Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Somalia

by Tomski - Jam Entry

Welcome to Somalia!

Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2EXcmczV3ns


You are a member of the East India Trading company, you have to sail your fleet across the ocean avoiding pirates and creatures that dwell beneath the surface.

Use your cannons and submerge under the water to reach the glorious booty that lies ahead.



Controls -
A - Left
D - Right
LMB - Cannons, point to aim
E - Submerge and emerge, go under water, beneath islands, but watch out for the creatures below that will gobble you up!

If caught by the kracken, shoot till he lets go!

Made by:

Tom Wojciechowski (Code Monkey) @AsidikGames

Oscar Stretton (Art & Animation) @OzzoCube

Tools:
Built with Java
Libgdx Framework
EsotericSoftware's Spine (Skeletal Animation)
Intellij

All assets and code created within 72 hours from scratch.

Hope you enjoy :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness99%
#32Graphics(Jam)4.47
#39Overall(Jam)3.91
#43Fun(Jam)3.79
#56Audio(Jam)3.95
#71Mood(Jam)3.87
#112Humor(Jam)3.38
#172Innovation(Jam)3.44
#289Theme(Jam)3.32

Comments

Snoother says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Looks really good, but it crashes for me on startup. I'm running windows 8.1, if that helps.

longshorts says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Your screenshots look gorgeous, and I'm impressed it is generated with LibGDX, but I have tried running the JAR and it just dies before anything launches.

SenorDiablo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:08pm

hey same looks beautiful but instantly crashes when opened. I'm windows 7 64 bit

SunShiranui says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:09pm

It crashes on OSX for me :(

SzRaPnEL says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Screenshots look awsome, but it crashes on launch! :(
I'm running on Windows8 Java Version 7.

Tomski says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:10pm

Taking a look!

miwuc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Crashes for me too, I get:

Exception in thread "LWJGL Application" com.badlogic.gdx.utils.GdxRuntimeException: java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: com/esotericsoftware/spine/AnimationState$AnimationStateListener : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglApplication$1.run(LwjglApplication.java:120)
Caused by: java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: com/esotericsoftware/spine/AnimationState$AnimationStateListener : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClassCond(ClassLoader.java:637)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(ClassLoader.java:621)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(SecureClassLoader.java:141)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(URLClassLoader.java:283)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$000(URLClassLoader.java:58)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:197)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:190)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:306)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launcher.java:301)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:247)
at com.ld29.game.screens.GameScreen.create(GameScreen.java:173)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglApplication.mainLoop(LwjglApplication.java:136)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglApplication$1.run(LwjglApplication.java:114)

Tomski says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Thanks for all the bug reports! I've uploaded a newer version that should fix these problems. Please give it a go!

SunShiranui says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:52pm

I tried it again, but performance isn't the best. It gets really slow after I start the first level. Looks cool though!

marccspro says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Realy good game It's an all stars !
I havent got any craches on win 7 x64

javierecf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:02pm

really interesting, very fun and pretty too.

the jar runs without problems on my windows 7 machine.

Crabman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Worked for me on Win 7 x64 too. But more importantly, OMG SO PRETTY :3

friken says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:48pm

very nice artwork and mood!

Moist says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:49pm

Absolutely incredible visuals and mood. That's one charming game, congrats!

stenol says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:51pm

Wow great game. Great graphics, great cannon sound. Good job

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:06pm

Hmmm I avoid most games that don't offer a web version but this one has me curious.

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Just beautiful!

tschery says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:18pm

nice those shadow effects and the graphics in general =)

DannyG59 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Really lovely game :) graphics are beautiful and audio

Mago says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:53am

Amazing art, and original gameplay. Very good job guys!

Tomski says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:49am

Added a video in case you cant play for some reason!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2EXcmczV3ns

nonentheless says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:03am

It crashed when the octopus appeared, looks pretty nice and it's fun to play.

Shire says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:07am

I couldn't get out of the sea monster by shooting

hirngespinst says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:45am

lovely art, nice music and quite fun. Made it to voyage 8 before it crashed. Funny texts in between - the thing about the son ("...move on") made me laugh.
I always had to dive for the pirates - cannons didn't seem to help. Is that intended? If so, the angle in which your cannons fire seems random - coudln't recognize the pattern at least.
Great entry though - congrats!

flavio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:51am

Lovely game ! Maybe the interface could be slightly improved (like changing the police) and the overall purpose made clearer. Also I couldn't feel a real change in the levels difficulty. But firing canons on pirates is always a pleasure ;) Good job !

SzRaPnEL says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Expected more but its fun to play :) Sparkling graphics!

dector says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:09pm

App crashed on 7th level.

