Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

I like big BOMBS!

by Pete_H - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The game is about dropping bombs on stuff then jumping down into the smouldering craters to collect all the loot!

You use the mouse to select bombs and drop them wherever you like. Then when you select the call Paul button it will enter 2D platformer mode.

Loot is randomly generated as well, so should be diffeent each time! (apart from chests).

A - left
D - right
Space - jump
E - interact with people
(works with a 360 pad as well, but you will need your mouse for the bombs)

Had a great time entering LD48 this year! Lot's of fun :)

Something happened whilst exporting and in some cases it has vertical lines on the browser version... Not sure whats causing this but with under and hour to go not likely I'll find a fix :D

Hope you enjoy the game. There's probably quite a few spelling mistakes in there!

Please let me know what you think :)

Tools:
Construct 2 - design, code & animation
Photoshop CS4 & Wacom tablet - Art
SFX - Audacity & Bfxr

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#305Humor2.86
#399Theme3.44
#510Innovation3.12
#558Fun3.00
#709Overall3.03
#718Graphics2.91
#852Mood2.65
#867Audio2.09

Comments

Glint Games says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:17am

Cool Game, Great idea :D

Shivur says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:18am

Good concept!

GreatBigJerk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:19am

The jump height felt too low

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:19am

Cool concept, there is more strategy than I originally thought to collecting the loot. Great job!

Clinthoney says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:30am

Download speed is pretty slow and the web takes forever to load and the game freezes at some points. Other than that I love the graphics of the game.

Pete_H says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:36am

@Greatbigjerk, it does need tweaking!
@AmilingCat glad you got that feeling, thats what I was hoping for :)
@Clithoney re-uploading the files to google instead of my own site, hopefully will be faster! Will do the same for the web version when I can find a better place to host it.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:42am

it's undresponsive for me!

Pete_H says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:03am

I've hosted the desktop versions on google now, so that should be better.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:11am

Nice! Took me a while to figure out how it worked but it was awesome when I did :D

atomic_swerve says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:16am

Fun concept, I enjoyed it. Maybe get less grating sfx though.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:15am

Like the concept but I couldn't go back to dropping bombs after the spawning the adventurer. Have I missed something?

Pete_H says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:39am

Nope, that's intentional :) You have to figure out the route you want to take before you spawn Paul. However you can restart the level with the refresh button in the top left.

stoo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:36pm

I like the idea of planning your route with the bombs before you get to run. The player movement felt a bit odd and it could have done with being able to jump a bit higher!

Cambrian_Man says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:13am

The idea is pretty cool, I dug it (get it?). I wish I had more of an idea what I was doing, though. Also, I find the WASD+Space controls hard to use, but that's just me. I did, however, play Baby Got Back while playing it, just to add a soundtrack!

Lucio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Nice idea. Yes! I also like the maps designs

xandy says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:08am

cool concept. sharpening the platformer parts (more responsive jumping) would make this game a lot better!

May 3, 2014 @ 5:10am

Cool game! I included it in part 10 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/vjBlRj2wHy8

Thorig says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Nice game. Like all good gamer I did not read before pressing buttons. But once I did, I enjoyed the game.

ThingoStudios says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Paul jumped very, very low; it was really difficult to make paths for him because of this. Still a clever application of the theme.

Pete_H says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 10:55am

Thanks for all the feedback, really useful! I'm panning on making these changes and updating the game. If your interested in playing it post updates please follow me on Twitter, I'll share everything there. Thanks again and keep it coming! (jump definitely needs some fixing!!)

mortus says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Nice entry, I like the idea! Ability to just skip levels kinda ruins the fun, but I've tried to complete each level while collecting the most money I could and restarted a lot to ensure it, so it was lots of fun. I like multi-genred games, great work! I only wish platformer mechanics were more solid and that I could jump higher.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]