Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Gravedigger 20XX

by muramasa - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is Gravedigger. A pretty simple platformer. I hope you have fun with it.

Controls:
Arrow Keys - Movement (up/down affects the square where you dig)
C key - Claw. Used for attacking and digging.
Space Bar - Jumping, selection.
Escape - Return to title.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#72Graphics4.19
#83Theme3.90
#148Mood3.62
#176Overall3.63
#223Audio3.32
#266Humor2.95
#312Fun3.33
#783Innovation2.74

Comments

WhiteWolf93 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:02am

It is really nice, music is good (could be better), graphics are great and the mechanics are nice, but SO hard. :/ Couldn't beat the boss.

DrMelon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:19am

Reminds me of a NES game. Very nice palette!

thristhart says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:52am

Big fan of the aesthetic. Some of the tiling doesn't look quite right, but that doesn't matter because the color choices are fantastic. I loved the digging mechanic, and the level design showcased it well. Unfortunately that boss room frustrated me enough that I had to give up before finishing. I got stuck with only 4 health left in the boss room, and so I died in almost one hit every time. That combined with having to dig through the dirt for every single boss attempt had a multiplicative effect on the frustration. Side note - took me a while to figure out how to beat the boss, because the boss made an "enemy taking damage" sound when I hit it, so it seemed like that was accomplishing something. Still, a solid 4/5 - wish I could have seen the ending.

muramasa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:09am

The ending is pretty bad, don't even mind about it. I was running out of time.
And yes, that boss has some difficulty issues... AND the sound, which causes "misinformation" (it DOES damage the boss, but you would need to land an insane amount of hits while dodging Touhou-like fireballs).

If it's permitted, I would gladly do something about these difficulty issues. It makes it virtually unbeatable, right? (I did beat it two times, but that doesn't mean anything).

martijn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:54am

I believe this to be a prime example of how pixel art games should be done.

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Really good

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:45pm

The graphics on this were honestly the best I've seen so far! Really nice work! The game's pretty fun too.

Almost says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:54pm

The game is cool and the art really nice, but the enemies move and attack really quickly so avoiding damage is hard. I made it to the room with the giant head, but the bats always kill me since I only have 4 health.

Cryovat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:17am

I ended up giving up after dying somewhere between ten and twenty times to the boss. That aside, I'm in awe of what you've been able to do in just 48 hours. The graphics and music is just perfect.

With just a bit of adjustment to the boss, I think this will be a classic LD game. :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:27am

Oh, man. I am getting destroyed here. I will have to go dig out a gamepad because my keyboard skills aren't up to the challenge. It looks great so far, though.

jsspiegel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:22am

LOVE the retro art! The whole game is pretty fantastic, and the mole guy is so cute! It gives off a very retro and moody atmosphere.

danbo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:42am

I really love the colour palette and any game where death means your guy turns into a tiny tombstone is at least a 4/5

eerongal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:06am

This is a great game! Really enjoyed it!

ENDESGA says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:05am

Wow, I love the retro feel of this game! It's so cool! :D

aelita1992 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:56am

Great game, good old visual style :) Really liked it

Jod says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:41am

Wow. Just wow. This such a _complete_ game. Good handling, music and gorgeous, gorgeous 8-bit graphics that I instantly fell in love with.

It just handles so very well. Well done!

KyleDAudio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:52pm

This game is really marvellous! I really love the graphics, colour palette, character & enemy designs, animations, sound effects, mood and digging game mechanic. Great job pulling this together in 48 hours! It's incredible!

I'd say the only two weak points of this game are that the digging is a bit inaccurate and the enemies are ridiculous; enemies' movement is unpredictable and every enemy is really hard to kill without dying.

trueyomic says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:55am

Excellent pixel art. The music is good for the style it is emulating. The boss does have difficulty issues as others are having. It's almost impractical to fight any enemies along the way either due to the tiny punch box vs enemy speed.

BenW says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:48am

I really like the game but I felt like everything was way too difficult. I also felt like the movement speed was way too high which caused me to miss a lot of simple jumps.

Jed T. says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:33am

Amazing just amazing how you were able to pull this game off in just 48 hours. Controls are just slippery and I kept falling when I wanted to jump to a ledge. The polish is really fantastic I haven't saw any bugs. Now I feel bad about myself :(

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:06am

artwork and reto style was grate - ground digging idea was good - controls were a bit off - nice job

tomvert says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:44pm

I love the artstyle and gameplay but it is reaaaally too hard and I got stuck for a long time in water trying to get out... so frustrating, but otherwise it's an impressive work.

May 4, 2014 @ 9:27am

I love the consistent pixel art and color scheme and the character animation especially the claw attack and crawl movement, really cute.

The only bug that I experienced is that when the character respawned from dying in the water she kept the slow underwater movement even when on land, but that was just it.

Overall a really solid game.

muramasa says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:07am

Whoops. Yeah, didn't took into account that. The water physics were added at some point of the last day, and didn't even thought about it when I was making respawning (respawn was added because dying by the boss's massively stupid difficulty spike was horribly annoying).

Thanks a lot monkeyavalanche.

May 9, 2014 @ 11:05am

Love the story and graphics! I included it in part 16 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/ruvs0qoO4zU

muramasa says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Thanks Jupiter! I actually was following your channel since a friend told me about your compilation series. I'm looking forward to your next videos.

AlexFili says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 8:07am

This game is one of the better Ludum Dare games this year. The graphics are very evocative of the Amiga/Commodore era and the sound effects bring you back in time. The mechanics work well and bar a few enemy AI issues the game is very well made indeed.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]