Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Wormonger

by lasagnegames - Jam Entry

WARNING: Contains pulsing lights in some sections.

Controls:

- Mouse to move.
- [SPACEBAR] to rise to the surface.
- Collision detection for feeding ;-)

Your Worm is hungry, follow the pulsing waves and rise up from beneath the surface to feed!

Some things are not edible however, so don't turn everything in to worm food just because you can!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#109Humor(Jam)3.40
#243Theme(Jam)3.42
#280Audio(Jam)3.26
#316Innovation(Jam)3.13
#405Fun(Jam)2.95
#510Mood(Jam)2.82
#548Overall(Jam)2.90
#657Graphics(Jam)2.53

Comments

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Interesting idea, but I feel like there's more that you could do with it. Are you planning on making a post-jam release? I'd like to see what you did with more time with it.

blockbot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:25pm

So weird!

StencylTuo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Okay, well that fit the jam well. It was a different spin of a game than I was expecting, so decent innovation.

In the end though, for me it comes down to whether a game is fun or not... and yours was not. The audio was annoying as well.

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Music was really good!

Larzan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Haha, funny idea, like the worm, the music is nice :)

Raiyumi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Haha, strange game, but super catchy music!

Seppel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:31pm

This was hilarious and the music was high energy!

Moosefly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:33pm

Well, they do say that there is only a fine line between genius and madness. I think this might be the latter though.

Would have liked more to eat. Would have wanted to know what was going on. Now I can't die in peace, only in pieces. For I have made myself a worm.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

jeffz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Super cool. A very fast mood. Well done!

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:14pm

Great humor this game! Love it.

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Super strange! The mechanic seems pretty interesting, it could make for a cool mobile game with some more polish.

jtpup0 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:55am

This is a really cool concept, its zany and hilarious too which I like

May 1, 2014 @ 11:36am

WTF am i playing? So crazy and weird.

Tomski says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:29pm

That was crazy, haha!

Nezzhil says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:46pm

crazy idea, paint he background of underground of brown to make the effect of emerge better better, even paint some rocks and some effects when you rise. Happy music.

gnerkus says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Great music!

I couldn't figure out what I was supposed to do and it wasn't that much fun to play.

hanoth says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Very strange and entertaining.

pikkpoiss says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Aside from being the weirdest game I've seen so far, this idea is pretty cool, and I'd love to see a game more fleshed out around the idea of stalking targets underground and popping up to get them. I'm not completely sure what I was supposed to eat or not, though.

goerp says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 7:01pm

haha, weird in the best possible meaning!
I like the graphics, the original game mechanic, the sound effects and music.
Just really funny!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]