Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

by Pietro Ferrantelli - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first finished Game ! (first original sountrack too!)

Feed the Sandworm by helping him to eat humans, other earthworms or cristals and avoid the land mines.

Controls: -> The Sandworm follow the cursor
Level 1 (score=0)
Level 2 (score=10)-> Left click to make a dash for somewhere and to eat small earthworms easier
Level 3 (score=30)-> Left click to make a dash for somewhere and break the stone
Level 4 (score=60)-> You break the stone
Level 5 (score=120)

There is a little surprise if you jump very high when you are level 3 or more ;)

(I created each asset except the "wilhelm scream" and the "like a boss" sound)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#133Theme3.80
#138Fun3.62
#207Humor3.10
#270Overall3.48
#420Graphics3.37
#431Mood3.13
#454Audio2.92
#660Innovation2.91

Comments

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:24am

Nice game! The mechanics are awesome, and the controls feel very good! Great work!

MarsBar says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Well done :) Your entry is similar to what we tried to achieve for our 72 hour entry.. didn't think anyone would have the same sort of idea... guess great minds think alike ;)

Here's a link to my entry
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=21512

Luis Anton says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:10pm

I wonder what would Paul Atreides feel playing this one : ) I like the game, but the camera makes me a bit sick! Well done. For the game, not the camera XD

Havacore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Really cool mechanic! Really tough though, those pink guys are way to hard to catch!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:14pm

wow, really enjoyed it. but at lvl 3 it gets really hard to play on a touchpad :) - I need to revisit with a mouse!

MintArcade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Very good. I like it. Mechanics are very interesting.

tehryanx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:17pm

lol this was fun. The screaming made it hilarious. good work!

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Cool game, reminds me of DeathWorm. :) (and you used the Wihlem!)

pawegio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Cool game and nice graphics!

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Normally these kinds of games are played with a keyboard, so I enjoyed playing one with a mouse for a change. Being able to pan ahead makes it handy to see where the crystals are. And jumping out to get the people is always fun!

rosa89n20 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:41pm

pretty cool game, and it has Journey guy in the game! lol

Maek says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:45pm

I like this simple funny game! Great work! :D

Ditto says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:48pm

very good mechanically and visually! I couldn't even pass level2 though, this game is very hard ^^

UnixXNova says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Nice, can't catch the pink worms like the concept

adamwoolridge says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Fun game to play!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:01pm

That is one great game you made here! And I guess I made me watch Dune tonight!

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:03pm

Good job with the controls, it feels great despite the camera responding a little to quickly and making it hard to aim

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Nice, reminds me of Dune.

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Fun and addicting

sprawl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Reach level 4. Really nice game. It really reminds me from a flash game with a really really similar concept.(especially the art).

I feel bad for eating a journey guy :(
Good job !

TheRare says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:09pm

I loved this. The controls felt responsive, although a little flickery at times. Good job!

John Drury says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:31pm

I liked the graphics and the gameplay. Camera controlling was a little annoying though.

Covenant says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Very nice, gameplay was sweet, although a bit hard... music is good (speeding up was a nice touch), the only complaint I have is the red texto in the beginning, it hurt my eyes! :)

neekobus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Good one !
But the camera... too fast !

orangepascal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Nice rendition of Deathworm :) plays very nice

Kimau says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:17pm

LOVE IT! Really awesome Dune Inspired game. The levelling up felt sooo good!

pancakecity says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Dat Wilhelm scream!!! Great music, this is a fun concept!

colludium says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:39pm

I enjoyed that a lot - especially the screaming! Good job!

CustomPhase says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Pretty cool little game! And neat graphics - i loved background mountains, but GUI is bad, why whould you use so many different bright colors.

dector says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Good action game. It's fun to run to eat smaller worms.

Druid says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Funny game :D Did you try press and hold left or right arrow? :D IMPOSSIBIRU SPEEDO :D Yea and screen "shake" too much for me :/

MrShortee says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Bonus point for the Wilhelm scream ;)

TowelKing says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Fantastic progression idea with the small worms, I really enjoyed the whole experience.

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Very entertaining

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Played this a couple of times, fun! Also, I have developed an intense dislike for tiny worms that turn on a dime. @_@

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Nice game, I love the concept the execution is spot on. I found the sensitivity of the camera a bit too high, but other than that I had a great time. Wilhelm scream was icing on the cake.

friken says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Very nice, i always wanted to be a worm in Dune. Love the screaming. Agree with others about the camera, kind of hard to take after a while, but overall fantastic job.

mollymus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:40pm

Good job, I like getting to play the monster and eat humans!:D Refreshing change from all the 'you're a fish' or 'there's a monster below' games Ive seen so far!:p

Jerick says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:51am

I really like the camera movement, it makes it feel super frantic.

cavf88 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:20am

Fun game! The controls are smooth and the sound fx are really good! Great job!

Thorig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:53am

Finally I can play as a worm instead of hunting one. Love this kind of games. We need more worms!

martinysa0311 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:21am

awesome. good job

capnramses says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:17pm

awesome! i think i ate the baron harkonen. really like the theme of the game. ++

Roman Kornev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:31pm

The camera makes me feel a bit sick

gigitrix says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:05am

Not too keen on the camera but everything else is rock solid, including the well-placed wilhelm!

ehtd says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:39am

Pretty cool

Newt_ says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Really, really great! Fun to play, and looks nice too! If I had to make one suggestion, I would lower the sensitivity a bit (or maybe allow the player to adjust it). The quick panning was a little disorienting.

May 1, 2014 @ 9:23am

Cool game man! Well balanced and fun to play! Maybe you should had some damp time to the camera scrolling.

Split82 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Solid entry! Very nice controls.

Gins says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Incredibly addicting, and very fun. I kept dying and tried again and again. The controls are a bit frustrating, but I have a feeling they should be like they are.
Well done :)

spotco says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:28am

nice wilheim

May 5, 2014 @ 1:08am

Nice theme to tie everything together! Overall a solid, enjoyable experience. Found the camera panning to be a little disorienting at times.

May 5, 2014 @ 11:16pm

Very well done game! I included it in part 12 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series! http://youtu.be/O5O979VlwyY

joe40001 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:39pm

I liked it a lot I just wish I could control with arrow keys, with the mouse the screen felt like it was moving around too wildly. Still good entry, also I'm like a boss.

zebi24 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Quite impressive! Great job on graphics and AI. I think the camera moves a bit too fast, other than that it is a great game. :)

May 10, 2014 @ 6:47pm

SOlid gameplay! :)

gre says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Very fun game, nice concept and cool different game mecanisms.
Controls are pretty neat, however the camera goes a bit too far.
Also, I think it would be awesome to have some sort of boost, especially when the worm exit the ground. That would increase the gameplay & fun (which is already great).

FrozenCow says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Cool game. The controls especially felt really good and fun.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]