Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Lonely Boy

by ApoorvaJ - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Lonely Boy is my entry for the 29th Ludum Dare competition, based on the theme Beneath the Surface. The game is a 3D, black and white, third (invisible) person non-shooter, story-based game, with limericks as the only form of narrative. It started out as an experiment in 3D rendering.

Instructions:
Enter: Go Fullscreen (Recommended)
W, A, S, D: Move
Mouse: Look

For Chrome users: If clicking on the title at the start does not make it go away, try opening the game in Firefox.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#15Mood4.27
#17Audio4.13
#25Innovation4.23
#100Overall3.81
#101Graphics4.00
#873Fun2.65
#927Theme2.76
#1651Coolness42%

Comments

quantumpotato says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Clever

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 9:12pm

This concept is really amazing and it seems to me you are a poet. Thank you for this travel ++

smbe19 says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 11:45pm

Amazing game and really nice music!

tacs says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:41am

Really lovely.

ApoorvaJ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:48pm

Thanks for playing. I've played and rated all your games.

Lucio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Excelent Music. Cool concept. Well done!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Amazing! I love the artstyle, the limericks and the music!

FileCorrupted says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:57pm

This game was so orginal! Such a neat concept!

geekdrums says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Reminds me of unfinished swan or rain. great experience.

Khaldrin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Great entry. I really like the art style and the way you make the player discover the world. The choice of narrative fits the game very well and the music is beautiful.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:04pm

Wow. an intersting experience. and very atmospheric. i think if the text was audio it would work better as i was more keen to watch the beautiful imagery than read the text. beautiful work.

ApoorvaJ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:05pm

@Lucio: Thanks for playing. Your game was really good too. The most fun I've had this LD.

ApoorvaJ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:15pm

Thanks everyone.
@Philip_Sinclair: Really liked your entry. Rated and commented. :)

cageinabird says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:26pm

A different kind of experience to fun, but very satisfying nonetheless.

ills says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Wow!

Diptoman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Brilliant stuff! If only it lasted longer..

Atmospherium says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:00pm

Great work! I really like the visuals and how they kinda built the stark and empty tone of the game.

thinkster says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Only thing is I thought it was a bit slow to start, wish there was a bit more incentive straight from the beginning. Apart from that loved the art and music, really enjoyed the concept!

rylgh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:31am

gorgeous unique style, lovely music

zatyka says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:50am

I'm exactly not sure why, but I loved it. Great music and visuals.

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:59am

The visuals are super cool, and I really like the concept of the game! Sort of reminded me of a vextrex game :D

simplesmiler says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Beautiful!

Crefossus says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:08pm

Really like the audio but it's missing some sound effects. Extremely innovative but also slightly lacking in fun. I think the blindness also works against you as much as it works for the mood and theme of the game.

The art was very well done, especially the player footsteps and drawing the walls.

The writing was excellent and provided a good direction for the player.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]