Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Super Miner 2000

by ezombort - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A small game about a nice miner who becomes a hero. Play the game at http://thomasjakobsen.com/superminer2000/.

WORKS BEST IN CHROME. NO SOUND IN INTERNET EXPLORER.

======
UPDATE: BUG: I think due to not doing proper object pooling the game performance degrades over time and can cause collision to fail on slower systems. Too late to fix now, but have learned for next time :)
======

RIGHT/LEFT arrows to move, UP arrow to jump, SPACEBAR or S to shoot - your choice, same function (use S to avoid scrolling in case of low resolution)

I used: TypeScript/JavaScript, Tiled, TexturePacker, BFXR, Inkscape and Visual Studio 2013 Express Web


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#613Humor2.36
#657Fun2.91
#843Audio2.17
#873Theme2.86
#1016Overall2.69
#1085Mood2.31
#1107Innovation2.24
#1117Graphics2.23

Comments

oal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:39am

I almost made it through. Not sure if I liked the rocket upgrade. It felt slower to use? Or maybe that was just because I missed a speed bonus block. Still a well made game. Good job!

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Collision detection is pretty spotty, but otherwise great!

Kragnir says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:57pm

I like that has game has an end. There seem to be some issues with collision detection I fell through the floor many times and you can also shoot through walls.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:00pm

I love how everything falls down when you die, and I think at one point I fell through a platform, but it's pretty good on the whole.

ezombort says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Yeah I couldn't figure out why the collisions sometimes fails. Seems to work better in Chrome than other browsers.

bvanschooten says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Cute little game. The graphics have a nostalgic feel to them. There is a bug that prevents me from progressing though. I keep falling through platforms, and eventually I fall through the bottom of the level and get stuck. Maybe this is because of the low framerate (less than 10fps). Also I get no sound, is there supposed to be sound? I am running this on Linux, Firefox.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:04pm

A great little game ! I really enjoyed it !

ezombort says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Yes there is sound but unfortunately the game seems to work best in Chrome. No sound in Internet Explorer either.

atterday says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:27pm

I liked it, it has a real retro feel to it.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Simple concept but nice execution!

Elforama says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Yay, I saved the girl! The different weapons didn't seem to make a difference. Nice job though!

loxo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Nice game with good progression in difficulty. It could be a bit faster though. The collision detection seems to have problems with fast moving objects. If an object moves too fast, it will be on the other side of another object in one update step, so no collision is detected. You need more and smaller update steps or slower moving objects to prevent this. And I had a problem with my small screen resolution, because the up-key scrolls the game page.

igwb says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:14pm

I realy like the cool blue enemy graphics.
However, collision detection seems very buggy. I almost made it to the top on the second side, and the fell all the way down to the bottom... That was quite frustrating. Also, on the left side, you can pretty much bypass the whole thing by jumping down on the sides, since there is no fall damage. Also, the rocket wasn't realy the best weapon. It just a little slow after the fireball.

dsoft20 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:19pm

I really enjoyed this little game :D, it works great on Opera 20

xevozfighter says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Nicely done in 48 hours. The sound for the rocket got irritating at higher reload times though.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Haha, the boss got pwned, rapid fire rockets! Fun.

xgeovanni says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:13pm

I opted to ignore new weapons and instead go for the machine gun of doom.

sam101 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:29pm

The collisions are a bit weird, and it's frustrating in the second part of the game. But your game has a clear end, it's simple but efficient.

SzRaPnEL says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:00pm

First weapon is too good compare to others.
Why all monsters drop on the floor when game is lost? :)
Classic!

ezombort says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:04pm

I just thought it was a fun effect to let everything fall when you die :)

okeedokeben says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Very fun! I kept the first weapon my second time through and with all of the speed upgrades, it was awesome. :)

Gins says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Seems pretty standard at first, but I like that you have to go down first and then up again. Also it's interesting that the powerups seem to actually be bad for you, because they get rid of all your speed powerups :o
I like the cooldown mechanic for the bullets, it makes the player be more careful.

May 15, 2014 @ 6:48pm

Kept falling through the platforms, which made it insanely frustrating. I like how the level was split in two in order to see the last part from the beginning. It could have used more types of enemies.

PixelFeet says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:29pm

i seemed to run into a lot of problems with falling through platforms. this became more of a problem when i fell through the bottom of the map and couldn't get back.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]