Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bricked

by twelveplusplus - Jam Entry

So, it's pretty obvious what's going on above the surface... it's a rudimentary breakout/arkanoid clone!

...but what's going on "beneath the surface??" It looks like a psychedelic freak-out to me! groovy, baby!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#501Audio(Jam)2.71
#642Humor(Jam)1.67
#696Graphics(Jam)2.31
#716Fun(Jam)2.10
#717Mood(Jam)2.05
#761Overall(Jam)1.93
#763Theme(Jam)1.45
#766Innovation(Jam)1.33
#1314Coolness49%

Comments

torcado194 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:34am

hm. the trippy bg is hard on the eyes, and makes playing fairly annoying, the paddle can travel through the walls, the ball goes through blocks from behind, it's very slow, and i dont see how the theme applies at all. quit after about half the bricks were broken.

Phyyl says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:36am

Good game, but you should add new features that don't figure in the original brick thing game! also the mouse offset was incorrect on my screen so my mouse was actually about 300 pixels ->... took me a couple minutes to figure out the controls haha!

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:44am

I got about halfway through the level, and the ball decided to leave through the side of the playfield and got stuck as a result. Nice chiptune soundtrack.

jugglerrob says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:45am

I like breakout. This game has it's bugs but it's still fun.

Elforama says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:48am

Breakout half was good, but the background hurt my eyes and made it hard to see where I was.

mclewis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:45am

Good simple breakout game, but has little to do with the theme.

dark_hunter says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:07am

Good old breakout. 2 bugs ruins the experience
-once you hit a brick, the ball passes right through other bricks;
-you paddle or whatever can go through the walls (and eventually - the screen)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:32am

thanks for the comments. I worked on the bugs a little bit. When using the mouse, the paddle can still barely go through the wall if you move fast.. but i don't think it ruins the experience, now.

also, i fixed the brick pass-through, but it kind of made another problem, which is sometimes the ball travels in an unexpected direction if it hits two bricks at once.

oh well... haha i gave it the old college try... :)

and yse, i know it has very little to do with the theme. I should have done a dig-dug clone instead, haha

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:07am

Not a bad Breakout game. The background was pretty cool although the paddle was too closely colored and blended in. I wish there was something outside the board as well. Weak connection to the theme but I did enjoy the music!

Udell Games says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:29pm

Trippy background is interesting but the game is far too slow.

blockbot says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Loved the music!

ceosol says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:41am

The bugs didn't really affect my gameplay. Except for one major bug, you can't win - it just keeps bouncing after all of the blocks are gone :P I love the ripple effects in the background. I can kind of see the ripples beneath the board surface having a major thematic effect since it affected most people's gameplay.

Lerc says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:27am

And that's why we've confiscated your shaders.

HeroesGrave says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:49pm

I can't play your game, because it's Unity webplayer (and I'm on Linux), but I'm letting you know that my game now has a Windows build available if you want to give it a go.

Sorry for plugging it, but this is really the only way to contact you.

All I can say is that your graphics look... interesting ;)

ActionRemix says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:05am

I believe this might be greatly improved by increasing ball speed and shrinking the playing area vertically. The player spends a good deal of time waiting for the ball to return, especially if it makes it past the last row.

MintArcade says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:49am

Very psychedelic, but cool. Very sloooooow

abayb says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:47pm

I love the music! The ability to turn it off would have lead to me playing it longer, though.

camlang says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:37pm

Nice sounds and psycho background

wademcgillis says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 2:25am

I got down to bricks on the right side, and spent 20 minutes trying to remove those final five.

I gave up!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]