Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Badrock Machine

by MrLeePerry - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hey all! This is the very first game I've ever built by myself, and doing it in 48 hours was quite the crucible!!! But, it has been a blast!

The controls for the ship are steering with the left and right arrow keys.

There are three stations inside the ship though, and the A, S, and D keys correspond to them. The middle station is the driving station, so, if you go there with S, you get the exterior view again.

I didn't have adequate time to get feedback in, but it's amazingly damaging to run into the side of the screen, sooo... keep an eye on that! :)

Enjoy!

***** NOTE *****

WOOOOOOOTINI!!!!! I fixed the crash bug that was happening after a minute or so. Invoking the "typo rule" here. The only change was in the "animscript" script. I left the source ZIP as the broken version as proof, haha. If you were to do a find/delete on the word "instantiate" in all those poses, that's what the final game is. Minor tweak, makes the game not crash. Yay for noob coding! :)

Thing I've noticed now (web version only) is that if you click with the mouse or take focus from the window, it never goes back to the game. Odd. Not something I've noticed with other Unity web games, but... there ya go.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#24Humor4.00
#43Graphics4.32
#52Theme3.97
#58Innovation4.03
#103Overall3.80
#148Mood3.62
#189Fun3.52
#361Audio3.06

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:48am

So good!

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:25am

I like it, reminds me of Guns of Icarus, BUT DRILLING!

soy_yuma says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Nice game! it crashed my computer completely, though :-( Looks like a Unity player problem to me.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:52pm

There is a lot of stuff in here for 48 hours. Nice work!

MrLeePerry says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Thanks all, yeah the crash stabs at my soul... And I've only been coding for a month so I'm very poorly equipped to search it out easily. Will try to have a friend come by sometime and see if it's as simple as a flag set incorrectly somewhere and could qualify under the "typo repair rules" for a late change/update to a submitted game.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Fantastic art, and get job for 48 hours. Pity about the crash as I got it too and only about 40 points in. Once I "got" the idea that the left and right bars corresponded to A and D it clicked. Would perhaps suggest putting the keys above the bars, or something? Neat idea and a ton of work in here for a weekend. Really dug the art style and watching the little guy run around inside and whack on panels with a crow bar :) Do work to fix the bug and re-upload. That's fine.

MrLeePerry says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:50pm

HEY ALL! I fixed the crash bug about a minute in. Typo rule in effect! It should play indefinitely now, so... woot!

local minimum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:04pm

First I thought the red things were supposed to be collected. They looked so shiny and nice. Quite soon realized my mistake. But before that it took me a while to figure out how to steer the ship at all (some quick symbol of the arrow-keys when entering steering mode would have been nice).

Once I got the hang of it was really fun. At first a little slow, (wanted to speed up drilling), then really hard and fast and no chance crowbaring out the fires. Got 150ish as score at least.

Impressive amounts of assets made in the 48h!
Nice game.

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:15pm

One man, 48 hours for all this? Damn! "Good show, old chap"

MrLeePerry says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:24pm

It was, undoubtedly too ambitious, haha. Noob error #1, right? Half the game twice as polished would probably present WAY better. BUT, I had a reeeeeally good time creating it, learned a metric buttload about coding a project, and got my first gamejam experience.

Ekanaut says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Great job! I was playing it with my kids and they loved the frantic nature of it and going between stations.

garbagetrucks says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:04am

Should win on name alone. Great concept and fun balance between digging and firefighting with crowbar.

bchan says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:32am

Great production values and presentation all the way through. Even though the gameplay was very novel, I never felt confused. Very impressive!

TeamAlpha says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Thisgameisamazing!SadlyIsmashedmyspacebarintooblivionwhenrepairingtheship.Greatjob!10/10

garygreen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Wow! The first game by yourself. Great stuff. The graphics are fantastic and it's funny too. Nice work.

GarethIW says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Holy wow, so much graphical goodness for 48 hours! Great stuff :)

TheExGenesis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:53pm

coolbeans

cirolve says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:06am

Fun game! Nice, simple concept of juggling the repairs and the piloting. The graphics look nice, too. Well done!

May 2, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Cool game. The main character's animation is funny to watch, in a good way. :p

Dohan says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:35am

Impressive work, the art is stunning for a compo game!

HybridMind says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:56pm

Best score was 201. Took me a long while to understand what the heck I was supposed to do and what I was supposed to control. I didn't understand that there was both movement within the ship as well as arrow key movement outside of the ship. The next problem was that between the mud blob rocks and the red shiny rubies, I thought for sure I was supposed to be collecting the red rocks. They looked like money! How wrong I was. After getting the hang of it, it was way too easy for too long and then once the path fills with tons of the rubies, it quickly becomes impossible to avoid while you are attempting repairs. While I think the inside/outside control scheme is interesting and innovative, I feel its implementation needs a bit of work still here gameplay wise.

MrLeePerry says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 1:50am

Absolutely agree with your comments, zero offense taken :) Just didn't have enough time for a balancing pass really at all. Major scope lesson learned!

Zed says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:10pm

Amazing for 48 hours, and for your first game, and just in general, really. I love the animation of the little dude fixing things. Really good.

stvr says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Hey, you had the same idea as us! It's okay, this is a blast too. :)

Alex Rose says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Managed to get 204. Holy shit, just realised this is a COMPO entry and not jam. Fucking hell man, nice job!

Yeah, at first I didn't really get the point of doing the inside of the rocket, but then once things advanced and I was constantly crashing into stuff, it became a case of "why would I ever be on the exterior view?" rofl. I love how the dynamic of the game suddenly shifts from like "I've got this sorted, I'll just drive well and I won't need to worry about repairs" to "OKAY ALL HANDS ON DECK, REPAIR, REPAIR, REPAIR".

Really awesome entry man. Great going. Graphics are great too and theme ties in perfectly.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]