Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Logiki

by Move127 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Logiki is a puzzle game that is meant to teach formal logic in a visual and fun way.
What does it have to do with "Beneath the Surface"? The rules of logic are within every proposition we utter, whether we are aware of it or not.
The first 7 puzzles are mostly tutorial, and are therefore easy. The last 3 puzzles are meant to be more difficult (though I may have missed some super easy solutions).
Unfortunately I ran short on time and didn't get a chance to implement other features I planned on (Modal logic and non-classical logics). I will probably add them to the game after LD ends.

CONTROLS: WASD move the camera
Left click places and activates objects
Right click removes placed objects
ESC opens menu

KNOWN BUGS:
Wires don't always get grouped in the right way. This can usually be fixed by deleting the messed up wires and placing them again in a different order.

If the output of an "or" gate feeds into one of the inputs, then once you power the gate it will remain powered no matter what you do. This is an easy thing to fix, but I will wait until after LD ends.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#583Innovation3.03
#995Audio1.67
#999Overall2.71
#1001Humor1.75
#1040Fun2.41
#1147Graphics2.16
#1158Mood2.08
#1242Theme1.78

Comments

Crefossus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:46am

Not feeling the theme, but this could be a really great teaching tool and looks pretty slick. Unfortunately I can't remember what the symbols are as you get to the later challenges. Maybe it also could also use rewards in some shape or form?

aeveis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:26am

reminds me of spacechem! I think it could work really well in teaching logic gates, but the UI is a bit confusing and how connections are made feel a bit buggy. Nice concept though!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:33am

Ha, nice one! I always wanted to have a logic-tool -builder :)

Anny says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Loved the idea! Perhaps you could repeat a little bit more the name of each symbol so those of haven't worked with logic learn faster, and using a different colour for each symbol could help too.

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Clever! UI could use some work.

CheeseyBob says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Nice idea, but it doesn't handle as well as I'd hoped. I found myself having to frequently replace tiles to get them to work.

Jason Lay says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:25pm

The web link didn't work for me so I had to download the Windows version. I'm not sure how it ties in with the theme though. With some polish, this might make for a good educational game for an iPad or mobile device.

MattV says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:01pm

feels a bit like homework! really good work on the "tutorial" or "first time user experience" though, lots of games in LD leave you with no idea what is going on and this one really eases you in.

ruerob says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:49am

Good game. Does it fit in the theme in the way of teaching what lies beneath the surface of programms?

greysphere says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:52am

Did you ever play the game Rocky's Boots for the Apple II. I played it in elementary school and it was awesome, had all sorts of this type of stuff. Also http://www.zachtronics.com/ makes a lot of cool games like this one, you should check them out!

Move127 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:21pm

@ruerob I was thinking that it fit into the theme in two ways. (1) some logical system is present in every proposition we make. (2) In a limited sense, this game captures some of what happens beneath the surface of our electronics.

@greysphere I was hoping that the game would feel like the zachtronics games, just more focused on logic and less focused on actual circuit building.

colludium says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:00pm

The web version froze at first on the start page and then after 1 min it began to work. An interesting logic concept - but I'm not sure it follows the theme...

quill18 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:09pm

The world needs more logic-based games, so we can make people smarter. :)

Reinkout says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:20am

This was quite fun experience! Thanks.

camlang says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Funny game. Good gameplay

Kerdelos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:01pm

I guess it's part of the challenge but the wires linking to everything near them makes it more difficult.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]