Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

DigQuick

by Cezel_ - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The theme this time was as beneath the surface, so I made a very literal interpretation of that and made a game about digging... The main objective is to dig down to the goal on each level within 15 seconds. You can buy and equip yourself with different tools that will make it easier for you to dig.

This is my second time entering the ludum dare compo and that made me a bit more confident than last time, that wasn't all positive since last time I finished during the first 16 hours but this time I had more things to do and long story short I didn't have time to finish everything (for example audio and fancier graphics would have been nice). But the game is definitely playable and gameplay-wise I got everything I wanted to get done.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#399Theme3.44
#467Fun3.11
#654Graphics3.00
#772Overall2.96
#849Humor2.00
#962Innovation2.52
#997Mood2.45
#1409Coolness47%

Comments

Suese says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:31am

That was fun, but a little too easy.

Neonian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Some audio would go nice with this. Great game.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Nice digging effects!

Definitely playable, but it could do with being balanced a bit as it is a little easy. All I had to do was hold the down arrow and buy the right upgrades at the right time.

schnüt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Definitly fun. Might just have needed some obstacles to give an additional challenge, but using the tools felt great, everything ran smoothly and the bombs had some power. :D

ninjacharlie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:22pm

I really liked the digging effects, but I would have liked some more obstacles. Enemies, unbreakable blocks or some sort of block that has to be used to solve puzzles. Some audio would be nice too.

Overall, nice job :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Solid game! Could use some music.:)

theengineers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:06pm

A little easy, but in it's own cute way, stunning.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Fun, but far too easy and short... Nice explosion animation!

sudorossy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:45pm

Pretty fun, but there could have been a few more levels + upgrades.

MunkeeBacon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:32pm

The graphics were nice but could have used some audio.

dertom says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Nice one! Actually it would be a good base to get good started, since you have level managment, powerup management and now we need more challenge! None the less a good one!

klianc09 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:06pm

I also think that it only lacks some challenge and audio.

AugustSnow says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:16am

Really nice and simple

Harsay says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Reminds my game :D
Looks nice and plays good but where's the challenge ;(

ioboi says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Fun game :)

kristof says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Nice and solid game. To make it more fun, you should add obstacles and maybe some enemies to avoid. Also the bombs didn't really have a purpose as they are way too slow compared to the drill. Still, the controls feel solid and responsive and the graphics look good. Good work.

TheZiggy says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 12:49am

Didn't get a chance to play it, but props for having a time-lapse! I haven't seen many games with a time-lapse.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]