Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Yojimbrawl! (2 Player Fighting Game)

by Black Ships Fill the Sky - Jam Entry

A 2 player fighting game. We ran out of time, but it was a nice start.

We tried to bring in a concept of death and help from beyond the grave (or from below the surface). After dying you return slightly buffed, until your graves are filled up. We wanted to give it a seedy *underground* fighting feel, but the game ended up too pleasant.

I know 2 Player fighting games aren't ideal for Ludum Dare entries. If you don't have a friend nearby, and do try it anyway, then you deserve some extra coolness.

Programming: Evan Greenwood
Art: Dawid Strauss
Music and Sounds: Deon van Heerden
Additional Art and pants advice: Stuart Coutts
Additional Programming: Ruan Rothmann

We didn't include nearly all the content we wanted. But I think we'll spend some time and get Yojimbrawl a bit more feature complete.



YOU CAN PLAY ON XBOX CONTROLLERS.

On Keyboard:

WASD and "T" to Attack

UPDOWNLEFTRIGHT and "," to Attack


I recently watched the film "Yojimbo" (and the name was the best pun we could come up with). If anyone actually knows what the kanji for "Yojimbo" combined with "Brawl" is please let me know!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Fun(Jam)4.52
Overall(Jam)4.39
#10Graphics(Jam)4.68
#28Audio(Jam)4.11
#29Mood(Jam)4.17
#268Humor(Jam)2.82
#289Innovation(Jam)3.19
#738Theme(Jam)1.85
#1823Coolness33%

Comments

rogberth says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:34am

looks great but Unity give me error at launch =(

Fox_in_sox says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:39am

I got an "Error launching Unity Player". I don't know whether this is a problem at my side, but I would really love to play your game.:/

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:44am

I'm hoping that error is fixed now. I tried uploading the file again. (Sorry, I've got South African internet)

dlweatherhead says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:17pm

Nice work guys! This is awesome!Would love to see all the extras in the game... You guys always have such awesome juice!

Fox_in_sox says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:58pm

I can finally play it, yay!\O/
I like the game, it seems really polished and it reminds me of Nidhogg. Impressive entry.:)

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Some more magic from the free lives bros...

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:26pm

We're thinking of changing the kanji...

Yojimbo = 用心棒 translates to. "stick who uses precaution" and is used in place of "bodygaurd".

We'd like to make the kanji this: 用心鬥 which means something like "The battle that uses precaution".

Which sounds both badass and confusing!!

Tuism says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:42pm

So pretty! So much of polish! So much of juice! It's so much juicy madness!

I wish there were:
1. AI player
2. More sweet moves ;) (what's the difference bewteen the up slash and down slash?)
3. More characters
4. More stuff!

Not sure cos I haven't played against a 2nd player yet but the fact that the player that died always spawn from the same spot (that they died) may disadvantage them. Maybe :)

Good stuff!

geekdrums says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:20am

Although I played solo, this is really fun! Cut away(Zangeki) effect is really cool, nice work.

As a japanese, I think Yojimbo sounds funny. How about Samurai brawl?( but it sounds too ordinary )

May 2, 2014 @ 1:30pm

WOW, that was great fun! And the first fighting game I've seen on LD so far. really lovely fluid mechaincs, my character felt lighter than air, and faster than light. Great job. Make more!

Miltage says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Fantastic entry. Y U NO CAN DUCK? I think dodging attacks by ducking with DOWN would be pretty swell. I love the art style and the audio, but the sword clashes sell it IMO. Great work guys!

Kevlanche says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Incredible sense of polish for such a short development time. Controls were great. The aesthetic is awesome. I only played single player, but it seems the gameplay actually has some depth to it.

Don't really see how it is related to the theme though. Still, best game I played so far.

Yword says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Impressive! The combo is super awesome, and the controls are very smooth too!
I think Brawl can be translated to Kanji as "大乱闘", which is also appears in the Japanese title of Super Smash Bros.

BrothersT says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:19pm

That was great! really nice fight mechanics, amazing feedback on the hits, everything was really satisfying. We did play it as two players and it worked really well. Being able to go off the screen and die was a little annoying. Sound was great. Only other thing I can nitpick is that apart from the grave appearing it didn't seem to fit the theme much. Great animated silhouettes too. Almost a five star column from me.

May 4, 2014 @ 12:10am

absolutely fantastic. I'm blown away you guys! Both at the coding and the juiciness/animations. You rock!!!

gre says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:15pm

Awesome graphics and music

foodzilla says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Really fun to play this! I wish I had some people to give it a whirl with, but it was great in so many ways!

Helopol says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Neither the gameplay nor the graphics end up being super original but holy shit both are wondefully made. Feels extra nice to play, beautiful & juicy, plus the health points are very elegant !

dector says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Solid entry.

zanenga says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Love this game! It's really my style of combat. I think it should be further developed.

conormn says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 1:10am

Incredibly well done. Love it!

SteveSalmond says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 12:02pm

You guys are total legends - that's the most impressive thing I've seen this jam for sure! Awesome work :)

May 23, 2014 @ 4:08pm

You have been featured in today's episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y20OlsewERU

Rustam says ...
May 17, 2017 @ 5:03am

That is really nice to hear. thank you for the update and good luck.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]