Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Earthworms Are Proteins!

by broepi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Earthworms are delicious and rich of proteins. Birds have known that for millions of years.

In this Snake-like game you control an ever-hungry earthworm. But food is only available above the surface where another hungry guest is besieging you...

Tools/Libraries:
* GNU C++ Compiler
* SDL 2
* GIMP
* Audacity (for SFX)
* Rosegarden + FluidSynth (for theme music)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#91Humor3.56
#128Audio3.56
#137Theme3.79
#269Fun3.39
#470Overall3.26
#489Graphics3.26
#530Mood3.00
#679Innovation2.89
#1895Coolness28%

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:41am

I actually liked it, it was like a harder pseudo version of Snake, but the twists made it interesting and I enjoyed it a lot.

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:23am

Nice one, is a little harder to play but the concept is really good.

broepi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Wow, didn't expect to get testers so quickly after the compo end :) Thank you!
I will soon test your games as well.
If you find any bugs or problems, please report, that would be super nice!

Seraphina says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:15pm

Nice job on this one. An interesting take on a classic game. I love the birds eyes lol.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:15pm

Fun... but snake is always fun.
Two suggestions: make it more obvious that the top row you can crawl through is actually there (it's hard to see, the first few tries I kept poking my head up and dying) and make it so that you can eat any part of leaves, it's not so obvious you can only eat the middle.

But regardless of those, pretty good!

Benjamin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:39pm

nice snake game, but if every food spawn top what would be the reason to go deeper ? I spend most of my time on the 3-5 fisrt top lanes. It would be more fun with deeper objectives.

gre says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Any reason why my antivirus (immunet protect) detect your libwinpthread-1.dll to be a trojan?

Belvar says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Great graphics ! The area beneath the surface seems a bit large for the way it is used (the player never needs to go to the bottom for example, maybe in a post-compo version, it would be interesting). Interesting gameplay nonetheless, and fun to play !

Bernhard says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 11:23am

Cool simple game, easy to understand. I liked the music, its now stuck in my head ♪
Also high-five for using a real programming language!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]