But I think it's beautiful. Please, make post-compo version!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:41am

Really amazing graphics and a nice game to go with it :) Well done! I included it in part 3 of my Ludum Dare 29 compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/pi2GfgHfAZM

Tomski says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:10am

Should have got that crash fixed!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:39am

I love the submarine pirate ship, nice touch with the sonar ping. It lagged really badly for me and eventually crashed. Also my mouse wouldn't move while holding in a direction to move.

Beautiful game and great mood though!

copain says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:45am

nice, I like the long window.

May 1, 2014 @ 12:48am

The games closed several times when I played it. It still run in the task manager, but I can't find it. Good Game though. :)

rincewind_cz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:52am

Well, it's unplayable for me due to lags after I click on play :-(

Tomski says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:13am

Seems Macs are having a lot of trouble with it, I don't have access to one so I cant debug currently :(

sharpcoder says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:58pm

Amazing job, the polish is just stellar! The graphics are beautiful, the theme was nicely integrated, and the sound was top notch. My only suggestion would be to consider giving the players a bit of time to float around during the start of each level, so we can prepare for battle as opposed to just being in battle. But that's just a nitpick thing, overall this was a fantastic entry. Well done!

holgk says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Wow! Nice game.

ob6160 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:25pm

AMAZING :D The best so far.

May 1, 2014 @ 4:51pm

I get invalid or corrupt jarfile for the Windows build, tried redownloading to no avail.

JimmyBoh says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:04pm

This is awesome! By far the best I've played so far!

Tomski says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:11pm

How are you launching it Walrus?

hbocao says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:21pm

The graphics and music really sets the mood of your entry. I was having some fun until the game crashed unexpectedly, but with no error. It simply closed. :(. Despite that, awesome job!

lasagnegames says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Beautiful lighting effects and music, which combined, create a really nice chilled out pirate blaster.

Empyrealhell says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:08pm

The graphics are exquisite, the music and sounds are great, the gameplay is just a little flat.

Sparrow says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:02am

Awesome game, everything just fits and creates a pleasant experience. Good job!

loxo says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:19pm

Beautiful game! Nice graphics and animations with all the details. It's fun to play, looks and feels very polished.

praporomsk says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Very beautiful graphics and fun gameplay, you rock!

May 3, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Crashes for me too... :)wish i could play#
# A fatal error has been detected by the Java Runtime Environment:
#
# EXCEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION (0xc0000005) at pc=0x04c5288c, pid=5856, tid=3092
#
# JRE version: Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (7.0_51-b13) (build 1.7.0_51-b13)
# Java VM: Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (24.51-b03 mixed mode, sharing windows-x86 )
# Problematic frame:
# C [ig4icd32.dll+0x24288c]
#
# Failed to write core dump. Minidumps are not enabled by default on client versions of Windows

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:26pm

from what I was able to play it was good - too bad it kept crashing on me (win764) - hope you keep working on this - added to my favorites

Hammervuis says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 12:15pm

I love the sharks!

gapgen says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 12:19pm

A fun little game, the feel of it is pretty fun. I'd prefer the game to restart on the level if you die rather than restart the whole game; I only got a few levels in and didn't really want to replay the first couple of levels over and over.

SoupWithBits says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 12:21pm

W O W
Looks, sounds and plays amazingly!
Love it!

ceosol says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:15pm

Really like this game. First time it closed on 5. Third time I got stuck on crates and the octopus and a ship took me out. I couldn't hit the ship because the oc was in the way and I couldn't move because the crates were jammed up. Still, very enjoyable game. Please continue working on and refining this. I think you have something good going on here.

May 8, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Mac version started without any problem. Nice and polished game. It's fun to play. It took me some time to realise that LMB is not L, M and B on keyboard but LeftMouseButton. :D One of the best entries I rated so far. Good job!

DonovanWu says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 1:22am

The game is awesome, especially in graphics and audio. Perhaps some more game balance factors can be added in for further development, because submerging seems to be a bit OP to me.

Martin Ysa says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Love the gameplay... reminds me afternoons playing monkey island ...
Great job with the audio and art.

pIMGale says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 1:11pm

let us be the pirates an take away goods from their 'rightful owners'
!

KevinWorkman says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:34pm

This is a fun concept. It needs a little more polishing though, as I was able to beat most of the game just by going underwater to pass all the bad guys.

May 11, 2014 @ 5:59am

Amazing!!! I loved the graphics and gameplay

GFM says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Woooooo, fireworks!! Man... those graphics! And those particles... and you get more cannons as you progress, which means even more particles!! *-*
This game is beautiful! XD
The night/day cicle, the shadows and the reflection were also pretty good! Only the anti-alias of the ship wasn't nice, when not day time... but I can deal with that. XD
The music and sfx were really good and fitting. It's great to see a game this polished!
Also, it's really fun. Shooting things, with all this polish, is always fun.

udo says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 12:25pm

This was simply awesome, so cute and so nicely done. Very smooth, I loved it!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]