Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Pearl Dive

by ethankennerly - Jam Entry

Collect pearls and resurface before you drown.

20 levels!
Watch out for rocks, kelp, and sharks!
Catch your breath at an air pocket.

Help:

Click to swim.
You only get one dive.
When you resurface with any pearls, you win.
You have enough air to swim about 10 strokes.
Click slowly. Each stroke costs 10% of your air.

Plan your route to get the most pearls.
You can replay a level to try to collect more pearls.
Your score is the most pearls you collected at each level.

2-day game jam by Ethan Kennerly.
Animation, sound by Isa Kretschsmer.
At The Museum of Art and Digital Entertainment,
Oakland, California. themade.org

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#133Theme(Jam)3.65
#258Overall(Jam)3.38
#261Innovation(Jam)3.27
#282Fun(Jam)3.15
#284Humor(Jam)2.79
#497Mood(Jam)2.84
#529Graphics(Jam)2.96
#577Audio(Jam)2.38
#1651Coolness42%

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:30pm

I can collect all perl only the first 4 levels, after that I always used too many O2....btw, good game

ethankennerly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:30am

@White Rabbit Games, Thanks! You're right; that could be more clear that you cannot get every pearl. The idea was to choose which route gets the most pearls.

lonewookie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:40am

Pretty fun. I really like the controls!

darkflamejam says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:55pm

Pretty fun

rnlf says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:58pm

DAT SHARK! Loved the look in his eyes. Hilarious :D

Nice, solid game!

May 2, 2014 @ 1:36am

I enjoyed this cute game. Collected 43 of them. a bit difficult at times. Best part was dying. xD

nesis says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:36am

A challenging, fun game. Simple mechanics behind it, but a real blast.

pyrogames says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:59am

Nice, fun, and simple. I like it

rojo says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:02am

Nice simple game. I chuckled at the shark animation. I think a bit more challenge would do some good, such as enforcing the task to get more than 1 pearl (my own game could also use a bit more challenge).

ethankennerly says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:05am

@rojo Dive for more pearls. Ben Ahroni got the highest score I've seen: 126 pearls!

oranebeast says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:18am

I didn't really enjoy this, It had no immedate reward from playing

May 2, 2014 @ 5:24am

I think it would been more fun if there was a higher minimum number of pearls for the later levels. Still a pretty good game though!

elefantopia says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:36am

Fun game! Thanks for laying out the controls very clearly to start and leaving it up on the screen for reference. Cute graphics, nice challenge in the higher levels.

pikkpoiss says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 6:31am

Got 89 pearls. Is it possible to get every pearl in each level? Nice work on level design and ramping up the difficulty. I liked having to plot my way through and try to time air pocket refills for maximum benefit.

clearlyspam23 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 7:31am

The game was pretty fun. However, the levels seems out of order to me. Some of the earlier levels seems harder than the later ones.

Warboys says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 6:36am

Nice simple control mechanism that leaves a lot of potential movement for the avatar. Not a big fan of the waiting necessary around the sharks, doing nothing in a game is a personal gripe of mine tho :P

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]