background atm farming gold

skymen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Concept is good, but the game is not that fun. It becomes boring after some game minutes.

Nichii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:06pm

This is almost similar to stock market simulator to me.

yokcos700 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:45pm

I am ashamed to admit how long I played this. I like large numbers. I fear I would have played it longer, were it infinite in length.
That said, the game is pretty basic and doesn't look to great.

Cirrial says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Selling things gets a little tedious. Maybe a "sell all" button would have been nice. Took a bit to figure out what to do but it fell into place when I did. There doesn't seem to be any reason not to mine gold and only gold.
Oh - found out the sell all feature is holding down right click. Not the most obvious thing in the world!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]