Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Trash Rolling Turtle

by Tititesouris - Jam Entry

Note to play: Unzip, open folder, double click ludum.exe

Game made by @Tititesouris
Graphics made by @_Inaar
Music from incompetech.com
Python 3.4 with Pygame compiled to an executable
Runner type game
You are Terry the Turtle whose natural habitat is getting more and more polluted, you are trying to survive through the waves of garbage coming your way.
All the artwork: http://imgur.com/a/9F8Rq - All credits to Inaar

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#291Audio(Jam)3.23
#316Theme(Jam)3.27
#325Humor(Jam)2.69
#465Mood(Jam)2.90
#533Overall(Jam)2.93
#553Fun(Jam)2.64
#616Graphics(Jam)2.70
#657Innovation(Jam)2.34

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:06am

Pretty good game. I thought the facts at the end was a nice touch.

snade says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:32am

Simple but fun, well done :)
I survived for 85 seconds. pretty good i guess

ruerob says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:29pm

I really love this game. It has a message to say, nice graphics, a lovely tune and i loughed when i swim against a bottle in my first try. *Eh* x.x

Jagang says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:37pm

poor little turtle :(
nice relaxing game

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:13pm

I like the message at the end. Good job.

Kragnir says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:14pm

Nice entry, a bit simple for a jamgame. Need some depth added and to get harder a bit quicker. Like the music in the game.

cudabear says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:09pm

Pretty decent free runner. The collision detection is a bit unforgiving. I'd love to see the "barrel roll" mechanic be a press-and-hold type thing, where your stamina goes down as you hold it rather than it just being a one-time use. The difficulty of the game scales well, but after a few minutes it just becomes impossible because of these two things. Fixing one of them would greatly extend potential play time.

I really liked the messages each time you died, very informative. Made me want to play more just to find out what else there was to learn.

Audio was very nice. The swimming tune was peaceful and the death tune made me feel bad.

Overall, a fun little game. I would love to see the changes I suggested and maybe a mobile port!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Not bad, the gameplay is a bit too basic I think. I appreciate the environmental message of the game though. Music is lovely as well.

TeamAlpha says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:20pm

This could be a really nice educational game! I love the song and the overall mood. Could progress a little faster, though; sometimes it feels a bit dull until it picks up the pace. Great job!

Thorig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Nice game. Is this your first LD?

Ismei says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:30pm

I liked the graphics and the chilled music. I also liked the facts at the end (distracted me from my guilt over accidently killing a turtle).

Tititesouris says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:14pm

This is indeed my first LD, and I think it went quite well. It's definitely great to get feedback and know that people like my work. Will definitely try to make it to every LD in the future! Also, I do read your suggestions on how to improve, and even though I won't be touching this game again (I have other stuff to do :P) I keep the ideas in mind for future projects!

Jason Lay says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:46am

Nice message!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Best game ever! I just loved it

stenol says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Good little game.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]