Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fish Simulator

by Citsua - 48 Hour Compo Entry

What lies beneath the surface, you ask ?
Well... lots of fish. You are one of them. Be the best of them all !

Kill all those little fishies and steal their body parts to become the ultimate fish ! You can customize your body with various elements and colors.

Show your fish, I want to see them :D !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#241Humor3.00
#260Innovation3.50
#286Theme3.58
#364Graphics3.46
#431Mood3.13
#812Overall2.92
#832Fun2.71
#899Audio2.00
#1692Coolness40%

Comments

Hempuli says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:06am

The controlling system seemed to have some problems; I liked it at first but it appears that the fish drifts out of the camera after a while; I ended up out of view and above the surface. The other aspects are very neat, though, and I like the serene atmosphere.

JALgames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:07am

Sorry, but seems pretty unplayable, because the fish glitches away very often.

kbm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:08am

Crazy game, camera glitched out a couple of times for me, but I really liked the idea and it was nice to look at! Good job!

mtrc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:10am

Haha. What a great idea. It's not a bad implementation either. I sold my tail though and I couldn't add one back on! A cautionary tale.

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:15pm

A great concept with interesting mechanics and gorgeus graphics. I love the fish editor (It reminds me the Spore game). If you solve the bugs and glitches, this is a great game!

randoman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Sometimes the camera glitches making the fish disappears above the surface and I can't go down anymore. I really enjoyed the atmosphere but this glitch is kind of annoying

Citsua says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Thanks everyone for the feedback !
I updated a new Web build without the camera bug. I'll update the other builds soon.

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:18pm

The movement/controls could use some work, but I liked the game and the idea!

JimmyBoh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Nice idea, unfortunately the implementation is not ideal. Keep at it though, this could be a great little game!

sudorossy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:40pm

It's pretty buggy, but seems nice. Very pretty!

jorgemoag says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:41pm

Cool idea, but the controls are a little hard.

Wakka says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:30am

funny idea, but what is the goal?

gre says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Nice graphics and fun concept.
PS: the fish in the menu looks like E.T. love it :D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]