Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath The Ice

by Danman9914 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Explore the quirky depths of the ocean with your trusty ice-fishing rod. But beware, something sinister is happening... beneath the ice.

INSTRUCTIONS:
Drop the line by scrolling down and reel in by scrolling up. If you do not have a scroll-wheel you may use the arrow keys but that was not the intended control scheme. Upgrade your fishing rod by clicking the icons in the top left corner of the screen.

TOOLS USED:
Unity3D + MonoDevelop
Flash
Photoshop
StageLight
Bfxr
Audacity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#20Theme4.13
#42Humor3.88
#53Overall3.93
#86Graphics4.11
#113Mood3.71
#124Fun3.65
#154Audio3.49
#199Innovation3.61

Comments

FileCorrupted says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:00am

Wow, I loved this game, The art is great, the sound is great, the game is hilarious (Rainbow Trouts taste fabulous XD) Really cant think of anything wrong with it for a 48 hour ludum dare game...

andrewkennedy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:59am

This was hysterical - I loved every minute of it. The ending was fantastic. (PS Did you do a lot of fishing in Animal Crossing?)

Andrew Adams says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:00am

Best game I've played so far... very nice.

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:03am

My hand hurts... totally worth it!

Danman9914 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:04am

@andrewkennedy I did! There is even an Animal Crossing reference in the game (The Crucian Carp, "Carpe Diem!")

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:23am

I really like the art and the sound effects are perfect, but I can't seem to catch any fish!

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:24am

Ok, figured it out! This is surprisingly A LOT of fun!

Thein says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:02am

Awesome game! Although I kinda cheated by dragging my mouse upside down across my desk lol. The ending was really cool.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:51am

I don't know why but I am grinning like an idiot every time I catch a fish :D

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:53am

XD arctic plytypus
It just gets better and better!

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:27am

You sit on a cold frozen lake, and wait for fish to bite your line. I don't know how, but you made that actually fun. Congratulations. haha, in all seriousness this was great, loved the art, the feel of the game, and really enjoyed the epic ending. Made me feel like a badass-fisher, well done! :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:37am

This is really fun and there are a couple of great ideas in there!

nonentheless says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:56pm

I like the style, though I hate scrolling game is fun, nice job!

CustomPhase says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Nice. Really nice. I can see myself playing this for at least half an hour more. Good job! A little bit of music would be good though.

okkolobr says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:00pm

WOW ! Nice graphics, a genius gameplay idea. Great game here ! Congrats !

Liens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:04pm

Nice one, great ending!

Lars Faust says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:04pm

Hahaha, that ending. Fantastic.

Perfect execution of your idea. Very funny, colorful and straightforward. Nice one.

frankbsad says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Great game. I couldn't figure out how to catch the last fish though.

Ysty says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:08pm

That was really great. Good progression, and I loved the end. I wonder who's buying all those severed limbs from the player, though?

AgeNt_ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:20pm

The game was simple... but awesome! Very fun to see what you found next even if it was a severed head.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Excellent, the ending is really fun!

xhunterko says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:40am

What the...XD But, but I didn't catch all the, oh who cares! Great little game!

MattV says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:42am

severed arm is only worth 1.40 a pound?!?

terraco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:29am

That's one patient Inuit!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Loved everything about this one and the ending was a nice touch.

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:27pm

That little danse!
Great game, I especially like the art

Dohan says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:14pm

Great game! The use of the mouse wheel is perfect for this.

danialhyatt says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:25pm

I loved it! And I have to agree, the mouse scroll was a great idea. the day/night detail put a smile on my face!

May 1, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Haha such a great game, a little too short though, once you get it it's pretty easy. Loved the ending, great work.

conormn says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:33pm

Really great from start to finish. Had a lot of fun playing :)

Crefossus says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:36am

Vector graphics very stylish many little polish features like the player body animation for reeling in fish. Love the ending!

Maybe test out a different input? Like a circular option?

May 3, 2014 @ 6:16pm

That was hilarious! Great work!

spotco says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:27am

bugged for me at 14 fish (number did not increment any more)

DonovanWu says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:41am

Just as I think there is nothing new, I fished the Ancient Monster! Nicely done!

mortus says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 6:32pm

I've caught only 12 fish before the ending, so it was quite simple to upgrade everything, but I guess you've done it easy on purpose, to ensure more people will reach the end. Would love some challenge in catching the fish along with long scrolling. Love the ending though! Hilarious game and well made.

gwa says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 6:56pm

I love the last Fish :))))))))

zebi24 says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Really cool game, liked it! :)

Managore says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 12:27am

Somehow you made fishing fun! Really awesome work!

NicoM says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:33am

Nice art, animation, interesting gameplay and neat controls, great job:)!

Diptoman says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:00am

That was epic! Really liked everything about it, though I got a little less interested when I had upgraded everything to the max. Figured might as well try to catch all 24 fish, but then got the ending. It was awesome.
The ending music was cool, and the atmosphere created with the wind howling was really amazing. Really great work.

loxo says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 1:22pm

Interesting game concept. I started the game without a mouse and thought the controls are torture. Also the game got boring really fast. I read a few of the comments and was surprised that others had actually a lot of fun playing your game. So I searched for a mouse and was surprised that the game experience totally changed while using it. With a mouse the game is fun to play and doesn't get boring. The ending is quite fun, but after finding the head, I expected a slightly different one: A big fish jumps out of the water and attacks the player. After the separated body parts fell in the water the ice is slowly closing again and the next innocent fisherman comes along. So the story starts all over again.

mcapraro says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:44pm

i really liked this game. it was ultra simple and the pace was very slow, which is nice actually. great job!

May 10, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Very slick and nice game. Was wondering when/how it would end :) Nice job and great art!

Snoother says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Heh, I love that ending. Maybe could have been a touch more challenging, but the concept was really fun and the game was just about the right length.

zkenshin says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 2:30am

Cute entry, well done. :)

lorniebear says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 1:10pm

My mum loves it!

jsmars says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 6:29pm

Nice mood! Lovely game!

May 17, 2014 @ 2:49pm

That ending scared me! hahahah Really nice entry!!

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Very well put together and an excellent ending!

ErikU says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Very nice little game with a twist. Nice work playing with the idea.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]