Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dungeon Break

by anissen - 48 Hour Compo Entry

-------- STORY --------

A deranged wizard has trapped you in his magical dungeon deep beneath the ground!

To escape you need exploit the dungeon itself. Reach the stairs to get to the next level and finally -- to the surface and to freedom!


-------- CONTROLS --------

Mouse/touch only.
Click adjacent tiles to move left/right/up/down.
Click and drag (e.g. swipe) tiles to push rows horizontally and columns vertically. NOTE: Rows/columns containing "X"-blocks cannot be pushed.


-------- DEVELOPMENT --------

Coded in Haxe using the Flambe game engine.
Graphics are doing using Pixelmator.
Music is made using Autotracker + Audacity.
Sound effects are made using Sfxr (procedurally).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#98Innovation3.90
#285Audio3.19
#360Overall3.38
#440Graphics3.33
#482Fun3.10
#665Mood2.88
#1193Theme2.05
#1823Coolness33%

Comments

Pete_H says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:32am

Liked the theme and art style but once I got in the game found it a bit difficult to understand what to do and how to do it :(

liamtwose says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Great looking game, needs more work on how to play and I think the levels need more of a progression, seemed to get too confusing too quickly. Keep up the good work!

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:01pm

This is a nice idea for a puzzle. Maybe the controls feel better on a touch screen, but the effects you added make up for it

SFBTom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:16pm

There definitely needs to be some visual feedback when you start to drag, so that you know you're doing the right thing. Great concept though!

mrexcessive says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Hi, Fun puzzler good job! Escaped fairly easily first 5 levels.

MunkeeBacon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:06pm

The audio and graphics were very nice! Clever mechanic as well!

eskivor says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:08pm

I wasn't sure to understand how to play it.

Marza says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Cool concept, innovation points for you! :D

tenpn says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Pretty cool. A restart button might have been nice, for when I see the shorter answer.

tenpn says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Pretty cool. A restart button might have been nice, for when I see the shorter answer. Good tile transition effects.

allinlabs says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:33pm

I think I made it to the surface, even though there were nothing to do there. Some levels have a good progression, and are fun to solve, some are too easy (the last ones). That's the hard part when making a puzzle game: knowing the difficulty of the level you just made. Like others said, the game needs some feedback on desktop when moving tiles, but it seems fit for mobile (gave it a try on my nexus 4 but the game screen was too big).
Nice work!

anissen says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Thank you all very much for taking the time to play and to comment on the game! Also a big thank you for your kind words and constructive suggestions :)

@Pete_H: I need to explain how to play the game more thoroughly I know! It is not as intuitive as it ought to be.

@liamtwose: As to the level progression - you are right! I actually mixed up some of the levels so the level difficulty is messed up unfortunately :/

@SFBTom: I actually implemented visual feedback for dragging rows/columns but had to remove it because I didn't have time to work out the kinks.

@tenpn: Noted! I was also thinking of adding a level selection screen as well.

@allinlabs: Yes, winning the game is kind of dull ;) The puzzles were made rather quickly and could have used some thorough play testing.

This game was made with mobile targets in mind and I will be making a more polished version for Android. I will be sure to address your critique in that version :)

gre says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Very nice puzzle game.
Controls need some polish and feedback.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]