Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mr Tibbles Lost in the City of R'lyeh

by Udell Games - Jam Entry

Kitty-cat turn-based procedural permadeath roguelike RPG loosely borrowing themes from Lovecraftian horror. (Dem Keywords).

All art and code by myself. Made this solo, but decided to go with CC fonts, music and SFX so it turned into a jam game. "How to Play" is apparently slightly broken, so here's how to play:

Arrow keys / WASD to move your kitty.

Move into an enemy to attack them.

Try not to end your turn next to an enemy or they get 3 whole attacks on you!

Collect coins for a reason, honest.

Activate the pedestals for random permanent bonuses.

Good luck!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#122Humor(Jam)3.33
#203Audio(Jam)3.43
#221Mood(Jam)3.40
#346Fun(Jam)3.03
#348Overall(Jam)3.25
#349Innovation(Jam)3.06
#433Graphics(Jam)3.23
#656Theme(Jam)2.46

Comments

tomc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:47pm

Creepy audio! Not sure I approve of all the violence against my poor cat though. What bastard demons would do something that horrible? :<

I like the smooth movement animations in this game. Makes a change from the usual sudden jarring movement in a roguelike.

elefantopia says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:22pm

clicked on how to play and only saw two inactive buttons (aka buttens)

cirolve says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:08am

Very nice animations, though there was a bit of an issue with the instructions page. I love that it's procedurally generated (which can be tough to implement), and the atmosphere is great. Well done!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:18am

That's pretty hard. Is it possible to survive more than a few fights?

It would help if the hosting page wasn't white... the contrast is too much.

pht59x says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:51am

Web version neither runs on IE nor Firefox.

Jared Sartin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:56pm

MR TIBBLES! I love it!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Love the audio, great music. Very creepy, and fits the game. Gameplay is very original. Love how you get turns and enemies get turns too. The generated levels work great too. Good job with this!

littleball says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:44pm

I like the style. The info box took up more of the screen than was helpful. Well done

Armanky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:00pm

The enemies hit a little too hard I think, and in one game I was struck down by an invisible foe. The concept is really funny though! Pretty solid game!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Very nice game, the graphics were nice, the audio fit the game and mood perfectly, and the gameplay is very smooth. The instructions don't show up when you click the 'How to Play' button (I see Objective and Controls but can't click them), but I managed to figure out how to play fairly easy anyway.

The game only felt really playable, or winnable when I got the upgrade to 4 Action Points, as that allowed me to manipulate my distance from the basic enemies, which wasn't possible with 3.

The UI is wayyy too big, and covers up a large section of the play screen.

I didn't find any health-restores either, which sucks because it kind of nullifies the max-health upgrade.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:14am

Ohh How cute!

A kitty and zombies.

Fun idea!

blockbot says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:32pm

I really like the move system, nice!

Exergy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Nice with the generated levels! Good game (a bit hard for me ;) )

Moosefly says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Good solid game. Nice graphics and audio with fun gameplay and a nice challenge. Some kind of a grid on the floor would make it easier to plan your turn. Also, Mr Tibbles needs some animation. I would love to see more of this game!

Joona@MooseflyGames

May 4, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Really a nice idea, but it seems that the poor cat is a bit underpowered to fight the undead hordes... or maybe that's just me...! :)

mrexcessive says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Hi. Like the idea and implementation. Some bugs in UI - text size on TryAgain button for example. Web version wouldn't run on IE11/W8, or Chrome/W8, had to use Chrome/W7 to get anything to happen.

PapyGaragos says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:29pm

It took me a while to notice the fullscreen button in the corner, so I found that the GUI took a lot of space and was getting in the way at first.

I found the monster pretty hard to fight and was never able to clear a level (if that is a possibility)

csanyk says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 4:24am

mew fthagn!

TeamFlare says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 7:35pm

I like the colors of the game and the creepy mood. BUt pure Mr Tribbles he did not survive very long.^^ Cool entry.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]