Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Paranoia

by WetDesertRock - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Paranoia is a Puzzle/Story game. You are beneath the surface of the narrators mind controlling his choices in the story.

You play by clicking and dragging between circles to create connections. Some circles have a limited number of connections it can take. Normal ones can have 3, emitters can have 2, and the goal can have 1. To delete a connection, it has to be unused - cannot have been used as a pathway. To reset the level, press R. To mute the music, press M.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#29Audio4.00
#35Mood4.05
#177Graphics3.83
#204Innovation3.60
#323Overall3.43
#490Theme3.34
#498Humor2.52
#749Fun2.80

Comments

kunzbe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:27am

Beautifully colourful!

Sim00n says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:34am

I absolutely love the graphics and the sound. The game is very responsive, feels cool to hear the sounds and see the visuals when a "blob" goes through one of the circles. I just think it's too easy. If there were some kind of puzzle aspect to it it would have been a perfect 5 in every category for me. Great job!

parDal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:00am

Well, I took a while to beat this one, but I managed to make it.

For starters, the game is really well polished, good graphics, nice music and couldn't find any bugs, and we're talking about LOVE programming here and not some kind of construct drag 'n' drop stuff, so yes, pretty amazing.

About the game itself, the gameplay is pretty simple, but effective, your major error was not developing it much, I didn't have any big difficulties until the last level, that really made me stop to think. With some effort can be worked in a pretty decent puzzle smartphone game (if you remove the story, oh, and talking about story.)

The idea was not bad, but your implementation in-game is pretty shallow and uninteresting, couldn't relate to any character and the ending was pretty disappointing.

Hope I wasn't too bold, my game is not all that good either, 48 hours of hard work isn't easy to anyone.

Congratulations for participating.

pr0tip: Next time, if possible, include the instructions in-game.

saiato says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:12am

Beautiful background and nice interface. I like the way you tied a story in. I really didn't understand what the difference between the red and blue was though. Were they affecting the outcome of the story at all?

Taugeshtu says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:21am

Good job on game's mood :) You tricked me :)

Taugeshtu says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:27am

Also, I found a bug: http://prntscr.com/3e5qnx

WetDesertRock says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:40am

parDal, thank you for your review. No worries about being bold, that is what makes a good review.

Alas, I am not a creative writer, so the story isn't the best. I tried though! Pushed my limits.

I was at a dead end with the gameplay, I had a hard time figuring out new things to do. In terms of difficulty, same. I couldn't figure out how to make a difficult level, the last was very stumbled upon.

About instructions, they are in game. They are under each block of text.

Taugeshtu, oh bugger. I know why that bug exists, but it might require some hacks to fix, and its really rare. Restart and play agin?

nhmllr says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:41am

I really liked the story that you had. I managed to get past all the levels up to "October" by sort of blindly connecting the dots but that level stumped me. The geometric color background is gorgeous! Overall, I really liked the game and the usage of connecting dots to symbolize connecting with other people is a nice touch.

Nition says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:48am

Nicely presented, and the story really helps to motivate you to keep playing. Like someone else said though, it's not really a challenge until the last level.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:09am

The game didn't move past October. But up to that it was compelling and interesting. Good job!

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:59am

Nice graphics, love it!

VictorDoval says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Inspiring work, thanks!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Really nice music, sets the mood lovely.

rxi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:12pm

As you know: this is the first game I have played this Ludum Dare, and I think its definitely set a high standard of what to expect.

The music was immediately apparent, it asserted itself and set the mood the moment the game started. Every part of the game seemed to work well together in a wonderful harmony. The story, gameplay and music were evidently made to be with one another.

I was a bit fuzzy on exactly what I was doing, how my actions effected the world, but with such an excellent mood set I was happy to sit and be confused for a while.

I hope you feel proud for making this, I have no doubt that you should.

drnick says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Very beautiful! The story is interestingly written, the sounds, specially the ones the nodes do as the little circles pass, have a beautiful melody, and the background is very nice to look at (even though it may be the source of the bug I told you about).

Therrato says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:52pm

The game gives a great mood, it would be amazing if you would have someone with a Morgan Freeman voice to narrate the story

josefnpat says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:28am

Very nice!

I wish the game mechanics were a little more clearly explained, even after I won, I still had issues understanding why I did. Great game!

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:00pm

couldn't really work out what the colours meant, or the particular mechanics of why i couldn't link everything together

however the game looks and sounds great :D

Cireon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:19pm

It took me a while to understand the mechanics (I admit, I might have skipped the text a bit >.>). I didn't know what the rules are. After I figured it out,t it was actually quite easy, except the last level (which took me a while).

The graphics and the music are great though, and the story was presented in a good way as well.

JangoBrick says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:33pm

I am very impressed. The graphics are beautiful, and the music fits perfectly. You are getting a high voting from me, that's for sure!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:36pm

I really didn't get the puzzle mecanic, i just connected the dots to the big one and it worked everytime. Is there a mecanic? Maybe i have been extremely lucky? I don't get the story if it isn't true why write it? Is it a trick? Like a reward to make us want to finish the game?

May 2, 2014 @ 2:09am

Sweet. I finally figured out at the end and i was so excited that i figured out what was going on i played through all the levels again. 80% of the time you only needed one side to boost the bar to advance to the next level. The number of connections per circle was a nice mechanic that can be very elaborated on. different colored connections etc could be a nice addition. The sounds of the dots moving through and hitting the bar went directly with the nice music to give it a decent flair. game was a bit short, but the potential is hidden inside the puzzles that could be created with the setup that you've based this on. :-) gj.

PriorBlue says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:46am

Very great atmosphere.

matt_j says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Very clean and polished!

trueyomic says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:41pm

The atmosphere (music + soft art) was the best aspect of the game. I didn't quite get what I was doing to make the different paths work, but I did make it to the end (blue end).

ActionRemix says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:03am

I had a feeling you were pulling a Cohen ;)

oranebeast says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:05am

I loved the audio and the way movement seemed to add more musical presence. The narration and stroyline was cryworthy, Whilst the gamepaly itselft was fun addictive and original.


A beautiful game.

mrjohnson22 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:08pm

This is a really good idea for a puzzle game. It seems easy enough at first, but it utilizes its mechanics for some fun puzzles. With that said, the game never really got too difficult, which is a shame since there could have been some really devilish puzzles here if the mechanics were explored a bit further.

Also, other than the story (which didn't have much to do with the game), there wasn't really any utilization of the theme. (Now that I know it's a fictional story, I can say these things without feeling too bad about it. ;)) And I'll add myself to the growing list of people who couldn't tell the difference between red & blue points.

Despite those issues, I enjoyed this game. I hope you consider revisiting it some time down the line for bigger & better levels, because there's certainly potential for that.

rincewind_cz says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:47pm

Pretty solid entry actually. I liked both -- the puzzle part (which was kinda easy) and the story part (which was wonderful). Nice graphics too, good job!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]