Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Skydiver

by KeyMaster - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A Luftrausers style game played over and underwater.

Just a very rough prototype since didn't have much time over the weekend, but the movement system is complete.

Controls:
W/D | Left/Right : Turn left/right
W | Up : Thrust
Spacebar : Shoot

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#482Graphics3.27
#517Theme3.31
#587Fun2.98
#980Mood2.49
#1016Overall2.69
#1043Humor1.56
#1045Audio1.39
#1046Innovation2.38
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

nxT says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:25am

A really satisfying little mechanic you've got there!

fserb says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:31pm

The mechanics are nice, but you could use a bit more feedback, specially on enemy hit. :) Good job anyway!

DannyG59 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:54pm

It's ok, a bit too luftrauser for me or whatever that game is called but good job on copying the mechanic at least! Maybe some UI would be nice

Jimanzium says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:40pm

It's like a really crap Luftrausers. You could have atleast tried to change it a bit more than being able to see underwater. The movement was much worse and this was clearly unfinished. Oh well, better luck next time, and better than nothing

stvr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Pretty solid movement! Wish there was more!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Okay graphics and good theme work. However when I killed a couple of enemies nothing else spawned? I was left with a empty map so I decided to try some summersalt's lol.

petrocket says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:34am

ditto what everyone said. fun mechanics, just not much of actually gameplay. great effort!

pjchardt says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:34am

Controls feel very nice. I think I would be more interested seeing this expanded into a trick/point/combo game or an Echo the Dolphin style adventure than a shooter though. It just feels good to jump out of the water and dive back in.

MarsBar says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:51am

Fun game :) I'm surprised how addicting it is. I can see this game going a long way :)

01010111 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:16am

Movement felt really great, this is like Luftrausers meets Ecco the Dolphin, so that's really really awesome and I played around for like 15 min just doing tricks :)

KeyMaster says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:45pm

Just wanted to say thanks for all the kind comments!
I'm planning on continuing this game and the suggestions about Ecco the dolphin will probably go into that!

dejant says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Great mechanics and controls!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Just like when I played Ecco the Dolphin for the first time on the Sega Dreamcast playing this game I had a ton of fun just swimming around and ignoring the purpose of the game.

Fun!

Kate Kligman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:10pm

I like the mechanics you've developed so far. It feels like it could be bouncy and fun.

Vidsneeze says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Ah man, i could keep swimming with this mechanics forever.
Great Game.

Slader16 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:45pm

Controls and Movement were awesome!

bazld says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Very impressive, it controls excellently. I hope you develop it into a full game.

LazyParia says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Nice game, totaly reminds me ecco the dolphin :D

blockbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:15am

This is a great prototype, I hope you make some more with it!

2HitAdam says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:28pm

I've played a lot of Luftrausers but couldn't seem to hit anything... and wasn't sure it did anything when I did, so I just had heaps of fun Free Willying out of the water and doing somersaults. That's really the best part of the game so far, try to capitalise on it! Oh, but I was able to fly indefinitely by turning backwards in mid air and aiming straightish up, guessing that's a bug.

The art is obviously pretty rough but I interpreted the blocks down the bottom of the screen to be a sunken city and thought that was badass! Good luck with the full game :)

kill0u says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:37pm

Nice :) Kinda miss Kozilek, though :3

gnerkus says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:04pm

That sea-water animation...

Once I started moving, the enemies stopped coming. A few sound effects would have been cool.

Figglewatts says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Physics and motion were pretty solid.

dector says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Nice smooth control. And it will be even better with some hints, I think.

frankd0331 says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 1:50am

The movement felt great. Also, thanks for turning me onto Luftrausers.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]